• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Excellent response to PM Lee’s NDR 2010 speech. MUST READ!

kojakbt

Response to PM Lee’s NDR 2010 speech

PostDateIcon.png
September 6th, 2010 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Your Correspondent

Dear PM Lee,

I refer to your National Day Rally speech televised live on 29 Oct 2010.

You said there is a trade off between high growth and the acceptance of more workers. However, we should not grow for growth’s sake but should seek prosperity instead. Many first world European cities do not resort to the mass importation of workers to sustain their strong economies and their high standards of living. There is no reason why we can’t be likewise.

You said the winning design of the Duxton plain site has led to it becoming one of the most sought after HDB projects in Singapore. In case you’re not aware, existing flats around the Duxton plain are also amongst the most sought after in Singapore. Nearly all record HDB transactions come from that area. So it begs the questions of whether Duxton Plain is most sought after because of a winning design or because of its location.

You said foreigner influx is not uncontrolled because we have dependency ratios and foreign worker levies. But having those measures in place does not guarantee that the control will be well functioning just as having drains doesn’t guarantee that floods will be well controlled.

You said Texas’ many immigrants contributed to its vibrancy as well as its cutting edge in medical research. There are many European countries that do not have as many immigrants and yet are also at the forefront of scientific research. You said Texas benefitted from immigration even as neighbouring states like California and Arizona have tightened up. But the per capita GDP of both California and Arizona are higher than that of Texas. So being open to immigrants did not make Texas better than California or Arizona.

You referred to Microsoft’s setting up of an office in Vancouver, Canada across from Redmond, USA as an example of how Canada has benefitted from liberal immigration policies and how the US has suffered from its strict policies. But what exactly are those benefits to Canada and those losses to the US? As far as employment of citizens in rich software development jobs is concerned, neither Canada nor the US will benefit because the bulk of those jobs are going to foreigners regardless of whether the office is in Canada or the US. The most tangible benefit therefore has to be the auxilliary services to these foreigners in terms of the sale of groceries, meals and other daily expenses. These are largely low value added jobs. So if our concern is on the high value added jobs that Microsoft offers, then it makes no difference whether the office is in Vancouver or Redmond.

You said we should cheer for our national sportsmen even if they are foreign born because when they win, the Majulah Singapura is played. When Ben Johnson won gold in 1988 and the Canadian national anthem was played, no doubt all Canadians cheered. But when Ben Johnson was subsequently found to have cheated and stripped of his Olympic Gold medal, it means all the cheering had been in vain. So playing the national anthem doesn’t automatically warrant cheering. Ultimately, the people must feel the legitimacy of the victory.

You said we have given $400 million to 400,000 workers on Workfare and that that’s a lot of money. But on average, each worker gets only $1,000, a pittance compared to SM Goh’s wife’s definition of peanuts.

You said we have 22,000 new flats coming along but we don’t have 22,000 new couples getting hitched every year. Nevertheless, there is a huge backlog of couples who are currently putting up at their parents’ homes because they hadn’t been able to secure a place of their own. If you add those backlogs, 22,000 many not be sufficient.

You referred to MM Lee’s generation of leaders as the founding fathers who built our nation. You are wrong. There is one and only one founding father of Singapore and that is Sir Stamford Raffles. Our nation did not suddenly spring up from nothing in 1965. Behind 1965 were many more years of toiling without which 1965 would not have been possible.

You said the people who came before MM Lee’s generation had separate loyalties to different countries. Are you saying that Lim Bo Seng who died for Singapore while fighting the Japanese had no loyalty to Singapore? While Lim Bo Seng fought the Japanese, your father worked for them instead. Now, as we celebrate national day, Lim Bo Seng is all but forgotten but your father has become the ‘founding father’. We should not whitewash the contributions of the Singapore pioneers who came before MM Lee. If the conceiving and championing of a Malayan identity is an important contribution of the so-called ‘founding fathers’, then it seems odd that our first Chief Minister, Mr David Marshall was not even mentioned at all. There was hardly any fight for independence as far as MM Lee and his comrades are concerned. No blood was shed by him or his comrades. Also, there is no fighting of ‘communists’ as far as the term ‘communist’ is concerned. Even until today, even after locking them up and robbing them of their most fruitful years of their lives, we still have not been able to prove beyond reasonable doubt that they had been ‘communists’. Yet we continue to label them as ‘communists’.

So it is important to not just remember our founding fathers properly but to recognise that they span many generations stretching all the way back to 1819.

Ng Kok Lim

He's really good. Simple, incisive, logical, analytical, concise.

Why can't all our Opp politicians be/write/talk like him?

Ng kok lim should walk the talk....he should engage the PAP during GE..

Are you saying that Lim Bo Seng who died for Singapore while fighting the Japanese had no loyalty to Singapore? While Lim Bo Seng fought the Japanese, your father worked for them instead. Now, as we celebrate national day, Lim Bo Seng is all but forgotten but your father has become the ‘founding father’.

Ng Kok Lim

Wow...this paragraph is seditious and blasphemous. MM was only a translator.

Oi, translator ya..but translate what?

While the Allies were fighting the Japs, he was translating Allies' intelligence for the Japs! The Japs were the invading army and the Allies were the liberating party. If he worked for the Allies, he is a hero. if he worked for the Japs, what else to call him? How to call someone who wanted to do you in?

Wow...this paragraph is seditious and blasphemous. MM was only a translator.

[ You referred to MM Lee’s generation of leaders as the founding fathers who built our nation. You are wrong. There is one and only one founding father of Singapore and that is Sir Stamford Raffles. Our nation did not suddenly spring up from nothing in 1965. Behind 1965 were many more years of toiling without which 1965 would not have been possible.

This is the most important statement. Non-white Singaporeans should do well to remember to whom they owe their lives to, and thus pay proper homage to all white caucasians.

Oi, translator ya..but translate what?

While the Allies were fighting the Japs, he was translating Allies' intelligence for the Japs! The Japs were the invading army and the Allies were the liberating party. If he worked for the Allies, he is a hero. if he worked for the Japs, what else to call him? How to call someone who wanted to do you in?

Bro, you may be right. May be because of his translation, some allied soldiers died. Hence, he is equally guilty...

you must be the most hard up guy of homage.

Acknowledging their contributions does not mean bending backwards unless you are spineless or a worm.

The white men aslo had their own interests to serve lah..much like our 'founding fathers' lor.

This is the most important statement. Non-white Singaporeans should do well to remember to whom they owe their lives to, and thus pay proper homage to all white caucasians.

Bro, you may be right. May be because of his translation, some allied soldiers died. Hence, he is equally guilty...

Surely you're not suggesting the capture of Lim Bo Seng had anything to do with translation ?

First and foremost, the date of the rally was wrong, so how credible can this rebuttal be?

Should have been 29th August 2010 instead of 29th Oct.

IP MAN to the Chinese translator :"U farking Jap running dog...@#$%"

He replied : I'm not a running dog. I'm just a translator. I need to eat and live too.

Somebody likes that line so much that it's shown on TV as an extended broadcast to NDP.

Can't be. Lim Bo Seng preceded the Old Man. he could still be swimming in his father's balls.

Are you sure ? When did our Star Translator join the Toyotas ?

In May 1943, Lim sent the first batch of Force 136 agents to Malaya to conduct the operation codenamed Gustavus. The operation aims to establish an espionage network in Malaya and Singapore to gather military intelligence about the Japanese forces to aid the British in planning their re-capture of the colonies from the Japanese, codenamed Operation Zipper. One of the Chinese provision shops in Ipoh, Jian Yik Jan, was used as an Allied espionage base. Communications between the agents were done by smuggling messages in empty toothpaste tubes, salted fish and diaries. Lim arrived in Malaya in November 1943 and used the alias Tan Choon Lim to avoid identification by the Japanese, claiming to be a businessman when he passed through checkpoints.

Operation Gustavus failed before the agents managed to achieve any results. An unknown communist guerrilla was captured by the Japanese in January 1944 and they revealed the existence of the Allied spy network operating on Pangkor Island. The Japanese launched a full-scale counter espionage operation on the island and by late March 1944, more than 200 Japanese soldiers had landed on Pangkor Island.

On March 24, the Japanese Kempeitai arrested a fisherman, Chua Koon Eng, at Teluk Murrek on the Perak coast. Chua was working on Pangkor Island when Li Han Kwang of Force 136 approached him and requested to use his boat for their communications. Chua told the Kempeitai what he knew when the Kempeitai threatened to kill civilians. Li was later captured by the Japanese and he confirmed Chua's accounts of Force 136 under torture and then began to feign cooperation with the Japanese in order to escape captivity.