• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Exchange Rate of USD to Sing dollar, will it reach parity?

lifeafter41

Saw in Changi airport on the board of moneychanger (UOB, Amex etc,) that the rate to change from SGD to USD is aprox. USD1 to SGD1.28.

Actual rate is about USD1 to SGD1.30. Will it reach SGD1.20 soon or even the unthinkable, at parity?.

What is happening?.

Saw in Changi airport on the board of moneychanger (UOB, Amex etc,) that the rate to change from SGD to USD is aprox. USD1 to SGD1.28.

Actual rate is about USD1 to SGD1.30. Will it reach SGD1.20 soon or even the unthinkable, at parity?.

What is happening?.

If US continue to print their money like nobody's business and continue with it's current monetary policy, it will not only go into parity, SGD might be stronger than USD. Except if Sg gov decide to steal Singaporeans' wealth by doing what the US is doing now as in inflating the dollar and make all citizen's saving going down the drain in terms of purchasing power.

You can't print phantom money (or create digital money) out of thin air, backed by nothing (read fiat), and not expect the economy and currency to be destroyed.

A currency crisis of some sort is already underway. Buckle up people. It's going to be a roller coaster ride to the depths of Hades and back. No country will be spared from the silent madness of a currency war in which many countries out-do each other in a race to devalue their currencies, and inflating their way to solve their moribund economies and colossal debt burden.

We can expect the SGD to strengthen against the USD by more than what is considered to be a comfortable level at MAS. If things play out to the tune of the Master Puppeteers, we may see the SGD reaching parity in as little as 2 years' time.

I may be wrong. I hope Singapore will be sparred as much of the collateral damage as possible, by working their way around this potentially catastrophic financial doomsday scenario.

No need to even reach parity, I think by $1.20-$1.10, all the big holes will show.

Whether its Obama or whoever it is at the helm, no one can save them if they don't save themselves.

What is happening?.

I think I need some time by using my Option pricing model calculation............let u know asap..........

No need to even reach parity, I think by $1.20-$1.10, all the big holes will show.

Whether its Obama or whoever it is at the helm, no one can save them if they don't save themselves.

Would it be a possibility at S$1.20 or even S$1.10 that Singaporeans would be able to migrate to the USA en masse.

Housing would definitely be affordable compare to the HDBs. As for cars..... not sure about the tax structure in the US though.

Would it be a possibility at S$1.20 or even S$1.10 that Singaporeans would be able to migrate to the USA en masse.

Housing would definitely be affordable compare to the HDBs. As for cars..... not sure about the tax structure in the US though.

If it reaches $1.10, you still want to migrate to US?:D The whole country's money is going to be more and more worthless

What is happening?.

What's happening is its October and QE2 is set to begin in November. The market has priced in a large chunk of of the purported 1 US$ Trillion hence the US dollar index hitting 77.

What this means is the economies of The EU, South Korea, Taiwan, Japan are all in the same boat now as thier exports will suffer. Singapore is in a similar position as MAS has raised the target band upwards so markets are expecting intervention though Japan's intervention at 83 has failed with the Yen hitting 81. Japan is in a death spiral. There is not much these economies can do now to stop the strengthing of thier currencies.

Be prepared to pay for China and the US's currency war - in the form of higher petrol, higher transport, higer materials costs to everyone in the world now......

US is tryng to snake out of its high debts to China by lowering its currency value. USA knows it cannot repay the shit treasury bills China has bought, and will dump if USA releases more shit data. Now what we are seeing is USA trying to cheat and bully China by first asking China to buy its debt, then asking China to up Yuan to give USA a 20% debt discount.

China is definitely in a position and will do what it can to turn the USA middle finger back to itself. Sit tight, the clash of 2 titans is in the making.

What is happening?.

It will reach parity, but not in the near future. Think it has reached the top of the band for now. As MAS gradually shifts the band up, eventually it will reach parity in a couple of years.

There's more chance of the sterling rather than the USD reaching parity with the SGD. Talk of the American decline is ostensibly blown out of proportion.

U think they want sinkies meh? Anyone who has been to ang mo countries know that they sinkies the same as Prc Chinese :oIo:

If US continue to print their money like nobody's business and continue with it's current monetary policy, it will not only go into parity, SGD might be stronger than USD. Except if Sg gov decide to steal Singaporeans' wealth by doing what the US is doing now as in inflating the dollar and make all citizen's saving going down the drain in terms of purchasing power.

Spore has been manipulating our currency for the past many years. They've always intervened when spore $ gets too strong; this means we have also been printing Sing dollars for the past 20-30 years
This is reflected in super high asset prices in Spore, with the resultant decline in purchasing power of many jobs (except the civil service). Even doctors and lawyers today can only afford HDB flats when they start a family.
In my parents era, 2 professional working adults could afford 2 cars and a semi-D in district 10.

Current is about US$1 = SG $1.30 . In 2 year time max or less than a year exchange rate will be less than $1.2 . As we all can see that we Asian currency tend to move forward with the China RMB. If China currency up, almost all currency in Asian will up together.
Since US and EU asking China to up their value 20~40%. Of course China will not do that.Maybe 5~10% is more reasonable in 2 year time.
To prevent any crazy buy out RMB will create another probem. Yearly RMB up by 2 ~3% is more manageable.

Current is about US$1 = SG $1.30 . In 2 year time max or less than a year exchange rate will be less than $1.2 . As we all can see that we Asian currency tend to move forward with the China RMB. If China currency up, almost all currency in Asian will up together.
Since US and EU asking China to up their value 20~40%. Of course China will not do that.Maybe 5~10% is more reasonable in 2 year time.
To prevent any crazy buy out RMB will create another probem. Yearly RMB up by 2 ~3% is more manageable.

Wth QE2 coming on, it might even reach $1.20 within 6 months. Could gold be a better option?.

The key is relative strength. If your economy is relatively strong, the exchange rate and purchasing power will reflect that.

US trouble caused by banks not being allowed to fail and so someone somewhere has to pay for the loss. This exerbates the speed at which money is being printed, such that obligations are met even if economy is running at a deficit (loss).

Until there is a surplus (profit), the trouble will still continue. Obligations will be met with printed money but the value of the money will drop so the contractual obligations are met but the value of that contract will drop.

If it reaches $1.10, you still want to migrate to US?:D The whole country's money is going to be more and more worthless

If the rate reaches $1.1 or $1.2. money will come in to invest in its property. This will come from China, India etc.

Actually, the exchange rate even reaching parity or even below, is just a psychological numeral. Standard of living and cost of living are standard of living and cost of living, however you denominate or revalue your currency. The price and cost will readjust themselves. You go to the US now, with USD 1 = SGD 1.30, buy a newspaper and check out the job ads. A bank teller starts at USD3k. p.m. In Singapore? At this rate of salary parity, SGD needs to double USD in order to achieve currency parity.

Yalor the cost there of house, car, food, computer everything is much lower than our SG cost now

Even at the rate of S$1.20 or worse, S$1.10. Would that mean a substantial drop in the standard of living in the US, as the thing they import would be more expensive.

Alternatively, it might also be a good thing for the US, as it would reduce their debt being held by China, Japan, etc. Manufacturing might return back to the US after all, rather than being outsourced all this while, as they regain their competitiveness, vis a vis the USD value.

Inflation could be a big problem though......