• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GCT Says TPL Partly To Blame. Also, Praises Nicole. Now 37,000 Petition To Remove Her

ahleebabasingaporethief

<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">50465.1 </td></tr><tr><td height="8">
</td></tr> <tr><td class="msgtxt" id="msgtxt_1">http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocaln <table width="789" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td valign="top" width="5"> </td> <td colspan="2" valign="top" width="784"> GE: Tin Pei Ling "a factor" for weak results, says SM Goh
By Timothy Ouyang | Posted: 08 May 2011 2015 hrs
<table width="260" align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td width="20" align="right"> </td> <td width="240" align="right">
phpwetPAa.jpg
</td></tr> <tr> <td valign="top" height="60"> </td> <td class="update" valign="top" height="80"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td width="138" bgcolor="#f6f6f6">Photos </td> <td width="47" bgcolor="#f6f6f6">1 of 1</td> <td width="18" bgcolor="#f6f6f6">
</td> <td width="19" bgcolor="#f6f6f6">
</td> <td width="18" bgcolor="#f6f6f6">
</td></tr></tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

PAP's Tin Pei Ling (R) shakes the hand of a rally goer (photo: Ooi Boon Keong, TODAY)</td></tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td class="update"> </td></tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td> <table style="background-color: rgb(204, 204, 204);" width="240" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td valign="top" width="100%"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1"> <tbody> <tr style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);"> <td> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td valign="top" bgcolor="#cccccc">
shim.gif
</td></tr> <tr> <td valign="top">Special Report </td></tr> <tr> <td valign="top" bgcolor="#cccccc">
shim.gif
</td></tr> <tr> <td valign="top" align="left"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td> <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td class="subheader" valign="top" width="4%">•</td> <td class="bodytext" width="96%">Vote 2011 </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table> <table width="510" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody> <tr> <td colspan="4"> <hr width="510" align="left" color="#dddddd" size="1"> </td></tr> <tr> <td colspan="4" valign="center" width="510" height="30">
</td></tr> <tr> <td colspan="4"> <hr width="510" align="left" color="#dddddd" size="1"> </td></tr></tbody></table> SINGAPORE: Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said the negative publicity around Ms Tin Pei Ling was one factor to the People's Action Party's (PAP) weaker performance at Marine Parade Group Representation Constituency (GRC).

Mr Goh added the party needs to change from both a top-down and bottom-up approach.

He said: "I was expecting, to be frank, slightly better results but we were prepared for this kind of results because it's a new situation.

"You know that there is a sea change in the political landscape. It's a new landscape. We can feel the tide. People want to have alternative voices in Parliament. So, that tide was very strong".

Mr Goh was speaking to reporters after his team's victory parade around Marine Parade GRC on Sunday morning.

Marine Parade GRC had been uncontested since 1992. In that year, the PAP won 72.9 per cent of votes - compared to 56.7 per cent in this General Election.

Mr Goh said national issues, such as cost of living and housing, weighed on voters' sentiment.

The negative publicity around Ms Tin added to the result.

Tin Pei Ling, of course, was a factor as well," Mr Goh said.

"Rightly or wrongly, she has been given that negative image from the very start -- but maybe because of her youth as well.

"I mean, she was a factor. Nicole Seah was also a factor. (Ms Seah) communicated very well. She spoke quite persuasively to the younger people as well as some older people.

"So, I could sense that quite a few people supported her. So both were factors".

Already, some 37,000 people have signed an online petition on Facebook to remove Ms Tin as an MP.

Mr Goh said it is not Ms Tin's fault in wanting to be an MP.

"They thought it's all Tin Pei Ling's fault. It's not," Mr Goh said.
"The PAP wanted to have a representative slate. She came in on that basis by the PAP.

"We knew that she was young but we know that she will grow. I think that's the key.

"We wanted her. If there's anything, we knew that she would be young and inexperienced but we are quite happy.

"And the main thing is she has got through. And that's the reason why people are unhappy - that such a young and inexperienced person has got through.

"In politics, it's transcient. We have five years. If after five years, Tin Pei Ling remains what she is, then of course, she would still be a factor at the next election.

"But at this stage, looking at her action, in three years time, she would be a different Tin Pei Ling".
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

steffychun

Re: GCT Says TPL Partly To Blame. Also, Praises Nicole. Now 37,000 Petition To Remove

Nicole Seah should criticise this.

rise96

Re: GCT Says TPL Partly To Blame. Also, Praises Nicole. Now 37,000 Petition To Remove

I thought singapore is a meritocracy.

Why is GCT bringing in TPL to parliament when he admits she is "inexperienced".

Hello, parliament is a place for serious debate, NOT a place for PAP to train TPL

Ash007

Nicole Seah is younger then that TinTin, if youth was a factor that would not have been the case here for her. The hard truth is that they selected a dud for an MP and she got in because of the GRC system. "Serve" 5 years and "retire" and she would be able to afford all the kate spades she wants.

Sperminator

the 37,000 petition is NOT A MANDATE for TPL to be MP...

from what GCT says, he wanted to keep TPL.

As mentioned earlier, TPL is PAP's small experiment to put in Young MPs, as by 2016, LHL's son will be old enough to enter politics, and they have already found out what are the people's sentiments on young inexperienced politicians to join PAP.

By 2016, PAP will be positioned to send more young Politicians into their Party, and grooming them to be successor of LHL's throne...

so, it's the Marine Parade Suckers that mandated TPL... I am thankful to the electorates of Marine Parade GRC who voted for Opposition, and I am totally disgusted by some electorates who wanted change, and say they wanted to vote for Opposition, but later in the day voted for PAP instead, my middle finger, and FUCK YOU to those who voted for PAP.... no thanks to PAP dogs.

Now more and more FTs will come, so, for those who mandated PAP, when the FTs come in and screw you from behind... go and ask for your PAP master's help. I am sure they will be kind and accomodating to your views and concern...

rise96

TPL should just resign. There is no way Singapore can accept her as MP

"I mean, she was a factor. Nicole Seah was also a factor. (Ms Seah) communicated very well. She spoke quite persuasively to the younger people as well as some older people.

=> but who is in and who is out of parliament? where is justice?

Conqueror

Thank goodness. We have communist spokeperson to become an MP here. For the Chinese here ?

Sperminator

Bro rise96,

remember, this is PAP government style... they can do everything they want to do... GCT already say something to appease the public, to say TPL is to be blamed, blah blah blah... but in his heart, he is protecting TPL into Parliament... see the reasoning? get the drift?

although you say there is no way Singapore can accept her as MP, but with the Gerrymandering of the GRC's, any MPs can be inserted... no matter... maybe in future, GCT will put in his son into politics?

From my point of view... our Singapore's opposition is still too weak to do anything for Singapore... at least it is a start... hopefully, just hopefully... we can have 30 seats or more in Parliament by 2016, and then the Check and Balance Parliament is installed... then everything will be okay...

depeche

TPL don't turn away for the MP allowance lah...

"And the main thing is she has got through. And that's the reason why people are unhappy - that such a young and inexperienced person has got through.

=> trying to twist again. People want her out cos of her disconnect with ordinary people (she insisted health and education costs were low, remember) and how she reached her current position through nepotism!

Sperminator

TPL don't turn away for the MP allowance lah...

no body will resign because there is a 37,000 petition... remember Singaporeans... this is PAP government.

DollarsNoSense

any update on TPL's posting on facebook during coolingoffday?

Nicole Seah is younger then that TinTin, if youth was a factor that would not have been the case here for her. The hard truth is that they selected a dud for an MP and she got in because of the GRC system. "Serve" 5 years and "retire" and she would be able to afford all the kate spades she wants.

Whenever Wooden Goh speaks, either he is illogical, puts his foot in his mouth or insults you.

Microsoft

De list stand at almost 43k strong. Did somebody jus say will listern to de ppl? :confused:

KNN chui gong lampar song again...:wink::biggrin::oIo:

babachai

Next you will see that TPL in parliament giving wonderful and insightful debates. Don't forget, some questions pre-prepared and her ADMINSTRTOR might prepare for her.

Sperminator

Ghost Writers... there will be a team of people reporting under MPs... one town council under her charge isn't it?

60% of Marine Parade sinkie voters accepted her.
Want to blame then blame those peasants. They will have her as MP for 5 years but the rest of us are helping to pay her salary.

Conqueror

Netizen lodged complaint about Tin Pei Ling’s FB posting to Election Dept

tin-pei-ling-interview.jpg

A netizen by the name of Tan Yu Xiang has lodged an official complaint to the Election Department about a Facebook posting made by PAP candidate for Marine Parade GRC Tin Pei Ling.

Ms Tin allegedly posted a comment on ‘Cooling Day’ about her opponent Ms Nicole Seah on her Facebook, taking a potshot at her for crying during her speech made at a rally last night:

‎”OooOooOoooh so that’s REALLY what happened? Wow, I think tears in parliament is worse than ANYTHING ELSE!”

Ms Tin deleted her callous comment a few minutes later, but a snapshot of it was taken by netizens:

1. Stuart Phoon’s Facebook

2. 3in1kopitiam

Ms Tin’s comments on Nicole Seah may affect how voters view her which may not be allowed under the new election laws on ‘Cooling off’ day.

Under the Parliamentary Election Act, “publication and display of election advertising (including on the Internet and by SMSes/MMSes)… not already lawfully displayed or published before the start of Cooling-off Day.”

In his email, Mr Tan wrote:

“As a Singapore Citizen, I hereby request an investigation on this matter and also request an official reply with regards to this matter. Think accountability. This is just a notification of possible breaching of election rules and a duty of a citizen to pinpoint what’s right and what’s wrong.”

He has received an official reply from the Election Department which said it would ‘look into the matter.’

There are already some complaints of ‘double standards’ on the part of the Election Department in allowing PAP candidate for Holland-Bukit Timah Sim Ann’s candidacy to stand when she is still technically a civil servant and its decision to dismiss the nomination of 5 independent candidates for Tanjong Pagar GRC for missing the deadline by 35 seconds.

Unlike other First World countries, Singapore does not have an independent Election Department which, for some strange reasons, fall under the purview of the Prime Minister’s Office.

For enquiries, please call 1800 818 0088
For callers outside Singapore, please call +65 6818 0088
Fax: +65 6332 3428 | Email: [email protected]

ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT