• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Good to work for Japanese company?

yellowarse

had a few friends working in Jap firms:

Rule #1
if you are not Japanese, forget about promotion and senior mgt. U can work until cows come home...they will deploy a young chap from Japan to shit on your head. In fact, this is true for all MNC, except Singaporean firm who will hire FT to shit on your head instead of promoting you.

Rule#2
if you are a lady, worse...you have no status in the company, relegated to coffee lady...maybe its not shown outwardly but definitely telling during appraisal.

Rule #3
they have strict rules & protocol...eg: all will sit at a long table, no cubicle no screens...so if you wanna surf sammyboy during office hours, think twice.

Rule #4
If you lucky in position to entertain clients, ho say liao..my fren in private banking, sibeh ho...every friday go cheong japanese KTV with boss...n you noe...Japanese KTV are the cream of cream...best part, company pick up tab....

Rule #5
They frown upon long holiday leave. No more than 7 days at a time. I've known of Japanese workers who found a new guy at the desk after coming back from a long holiday.

nutbush

rings a bell, in order to work for GIC, you have to have good grades and then you have to compete vigorously in the working environment with your peers, politicking is a must!

Hans168

My nephew is thinking of applying for a job in Toshiba. Anyone know people inside? Is working for Japanese company good? Heard that japanese are workaholic but do they expect the same in Singapore? I found a review on them and it is very positive but recently got Japanese company retrenching so he is rather scared.

340Toshiba_TEC.png

You are expcted to work n die for the company but will be bypassed in any promotion if there is a Jap in the Q
You will never be treated as a Jap wud as if in JappoLand

Leave such companies to Ah Neh .... only they can fuck up the biz

rushifa666

You are expcted to work n die for the company but will be bypassed in any promotion if there is a Jap in the Q
You will never be treated as a Jap wud as if in JappoLand

Leave such companies to Ah Neh .... only they can fuck up the biz
Sinking are used to being third class. So I don't see any problem

My nephew is thinking of applying for a job in Toshiba. Anyone know people inside? Is working for Japanese company good? Heard that japanese are workaholic but do they expect the same in Singapore? I found a review on them and it is very positive but recently got Japanese company retrenching so he is rather scared.

340Toshiba_TEC.png

Got good and bad working for jap co.

GOOD
Come work on dot, punch card even for exec post, on dot can punch card take co transport home.
Wear uniform dont need waste money on clothings.
Morning do 5 BX using co time.
Time for tea break, bell rings like school recess.
Pay ot when work beyond regular hours. When i worked in a jap co, i can even purposely slow down my work, and fix ot for it.

BAD
Hierachichy is always headed by a jap boss.
If you are a not duscipline person, good luck !

A lot of you here probably have never worked in a Jap company before, and have got your ludicrous ideas from watching Jap tv dramas etc.

Morning 5BX, coffee lady, chiong karaoke with Jap bosses, cannot take long holidays... LOL! :rolleyes:

Lanjiao understand? You twits probably also think all Jap expat ladies working here all look like AV porn stars, and the Korean expat ladies working here all look like K-pop singers.

:kma:

Ultimately, working for someone else is humiliating regardless of the nationality of the company that is paying you.

Employment is like whoring. You put up with getting fucked in order to get paid.

Working for yourself is the way to go. It's better for the self esteem. It's a lot more satisfying and best of all, the sky's the limit when it comes to financial rewards.

Read my retirement thread for more details on how to achieve financial independence by working for yourself.

sochi2014

Sometimes people prefer to be employees and can be easily contented because you dun have to worry about daily business issues like cash flow problems.

jap companies are solid, much better than sinkie company, where they underpay you in wages or leave and whack you when you are on internships.

worse of the lots are Korean companies. Stay away from Sumseng.

angmo European companies are da best. Because Jesus is da best.

Ash007

Disclaimer, I work for a Japanese company in Australia. All that has been said doesn't apply more or less here.

If it's Toshiba consumer electronics section, I don' think they are doing well these day.
Not many people buy their products these days.

Its ToshibaTEC. Hardly, consumer electronics. Most of Toshiba consumer electronics are OEM/re-badged apart from the TVs and Laptops.

had a few friends working in Jap firms:

Rule #1
if you are not Japanese, forget about promotion and senior mgt. U can work until cows come home...they will deploy a young chap from Japan to shit on your head. In fact, this is true for all MNC, except Singaporean firm who will hire FT to shit on your head instead of promoting you.

Rule#2
if you are a lady, worse...you have no status in the company, relegated to coffee lady...maybe its not shown outwardly but definitely telling during appraisal.

Rule #3
they have strict rules & protocol...eg: all will sit at a long table, no cubicle no screens...so if you wanna surf sammyboy during office hours, think twice.

Rule #4
If you lucky in position to entertain clients, ho say liao..my fren in private banking, sibeh ho...every friday go cheong japanese KTV with boss...n you noe...Japanese KTV are the cream of cream...best part, company pick up tab....

None of this applies here.
For Rule #1: Our GM and MD are Ang moh, most upper management are Ang mohs. We have a Japanese manager in the department but he has been here for more then 10 years in Japan he has been for like 20 years. He actually requested to be posted here.

Rule #2: There are several managers that are woman/team leads. In fact for a department that deals with software there is a high ratio of woman to man.

Rule #3: I sit in a cubicle, I'm surfing sammyboy now. IT has blocked several sites as directive from Japan but some are removed on request from my GM like youtube. In general, as long as you get work done you are free to do anything you want.

Rule #4: I was actually hoping for this to happen when I joined. Till today, nothing of this sort every happened. Perhaps I'm not in the "Sales" team.

The thing to remember is that Japanese companies are structured very silo like. There can be a lot of autonomy in the right department,subs. Think of them as not just a big company but a big company with multiple smaller companies within. Pick the right one and you won't see any of these.

in a typical, traditional, rigid jap conglomerate or zaibatsu, yes. your seating position at the collection of desks in an office will determine your pecking order in the team's hierarchy. for example in a team of 8, team leader or manager sits at one end with his desk facing everyone on the team and back to the window, if any. 3 will sit facing the other 3 alongside manager's desk. and finally each team gets graced by a young office lady sitting on the opposite end of the 8-desk arrangement, facing the boss. the office lady is in the best position to surf sammyboy. :p

Nope, siting in a cubicle, my boss cubicle is actually directly behind me with his back behind me as well.

Rule #5
They frown upon long holiday leave. No more than 7 days at a time. I've known of Japanese workers who found a new guy at the desk after coming back from a long holiday.

Nope, going on a LONG holiday for 5 weeks next month. Come back and I'll be going for 1 week training. So 6 weeks OOO.

A lot of you here probably have never worked in a Jap company before, and have got your ludicrous ideas from watching Jap tv dramas etc.

Morning 5BX, coffee lady, chiong karaoke with Jap bosses, cannot take long holidays... LOL! :rolleyes:

Lanjiao understand? You twits probably also think all Jap expat ladies working here all look like AV porn stars, and the Korean expat ladies working here all look like K-pop singers.

:kma:

Yes.. I think that is the general impression people get about Japanese company. It could also be due to the environment in Singapore as well. What I will say is this, they do "retain" permanent staff as much as possible. Unless they have no choice, redundancy can still happen. This again ties down to the silo concept for Japanese companies. It also relies heavily on what your sub, division, dept, performance is like. In fact during the 2008 financial crisis, all contractors are fired pay for engineers were frozen, and managers gets a temporary pay cut of 10%. Pay might not be the highest in the marketl, however, its also not the lowest out there. You won't get a huge increment year on year but in general you get a stable, increment tied to inflation. I have many colleague that left for better paying jobs but ended up coming back. They might be able to get 30-50% more outside but their workload increases 3 times. I would describe that in general Japanese companies are very conservative when it comes to hiring. As they have the policy that retaining people is important, but you don't want to over hire and start retrenching them later. For every increase in head count they would make sure that that is what they need for the department in the foreseeable future.

What crap. You are always working for someone. You are working for your customers if you run your own company.

I run businesses and I certainly don't work for any customer. I work to provide a good service or product in order to attain a broad customer base. If one of the customers tries to boss me around, I'll tell him politely to take his business elsewhere.