• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forced to Wait for 5 hrs At A & E With No Doctor!

ok, I was not medically trained but this person was at one time under chemo treatment when struck by severe headache until passed out, investigation showed brain hemorrhage, nothing was done to that except scan at interval once they confirmed it was not getting worse they discharged her, and a week later at home at 11 PM the headache struck again with high BP reading, in that case you would expect me to wait till 9 next morning?

Depends on situation, what you had mention is too general. Such incident can only be handle by hospitalised aftercare, it should not go A and E. From what you said, to me it should not be going to A and E. this should be an reoccurring issue that keeps happening, meaning its not life threatening. it might be a chronic health problem but not life and death in that golden hour.

However, you have to use your own judgement at times. If you think his vital sign will get bad anytime soon like loss of conscience, stop breathing or heart stop pumping, call 995.

if headache with history of brain injury or related problem and that fellow vomit - CALL 995 immediately and must tell them he did vomit. If headache and fainted or he started losing it not knowing what he is doing or where he is, blur blur sotong looking and loss, same thing. check for vital signs, airway, breathing and heartbeat. mentally prepared to do CPR (hopefully someone knows) till paramedic arrived. Anytime the fellow might collapse. it will be best if the family have an portable AED.

if headache he can kpkb all the way, relax, ask him goes to sleep. if really cannot take the pain, as son/daughter drive him down or take taxi. i will advise you to go AH, lesser people at night. not place like TTSH or NUH.

If family have members of such history, i would advise is this, make sure all medical documents of this person is in one file. including his medication that is commonly taken by him put in somewhere easily accessible. anything happen just grab the file with IC together with medication and go. easy for the paramedic also and the family, this will reduce panic in times of emergency.

If family have members of such history, i would advise is this, make sure all medical documents of this person is in one file.
Thanks for taking your time

I will let in a bit on this

you right, the documents were all in one file rushed to reach hospital, SGH, at 11 30 PM and waited in q ( waited and not cut q, dear Ram ) until well after 12 MN male nurse took BP 180/140 "high la but not that high, wait outside till doctor call, ok?" and rolled her in, I waited till after 1 and nobody seem to knew nothing so I just walked in behind the reception, there she was alone without blanket in one corner writhing don't know whether in pain or cold while 4 nurses hovering and joking around a cute old man who was having constipation, I raised hell on the spot and 5 minutes they sent me to see doc who told me " I am sorry, but I am not familiar with Oncology medicine, what I can do is to ward her", she was ward at close to 4 AM while still crying in pain I asked nurse on duty to give her some pain killer _ " I am sorry but only doctor can dispense medicine, wait hor "
So, have to wait lor until the 1st doc stepped in the ward at 8 in the morning

Thanks for taking your time

I will let in a bit on this

you right, the documents were all in one file rushed to reach hospital, SGH, at 11 30 PM and waited in q ( waited and not cut q, dear Ram ) until well after 12 MN male nurse took BP 180/140 "high la but not that high, wait outside till doctor call, ok?" and rolled her in, I waited till after 1 and nobody seem to knew nothing so I just walked in behind the reception, there she was alone without blanket in one corner writhing don't know whether in pain or cold while 4 nurses hovering and joking around a cute old man who was having constipation, I raised hell on the spot and 5 minutes they sent me to see doc who told me " I am sorry, but I am not familiar with Oncology medicine, what I can do is to ward her", she was ward at close to 4 AM while still crying in pain I asked nurse on duty to give her some pain killer _ " I am sorry but only doctor can dispense medicine, wait hor "
So, have to wait lor until the 1st doc stepped in the ward at 8 in the morning

btw i WAS a paramedic, not a nurse, so aftercare protocol i might not be that familar.

i know it might sound harsh to you, but if i am the person on duty i will not be worry with this case

reason:
1) obviously her vital signs are strong
2) she complaining strongly (to us its a good sign honestly)
3) the one you touch is the junior nurse, should wack all the way up to the staff nurse. staff nurse can give LOL
4) BUT the if that particular field of expert is not there, the nurse did the right thing in not anyhow administer medication, reason HBP if my memories does not serve me wrong a lot of painkilling medication cannot give. it will make the vital sign goes bad and everyone will really have to go into standby mode for anything to happen. i am not kidding on this, i rather that patient kpkb all the way till someone of that field step in.
5) i do not blame you for being angry for that is your love one, but that is how things works. and at times honestly there are certain logic behind in why inaction is better. like why pain-killer was not administered, i believe its the blood pressure reason and they did not want to complicate issues.

The comments in this thread mostly assume people like to "geng" and abuse medical facilities. I tend to believe people know what they are doing and will not bring themselves to hospital for nothing. So many people think with a 3rd world brain, that's why you get third world medical service.

I think it's about pain versus emergency. Everybody in pain thinks they're in emergency and want relief a.s.a.p. and grumbles at the queue. An unconcious patient suffer no pain at all. He's already unconscious. He won't argue, grumble or complain. But he'd still be given priority.

is not assume they geng, is they do not know what is emergency and what is not.

I think it's about pain versus emergency. Everybody in pain thinks they're in emergency and want relief a.s.a.p. and grumbles at the queue. An unconcious patient suffer no pain at all. He's already unconscious. He won't argue, grumble or complain. But he'd still be given priority.

is not assume they geng, is they do not know what is emergency and what is not.

I'm so proud of my son. :)

i know it might sound harsh to you,

I agree with you on your reasoning
I agree that nurse can not dispense medication

but if you read carefully she was not the one complaining strongly, she was semi conscious writhing in pain, it was I who wack all the way up, frankly if I can turn back the clock I would be very happy if at that moment she could just kpkb like you said

I'm so proud of my son. :)

This father and son tag-team is killing me. Couldn't find another pair more alike.
The junior speaks like PAP "they do not know..." (hint: we know better)
The senior a little more seasoned "they should just bear with the pain because it will not kill them"

I have seen with my own eyes how these half-fucked medical workers made their judgement (no offence to paramedic son) and i doubt they can make any better judgement than patient themselves. One old man with history of mild stroke checked into hospital in the middle of the night (same ward as me) because he started experiencing numbness which was familiar to him as a sympton preceding stroke.. the doctor basically screw him upside down for checking into hospital as he considered it unnecessary. The next morning he really suffered attack... lucky he made his right judgement and so much for "we know better..."

but if you read carefully she was not the one complaining strongly, she was semi conscious writhing in pain, it was I who wack all the way up, frankly if I can turn back the clock I would be very happy if at that moment she could just kpkb like you said

I hate to say this as some may accuse me of cheating. KPKB is the last thing to do if you want immediate medical attention and warding a.s.a.p. in a hospital. Just drop down and act dead. STFU and act dead is the best way to cut queue. However, nurses are neither stupid nor untrained. You have to be good at that. Your reflex to pain threshold has to very high. Otherwise, they can detect easily and tell you courteously, take a queue number.

i do not blame you for being angry
I see that you have edited your reply but no, I am not being angry, the angst had died yearss already, take it that I just told story, not even complaint, just stem down from TS's points

if she is semi-conscious and is complaining at a moderate level, sometimes....we purposely want them to be awake to make sure their vital signs stay that way and does not deteriorate...its a kind of a balance. i know it might sound bad on my side but that is really what i was taught.

but pls note that what i say is only applicable for A & E and pre-hospitalised first aid care. After that stage the priority is different. at that stage the focus is stablisation, make sure vital sign is strong till proper treatment can be given.

I see that you have edited your reply but no, I am not being angry, the angst had died yearss already, take it that I just told story, not even complaint, just stem down from TS's points

Yunnan Hairgrowth Hospital don't need queue, don't need ambulance. Just call up for appointment. Just kidding for fun. Trust you don't mind. :D

I hate to say this as some may accuse me of cheating. KPKB is the last thing to do if you want immediate medical attention and warding a.s.a.p. in a hospital. Just drop down and act dead. STFU and act dead is the best way to cut queue. However, nurses are neither stupid nor untrained. You have to be good at that. Your reflex to pain threshold has to very high. Otherwise, they can detect easily and tell you courteously, take a queue number.

what you say is true, if we see this straight away a bed will be roll out

This father and son tag-team is killing me. Couldn't find another pair more alike.
The senior a little more seasoned "they should just bear with the pain because it will not kill them"

I have seen with my own eyes how these half-fucked medical workers made their judgement (no offence to paramedic son) and i doubt they can make any better judgement than patient themselves. One old man with history of mild stroke checked into hospital in the middle of the night (same ward as me) because he started experiencing numbness which was familiar to him as a sympton preceding stroke.. the doctor basically screw him upside down for checking into hospital as he considered it unnecessary. The next morning he really suffered attack... lucky he made his right judgement and so much for "we know better..."

good for you then, go get yourself a medical degree. you will be a good doctor

Of course, I'm not your daddy for nothing. ;)

not many knows this, i bet as police then must have go in and out of A and E tons of time to know the protocol. LOL

that's my dad LOL

perfect example of not knowing what is emergency.

"THE NEXT MORNING"

this case yes he made the right decision to be wand early, but that is totally unrelated to going to A and E which we are talking about here. if he step inside he should be fucked.

not many knows this, i bet as police then must have go in and out of A and E tons of time to know the protocol. LOL

that's my dad LOL

I didn't survive all fights without injuries. I've also been stretchered and ambulanced into A&E with myself on the stretcher before. Two of my favorite songs are Staying Alive by Bee Gees and I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor. ;)