• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

give us the rights to watch dialect tv serials

why is gov so dominating that even what we love to watch in tv also get restricted? the era when we enjoyed so much those canto tv serials like MAN IN THE NET, SHANGHAI BUND n etc was really priceless.

now there are so many hokkien serials, why is the gov still do not allow such shows to be aired in their original dialect flavour? koreans/japanese and other languages shows are allowedt be aired in their original language mode. for DUAL SOUND tv, we can always switch to the dubbed version or the original language one.

it should be time that gov allows sgporeans the freedom to enjoy their tv shows and quit using SPEAK MANDARIN as a reason for controlling over it.

the children these days have lost their roots about speaking in their own original dialects of hokkien, teochew, cantonese, hakka n etc. they are speaking better mandarin now that might confuse tourists that sgp children are actually all PRC kids. what a joke we have become!!

Ash007

the children these days have lost their roots about speaking in their own original dialects of hokkien, teochew, cantonese, hakka n etc. they are speaking better mandarin now that might confuse tourists that sgp children are actually all PRC kids. what a joke we have become!!

Are you sure sgp children can speak proper Mandarin? SGP kids are "rootless" they can neither speak English or Mandarin well. Singlish is probably the only language they know. :wink:

The time for "re-introducing" dialect shows are gone. The damage have been done only "oldies" would appreciate it.

mercbenz

Are you sure sgp children can speak proper Mandarin? SGP kids are "rootless" they can neither speak English or Mandarin well. Singlish is probably the only language they know. :wink:

The time for "re-introducing" dialect shows are gone. The damage have been done only "oldies" would appreciate it.

Agree, I laugh at the weak efforts from MOE trying to teach the nations schoolers english and mother tongues. We're really broken now, only hope is to live abroad. No one speaks the Queen's english now, just a mish mesh of american cum ozzies accent for those self deluded fools. As for mandarin, I really cannot listen to them, that's why I don't watch local channel 8 serials, most unbearable.

Ash007

Agree, I laugh at the weak efforts from MOE trying to teach the nations schoolers english and mother tongues. We're really broken now, only hope is to live abroad. No one speaks the Queen's english now, just a mish mesh of american cum ozzies accent for those self deluded fools. As for mandarin, I really cannot listen to them, that's why I don't watch local channel 8 serials, most unbearable.

Not just the local schoolers as you have pointed out. The MIWs have very poor command of the languages. "Mee Siam mai hum", "Cheaper, better, faster"?

Channel 8 mandarin is not "proper" mandarin! There is nothing worst then listening to the sinkiel mandarin for me. I prefer the much melodious PRC 北方口音, here.

mercbenz

Not just the local schoolers as you have pointed out. The MIWs have very poor command of the languages. "Mee Siam mai hum", "Cheaper, better, faster"?

Channel 8 mandarin is not "proper" mandarin! There is nothing worst then listening to the sinkiel mandarin for me. I prefer the much melodious PRC 北方口音, here.

So you like mei mei from up north?:wink: True true, the jiang nan girls sounds nice in some of their own dialect, but horrible when pudonghua is spoken.

Anyway, back on track, only the older generation still use dialects (not talking about hokkien, most everyone in SG knows or know abit of hokkien). Again, PAP has successfully taken away all manners of identity in SG's citizen to try to achieve a common denominator, but did it work? We have our ugly Singlish and half fuck mandarin to show for their effort. It's like the Borg, don't resist assimilation, resistance is futile! Sucks to be SG, souless compared to other small island country left to mature and grow their own character.

The government should stop regulating tv contents other then sexual/violence. Give SG people some breathing room!

Come ON! Import Penthouse and Playboy!

If go back to 70s days, 变色龙 pronounced as Bhin Sek Long (not Bian Se Long) 上海滩 pronounced as Shuong Huoi Tan (not Shang Hai Tan) and 网中人 pronounced as Mong Zhong Yan (not Wang Zhong Ren), all fail Hanyu Pinyu in Chinese exams, how?

Ash007

So you like mei mei from up north?:wink: True true, the jiang nan girls sounds nice in some of their own dialect, but horrible when pudonghua is spoken.

The government should stop regulating tv contents other then sexual/violence. Give SG people some breathing room!

Come ON! Import Penthouse and Playboy!

Yes, having playboy or penthouse would be nice in Singapore. I think the internet has more or less by pass the need for XXX materials nowadays though. Still there are some really nice movies that would have been banned, french movies for one, on Tv.

Yes, PRC mei meis are nice. All the stories you hear about them being home wreckers, steal your money etc are not always true. SPGs do the same to sinkie men as well, might as well widen the pool to include more girls. I have a Szechuan mei mei at home cooking for me everyday now. Wahhaahah all I have to do is do some marketing and she cooks the food. Nice trade-off. :wink:

in hk, taiwan, thailand and most asean countries, all the XXX magazines are aleady readily available at roadside stall.

even our nearest neighbour m'sia, we can find such XXX magazines.

in sgp, the best and closest and the lamest we get is FHM suanku mag that even got the cheek to advertise a babbling blurcock being slapped left n right which all sgporeans should be doing to the gov - SLAPPING THEM LEFT & RIGHT!

If go back to 70s days, 变色龙 pronounced as Bhin Sek Long (not Bian Se Long) 上海滩 pronounced as Shuong Huoi Tan (not Shang Hai Tan) and 网中人 pronounced as Mong Zhong Yan (not Wang Zhong Ren), all fail Hanyu Pinyu in Chinese exams, how?

don't u luv evergreen canto slang from the late cheong yin in THE CHAMELEON:

QI SIN!! (translated in hokkien: siao ah!! or crazy! note that blasting it out in canto has more oomph than any other dialects or language.)

or chow yun fatt in SHANGHAI BUND:

KANG LEI LO MO CHOW CHEY PAI ( translated: follow your mother copy parking summon which is a XXX expletive blurted in a classical refined way:biggrin: )

when the GE cums and we hear paps candidates speak in dialects, pls remember to BOMB them properly and remind them to speak in proper MANDARIN which many also cannot do it decently even though they are CHINESE.

so what's the logic of forcing every sgporeans to speak MANDARIN when they do not set good examples themselves? rather than making a fools about themselves, the best would be allowing everyone to watch tv serials in their original dialect flavour. now what's wrong and so diffcult about that? it would save cost to engage dubbers to mouth over they narration and the entire essence of the entertaining show is quite lost.

Classic songs like that can only be sung and appreciated in Cantonese.
</PRE>

人生與命運,原是一天百變,成敗有如一個轉面,莫記當年;就算甘願平淡過一生,或者遲早心中有悔;有日我欲語無言,那現實何嘗改變。難拋棄夢幻,無奈講聲再見,明白到埋首怕見現實,未免可憐;讓我今後面對名共利,或者遲早心灰意冷;有日我若再回頭,笑望著人寰轉變。
</PRE>

The Chameleon

人生與命運,原是一天百變 Life and fate, it's a hundred changes a day
成敗有如一個轉面,莫記當年 Success and failure is like turn of face, forget about yesterday
就算甘願平淡過一生,或者遲早心中有悔 Even if willing to lead a humble life, or sooner or later heart's filled with regret
有日我欲語無言,那現實何嘗改變 Someday I wish may to speak but lost for word, reality still wouldn't change

難拋棄夢幻,無奈講聲再見 Hard to abandon dreams, reluctantly say goodbye
明白到埋首怕見現實,未免可憐 Understand till head in hands fearing to face reality, isn't it a pity
讓我今後面對名共利,或者遲早心灰意冷 Let me henceforth face fame and fortune, or sooner or later my heart grows cold
有日我若再回頭,笑望著人寰轉變。 Someday if I look back, it'd be with a smile at the people who changed

The Chameleon

人生與命運,原是一天百變 Life and fate, it's a hundred changes a day
成敗有如一個轉面,莫記當年 Success and failure is like turn of face, forget about yesterday
就算甘願平淡過一生,或者遲早心中有悔 Even if willing to lead a humble life, or sooner or later heart's filled with regret
有日我欲語無言,那現實何嘗改變 Someday I wish may to speak but lost for word, reality still wouldn't change

難拋棄夢幻,無奈講聲再見 Hard to abandon dreams, reluctantly say goodbye
明白到埋首怕見現實,未免可憐 Understand till head in hands fearing to face reality, isn't it a pity
讓我今後面對名共利,或者遲早心灰意冷 Let me henceforth face fame and fortune, or sooner or later my heart grows cold
有日我若再回頭,笑望著人寰轉變。 Someday if I look back, it'd be with a smile at the people who changed

for that i extent ur life expiry date indefinitely.

do u know the song:

BABY'S COMING BACK FOR ME:wink:

Sideswipe

It's more enjoyable to watch a drama in it's original language. Dubbing is unnatural, Mediacorp stopped dubbing in their drama productions since the late 90s.

Even if there are dual languages in our chinese dramas, I will still watch the cantonese dramas with dubbed mandarin because I don't understand canto but will watch the Taiwanese drama in hokkien.

In my times, we grew up speaking 3 languages and 3 dialects naturally and effortlessly.

Watchman

They don't want you to have enclaves and mastery of languages and also mingle with the FTs that they are going to import in by the hundreds of thousands .

downgrader

discriminate against ourselves and our own culture

what a joke

the whole singapore is a joke

once the casino cancer spreads the country will die a painful death

paps leegime should have awaken from their fucking ideas that they cannot keep on controlling us and forcing us with no alternatives.

for those dialect shows, they can always DUAL SOUND it, ie, u can either watch it in dubbed fake mandarin or in its originality canto or hokkien. if they can do that to the films such as korean, japanese, spanish and etc, i do not see why they have to be so tryannic about letting the nation enjoy the fullest of the very happening dialect drama serials.