• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gardens by the Bay celebrates first anniversary of wastefulness

Leepotism

Gardens by the Bay turned one on Saturday. More than 10,000 people turned up for a garden party on Saturday evening, which was part of its first anniversary celebrations.

singapore-skyline-gardens.jpg
Singapore's skyline at dusk with Gardens By the Bay in the foreground (Photo: Hester Tan, channelnewsasia.com)

SINGAPORE: Gardens by the Bay turned one on Saturday.

More than 10,000 people turned up for a garden party on Saturday evening, which was part of its first anniversary celebrations.

They gathered at the grass lawn of The Meadow for a mass picnic, and enjoyed musical performances by local artistes, which included Kit Chan, Taufik Batisah and Li Feihui.

The event was graced by Minister for Trade and Industry Lim Hng Kiang, who is also the Member of Parliament for West Coast GRC.

It was hosted by Minister for National Development Khaw Boon Wan.

Among the visitors was 17-year-old Harlynna Bte Rahmat, who became the Gardens' five-millionth visitor on Monday.

She said: "The experience has been a great one. Everyone here is very nice to us. They are friendly. The place is very beautiful, very nice."

Dr Kiat W Tan, chief executive officer of Gardens by the Bay, said: "It's hard to imagine that we opened our doors only a year ago. And we are very near in completing our basic infrastructure. We still have the children's garden to complete, which we hope to do by the end of this year. And we have a brand new cactus garden.”

Gardens by the Bay turned one on Saturday. More than 10,000 people turned up for a garden party on Saturday evening, which was part of its first anniversary celebrations.

singapore-skyline-gardens.jpg
Singapore's skyline at dusk with Gardens By the Bay in the foreground (Photo: Hester Tan, channelnewsasia.com)

SINGAPORE: Gardens by the Bay turned one on Saturday.

More than 10,000 people turned up for a garden party on Saturday evening, which was part of its first anniversary celebrations.

They gathered at the grass lawn of The Meadow for a mass picnic, and enjoyed musical performances by local artistes, which included Kit Chan, Taufik Batisah and Li Feihui.

The event was graced by Minister for Trade and Industry Lim Hng Kiang, who is also the Member of Parliament for West Coast GRC.

It was hosted by Minister for National Development Khaw Boon Wan.

Among the visitors was 17-year-old Harlynna Bte Rahmat, who became the Gardens' five-millionth visitor on Monday.

She said: "The experience has been a great one. Everyone here is very nice to us. They are friendly. The place is very beautiful, very nice."

Dr Kiat W Tan, chief executive officer of Gardens by the Bay, said: "It's hard to imagine that we opened our doors only a year ago. And we are very near in completing our basic infrastructure. We still have the children's garden to complete, which we hope to do by the end of this year. And we have a brand new cactus garden.”

Instead of building affordable housing, the government went ahead and built this gigantic and wastefully overpriced garden sitting on prime land to earn more tourism dollars. Then they tell you land is scarce and they need to charge more for HDBs because they reclaiming land is expensive and they need to put $$ in our reserves. :kma:

What waste of money?...in the future, "dear leader" mausoleum maybe built there...

Waiting for the rght time so that they can sell away that piece of land to one of their cronys to mke more money frm the dumbassed sinkies......

Instead of building affordable housing, the government went ahead and built this gigantic and wastefully overpriced garden sitting on prime land to earn more tourism dollars.

How do you define "afffordable housing"? Zero cost?

What happens to personal responsibility? If you don't have money, either save some, settle for a smaller unit or stay with your parents.

Whilst you people were celebrating the first anniversary of another STB white elephant with Kit,Taufik and Feihui, I was at Glastonbury watching the Rolling Stones. :D

F**king amazing band!

What happens to personal responsibility? If you don't have money, either save some, settle for a smaller unit or stay with your parents.

Lets be realistic here, nothing is zero cost. Do our current HDB prices look zero cost to you. Use you brain can? Affordable housing is charging the the land the HDBs are built on at discounted rates, instead of market prices, which is the current practice. Yet they are all for building gardens in prime real estate, and I can assure you, NParks is not paying market price for the land, as that bloody plot of land can be worth up to tens of billions. So what kind of government, refuses to give their citizens discounts for public housing(*a need i must add), and go build bloody gardens by the bay to look good and earn tourism dollars (*definitely not a need), because our shithole of an island have no natural attractions, yet uniquely singapore wants to tout it as paradise on earth.

It is your personal responsibility as a voter to question the government on how they spend their money and why are they overcharging Singaporeans on basic necessities such as housing. The property market is so bullish, yet I don't see Singaporean's wages going up. Where is this demand coming from? Foreign investors? Singaporeans resigned to paying these ripoff prices as they see no end in sight? Let's take a look at our our resale HDB prices, they are set by the market. Correct, but if BTO prices are up, which way do you think resale HDB prices go, obviously up la. Now how do the government set BTO prices, they take resale prices (to supposedly get a fair value of land), give you a slight discount, and thats your BTO price. So you see, the only way the prices can go is up, simple right. But here is the thing nobody wants to talk about, what goes up must come down, just as what goes down must come up. All economies face a cyclic effect of market booming and contraction, and because many Singaporeans have short-term memories, they discount it off as it will never happen. Sky high property prices are unsustainable in the long run. So one fine day, interest rate becomes too high, economy not doing well, and next thing you know, they showrooms are empty, then you know siao liao, everyone who bought over the past five years as it is booming will realise they nobody want to buy their house, then how ah? Market confidence is in the pits, then the prices start dropping. In a while, the bank start calling ask you to top up on your loan amount cost the price is less than your loan. Oh wait, you lost your job too. Oh well, you can go swim at bedok reservoir later.

Oh some of you may be saying this is bullshit, I just put it simply la, if Singapore economy can go on to the year 2063 without a recession, I tok. Many things could have been done, lower BTO prices which will have an effect on the housing market. Rein in the developers, scrap ECs. One reason why the government refuse to let the market go down, is the stamp duty cooling measure is earning big bucks for them, to the tune of billions.

What waste of money?...in the future, "dear leader" mausoleum maybe built there...

1. aiyoh!
2. just dump those lousy ashes into the kallang river mah.
3. please don't dirty the seaview hoh:D

For a 82 sq. m new 4 room HDB flat at Clementi, it's about $500,000. That how affordable it can be.

Whilst you people were celebrating the first anniversary of another STB white elephant with Kit,Taufik and Feihui, I was at Glastonbury watching the Rolling Stones. :D

F**king amazing band!

So did u get any satisfaction? :p

Cina babi government sure win but also sure die. :kma:

蘭芳共和國 - 1777–1884
新蘭芳共和國 - 1963-?

So what kind of government, refuses to give their citizens discounts for public housing(*a need i must add), and go build bloody gardens by the bay to look good and earn tourism dollars (*definitely not a need), because our shithole of an island have no natural attractions, yet uniquely singapore wants to tout it as paradise on earth.

Talk so much but never answer my question. How "affordable" must HDB flats be before you are satisfied?

Please read first, second and third sentence which is asking you to understand affordable is not free. for your answer, read the fourth sentence. ty. theres the answer to your question. you are free to intepret it any way. an easier rule of thumb is take current prices in Sengkang, and put it on flats in Clementi.

can u at least read b4 u type?