• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fresh grad losers confirmed - 9 out of top ten companies questionable

besotted

My observation in red. The only okay company in the list in Philips

Our local grads love losers, that's why they will be no-hopers until they unfuck themselves

Barclays top choice of fresh graduates
Nov 15 2010

Fresh graduates' top pick for the most sought after employers was announced last evening at the Singapore's 100 leading graduate employers awards 2010.

The event was organised by GTI Media (GTI), a graduate careers and research business, to celebrate and recognise both the strength of employer brands on campus and excellence in graduate recruitment.

The results were compiled from a survey of 3,700 final-year students and fresh graduates.

List of top 10 employers:

1. Barclays Capital - bailout by Arabs

2. Singapore Technologies Engineering - massive writeoffs such as Global Crossing

3. Citibank - giant bailout from Uncle Sam

4. J.P. Morgan (joint 4th position) - bailout from Uncle Sam

4. MediaCorp (joint 4th position) - state censored

6. Credit Suisse - bailout by Swiss government

7. PricewaterhouseCoopers - auditor to Satyam

8. Philips Electronics

9. Singapore Press Holdings - state censored

10. Ernst & Young - auditor to Lehman__________________

besotted

Don't know how these people graduate

Better reexamine our education system

After so many years of studying they make choices so poorly

What a bunch of dumb fucks

Barclays was the only big bank that did not need a bail-out. They did not lose their pants and actually reported profit. They raised capital to buy some distressed suckers.

It explains why they are top of the heap. Asking a canteen operator pretending to be restauranteur is bit too much.

Barclays was the only big bank that did not need a bail-out. They did not lose their pants and actually reported profit. They raised capital to buy some distressed suckers.

It explains why they are top of the heap. Asking a canteen operator pretending to be restauranteur is bit too much.

I don't think HSBC needed bail-out too.

besotted

Alamak, go Google lah, only know how to show off and call names

When this generation of idiots grow up, they will be like you

besotted

Scroobal the sad fuck trying to be funny

Got mod status and bully people instead of contributing to the discussion

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/markets/article.html?in_article_id=469329&in_page_id=3

Last autumn, when the Government was taking equity stakes to rescue the Royal Bank of Scotland and the Lloyds Banking Group, Barclays refused state help. Instead it went to an Abu Dhabi and Qatari consortium fronted by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the Abu Dhabi royal who is bankrolling Manchester City football club and advised by the British financier Amanda Staveley.

The consortium paid £7.3bn for 32% of Barclays.

However, a hither-to-overlooked clause in the agreement has now been revealed.

Critics of Barclays chief executive John Varley say the document indicates how desperate he and the Barclays board were to sell shares in the bank to anyone other than Gordon Brown - even do a deal which might ultimately see Barclays cede ownership to a foreign government.

Royalblood

Yea.... choosing them as top 10 employers is one thing, getting to join them is totally another issue.

These fucking employers boast some of the world's largest pool of opportunistic foreign fucks working amongst the locals. They give out employment pass like distributing flyers....local grads pls stand aside and wait for any left over vacancy after they employed enough foreign trash.

Ash007

I counted 6 financial/banking companies 2 media companies and only 2 engineering/technical companies. What happen to companies like Google, facebook, Intel, Microsoft, Apple? These are great companies to work with as a fresh grad.

ivebert

I counted 6 financial/banking companies 2 media companies and only 2 engineering/technical companies. What happen to companies like Google, facebook, Intel, Microsoft, Apple? These are great companies to work with as a fresh grad.

Please lah! Use your brain!

Only banks and stat boards hire Sinkies because of security issues

Top technology companies go to India and China because local university graduates are more expensive to hire and why do you want to choose from 5 million losers when you can choose from 1300 million?

Also, the top Sinkies are already given scholarships and a high flying career in civil service.

fox_hound_33

Many reasons:

1. Engineering doesn't pay. What is the starting pay of an EEE grad? SGD2700-2800, which has remained the same for the last decade or so. With the spiraling cost of alomost anything and everything, it doesnt make much sense to get into engineering and put in such study effort (engineering is one of the toughest degrees to graduate from).

To put things in perspective....the starting pay of a croupier, with nothing but O levels, in one of the casinos is SGD2000.0. With allowance and OT it can hit SGD 2600- 3000.

A casino supervisor with some third rate Malaysian degree, one who cant hold a decent conversation in English nor is capable of any critical thought that is characteristic of an engineer, can earn a starting pay of SGD4000.0. With OT and allowance it can hit SGD4500.0

2. There aren't many real engineering jobs in Singapore. And by real i mean the ones that innovate, create, push boundaries, are disruptive, ones that discover and invent. In other words, high value add engineering jobs. The top engineering companies of the world such as Google, Nvidia, Microsoft etc have sales and support offices here. Their heavy-lifting R&D stuff is done in the States, India and China.

When you have fringe engineering services you cant expect the pay to be high, nor can you expect the engineers working in those sectors to be valued by the company or the society. This clearly has had a impression on the fresh grads here.

3. The govt keeps talking about a knowledge based economy, R&D driven economy etc. etc. But i would say their execution has been not up to scratch. Not a lot of companies are bringing in the kind of high-value add jobs that i described in point 2. Also the number of start-ups, spin-offs and other entrepreneurial and technopreneurial ventures have been low.

I do have some hope here. We might slowly see improvements regarding this point.

4. The high cost of living. Engineering jobs don't pay well. Banking, finance and civil service jobs do. And as the saying goes "you can afford to die in Singapore but not get sick". Besides, we all know how shamelessly money-faced the Singapore society is.

5. Stupid and lazy students. Engineering is a labor of love. If you aren't smart, dedicated, hard working, patient, curious, bold, decisive, questioning and not conforming, you wouldn't make a half decent engineer. How many students and grads have these traits? This is also the reason most school leavers opt for non-engineering degrees.

Most of these students and grads are only bothered about making a quick buck, branded goods, partying, showing off and basically behaving like dumb fucks. You cant hold a half-decent conversation with most of them. Whats more, they think it really cool.

ivebert

Many reasons:

1. Engineering doesn't pay. What is the starting pay of an EEE grad? SGD2700-2800, which has remained the same for the last decade or so. With the spiraling cost of alomost anything and everything, it doesnt make much sense to get into engineering and put in such study effort (engineering is one of the toughest degrees to graduate from).

To put things in perspective....the starting pay of a croupier, with nothing but O levels, in one of the casinos is SGD2000.0. With allowance and OT it can hit SGD 2600- 3000.

A casino supervisor with some third rate Malaysian degree, one who cant hold a decent conversation in English nor is capable of any critical thought that is characteristic of an engineer, can earn a starting pay of SGD4000.0. With OT and allowance it can hit SGD4500.0

2. There aren't many real engineering jobs in Singapore. And by real i mean the ones that innovate, create, push boundaries, are disruptive, ones that discover and invent. In other words, high value add engineering jobs. The top engineering companies of the world such as Google, Nvidia, Microsoft etc have sales and support offices here. Their heavy-lifting R&D stuff is done in the States, India and China.

When you have fringe engineering services you cant expect the pay to be high, nor can you expect the engineers working in those sectors to be valued by the company or the society. This clearly has had a impression on the fresh grads here.

3. The govt keeps talking about a knowledge based economy, R&D driven economy etc. etc. But i would say their execution has been not up to scratch. Not a lot of companies are bringing in the kind of high-value add jobs that i described in point 2. Also the number of start-ups, spin-offs and other entrepreneurial and technopreneurial ventures have been low.

I do have some hope here. We might slowly see improvements regarding this point.

4. The high cost of living. Engineering jobs don't pay well. Banking, finance and civil service jobs do. And as the saying goes "you can afford to die in Singapore but not get sick". Besides, we all know how shamelessly money-faced the Singapore society is.

5. Stupid and lazy students. Engineering is a labor of love. If you aren't smart, dedicated, hard working, patient, curious, bold, decisive, questioning and not conforming, you wouldn't make a half decent engineer. How many students and grads have these traits? This is also the reason most school leavers opt for non-engineering degrees.

Most of these students and grads are only bothered about making a quick buck, branded goods, partying, showing off and basically behaving like dumb fucks. You cant hold a half-decent conversation with most of them. Whats more, they think it really cool.

After all your drivel, I realize you are one sad fuck

Not everything is about $$$. Interest and career alignment to personality is very important

You either come from a very poor family or you just want to keep up with the Jones

Having said all these, not everyone is able to pursue their own interest in Singapore because of the market size and many have the pressure to buy a pigeonhole so they need money.

Ash007

Many reasons:

1. Engineering doesn't pay.

Indeed, what a change compared to when I was in school back home. I suppose Singapore has changed to be a banking/financial hub, rather then a regional technical hub now.

Spore's educational system still emphasises mandarin & the sciences. Only have to go to Popular Book Store & see the school textbooks.

Only problem is that alot of the jobs are at most semi-technical. Maybe that's why we have so many foreigners with dubious credentials :rolleyes:

ivebert

Spore's educational system still emphasises mandarin & the sciences. Only have to go to Popular Book Store & see the school textbooks.

Only problem is that alot of the jobs are at most semi-technical. Maybe that's why we have so many foreigners with dubious credentials :rolleyes:

Most engineering jobs in Singapore are:
Manufacturing related
Quality control
Integration - involves working with commercial vendors
IT related

The engineering jobs that are well-paid are:
Developers
Research engineers
Designers
and they are only in US or Europe or Japan

Cruxx

My observation in red. The only okay company in the list in Philips

Our local grads love losers, that's why they will be no-hopers until they unfuck themselves

Barclays top choice of fresh graduates
Nov 15 2010

Fresh graduates' top pick for the most sought after employers was announced last evening at the Singapore's 100 leading graduate employers awards 2010.

The event was organised by GTI Media (GTI), a graduate careers and research business, to celebrate and recognise both the strength of employer brands on campus and excellence in graduate recruitment.

The results were compiled from a survey of 3,700 final-year students and fresh graduates.

List of top 10 employers:

1. Barclays Capital - bailout by Arabs

2. Singapore Technologies Engineering - massive writeoffs such as Global Crossing

3. Citibank - giant bailout from Uncle Sam

4. J.P. Morgan (joint 4th position) - bailout from Uncle Sam

4. MediaCorp (joint 4th position) - state censored

6. Credit Suisse - bailout by Swiss government

7. PricewaterhouseCoopers - auditor to Satyam

8. Philips Electronics

9. Singapore Press Holdings - state censored

10. Ernst & Young - auditor to Lehman__________________

It's all relative. To some, working obsequiously for authoritarian governments is a sign of a "loser". To the "losers" themselves, making more $$ than the apologists for free speech is a form of success. Similarly, working under failed businesses can be construed as being a "loser". For others, having the government bailing them out and seeing their bonuses increase are definitely signs of success.