• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Food Outlets Past And Present

Yes, Colombo Court....
My uncle wedding dinner held at the 5th level restaurant, rooftop open balcony so nice at night....

I remember Chusan(electronics store) that was located a few doors from Colombo Court. They later moved to Colombo Court.

Strange memory from the past :D

Kwang Sia Record Shop.... You mean the cassete deck or the reel? it was TDK or Akai Decks...and you can afford the best was Nakamichi..
T'was kool to buy LPs at Kwang Sia, the latest LPs from UK Top of the Pops.... Kwang Sia also record customized tapes for you, you just submit your list o songs, per song .50c to $1, what piracy bohew then ... I poor buy only stereo cassette recorder with big speakers just before the Boom Box age.... then buy normal TDK tape, then got AD,SD,CR,Metal from Chrome tapes to Metal Tapes veri tokong oredy.... later got cassette deck, Sony one, crazy over what tape head, alloy or wahlau, I can't even remember now ..... tape music form radio song request programmes.... Akai & Nakamichi also very popular brands ....

When our authorities can make simple mistakes like the location of a historic site, you know that the authorities don't keep good records & may indicate that they don't value our past :rolleyes:

Like the time capsules buried at the National Stadium that were lost.
The PAP only value their past. Just go see what they have done to the exhibit at the museum and the one at Sentosa. ............I am puking.......

For years the only depatment stores was the long gone Robinsons(at Raffles) and CK Tang(Orchard Rd). :)

PAP might like to boast about being responsible for modern Spore but they forget the fact that they are also responsible for destroying Spore. Just look at all the parking lots & REITs properties owned by Temasek :(

I've talked to older Sporeans who remember when Spore was under the Brits & they think it was a better under the Brits :eek:

It was better under the brits. At least they never took $40 billions and lost it in risky investment. If I recall, much as I like to give credit to the PAP for the destruction of old singapore, Robinsons had a fire and burned down.

Juz for the record bro! It's Robert Kwan not Kwang. The earliest joint is also not the one at Jackie's Bowl but the now defunct A & W at Dunearn Road. Memories are made of this! Old Josephians & Rafflesians will also remember Waterloo St sarabat stalls.:)

Yes, didn't they specialise in Indian rojak? Good stuff there, had lots of good meals there.

Capitol Theatre, this is where my first group date with RGS girls was...
but of course it was in the eighties...

However,my favourite girls are from St Anthony's convent,bestest!

Yeah I remember, behind the theatre was a carpark and next to it a hawker centre, where the beef kwayteow soup was the best. I love the spare parts with kiam chye in it. And yes, SAC girls were great, many were eurasians and much more fun than RGS girls. ALthough, I have to admit the sluttiest school girl I knew was an RGS girl. LOL. Any way, KC girls are for me.

On the left of the picture, if you walk further along the same side of the street as Capitol, there was a row of shop houses with stores such as Seasons Music store, and than end up Peninsula Hotel. Later those shops demolished and a big Bata opened up. That's coleman road.

It was better under the brits. At least they never took $40 billions and lost it in risky investment. If I recall, much as I like to give credit to the PAP for the destruction of old singapore, Robinsons had a fire and burned down.

Robinson fire was due to electrical overload during the Christmas Shopping season, and it improved our fire ordinance for buildings....talking about this..Mustafa at Serangoon Rd...I shudder!:p

You mean the Bakery is still at Teacher's Housing Estate?...Motorola I know.. Munshi Abdullah/Tagore Avenue..in the distance past I used to ride my BMX bike up & down the roads there...heh heh heh:D

If you are riding BMX, u are too damn young to be on this thread. LOL. It was choppers in my days, and the Raleigh bike with the gear shift handle in the middle.

Robinson fire was due to electrical overload during the Christmas Shopping season, and it improved our fire ordinance for buildings....talking about this..Mustafa at Serangoon Rd...I shudder!:p

Aiyah, just order tar pau at Mustafa and reduce your at risk time in the building, mah. :-)

If you are riding BMX, u are too damn young to be on this thread. LOL. It was choppers in my days, and the Raleigh bike with the gear shift handle in the middle.

There was already BMX....I had the Raleigh, the China bicyle....I even tried the ones with the side car..where you use the huge metal stick to brake...

Bicycle was the mode of transport...besides walking & bus...and dream of owning a car...:D

Thanks for the pictures, bro postnew.

The Orchard Car Park glutton square is where 313@somerset is now, next to the site of the old Specialist Centre. The fame car park is opposite Centrepoint where the Koek Rd food centre was. Too many good food stalls to mention here. But speak to some of your senior uncle friends to know more.

Do note that the said car park it is NOT next to Killiney Rd. The STB appeared to have made a mistake when they touted the wrong corner as THE place.
Yes, I think you are right.
It's not next to Killiney road.

yup, I tried the prata-kosong, telor and bawang and came away disappointed. they've kept prices reasonably low but it's the quality that matters-macam kayu jalan. the shiok factor is missing.
Does it not taste like the outlets at jalan kayu?
But aren't they supposed to be from there? Did you ask them to confirm?

I am amaze...where on earth he unearthed all those..especially the POLAR CAFE!..how about THE RED HOUSE, Katong?:p
He never fails to surprise us.
One of the most obliging people in this forum. A rarity.

There was already BMX....I had the Raleigh, the China bicyle....I even tried the ones with the side car..where you use the huge metal stick to brake...

Bicycle was the mode of transport...besides walking & bus...and dream of owning a car...:D

I was writing my bike across rubber plantation dirt roads as fast as I could when I was young, and going in and out of dried holes in the dirt road that would fill into deep puddles with even a little rain fall, Now, they have a name for it. Its called cross country. And they invented specific bikes for it. WTF. :D

LOL, and short of kpkb, kingrant was asking people to return to the theme of food outlets past & present...... :D
Sori bro, threads have lives of their own :p, the conversation just flows on ....

I am amaze...where on earth he unearthed all those..especially the POLAR CAFE!..how about THE RED HOUSE, Katong?:p
i try but postnew is my online pix hero (his search engine skills incomparable .... )

The Katong Red House

IMG_2220_JPG.jpg

Pre-closure ....
101_2023.JPG

2191233679_1afa3ae5d4.jpg

for more visit http://timesofmylife.wordpress.com/2008/01/16/my-old-katong-final-pt-other-lost-landmarks/

What about Merlin's with the plastic dishes at the front.

Yeah I remember, behind the theatre was a carpark and next to it a hawker centre, where the beef kwayteow soup was the best. I love the spare parts with kiam chye in it. And yes, SAC girls were great, many were eurasians and much more fun than RGS girls. ALthough, I have to admit the sluttiest school girl I knew was an RGS girl. LOL. Any way, KC girls are for me.

On the left of the picture, if you walk further along the same side of the street as Capitol, there was a row of shop houses with stores such as Seasons Music store, and than end up Peninsula Hotel. Later those shops demolished and a big Bata opened up. That's coleman road.