• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Excellent post from one of the numerous sammyboy clone forums on the Delphi platform

Re: Excellent post from one of the numerous sammyboy clone forums on the Delphi platf

im enjoying every bit of my time in here....:D
5yrs from now...sumthing big is going to happen...(perhaps perhaps perhaps....):p

Re: Excellent post from one of the numerous sammyboy clone forums on the Delphi platf

Thanks for this detailed post. But you know it won't stop those crazy conspiracy theorists. I think if anything, this new forum will have a better chance of keeping clones and cowards in check.

paranoia can be detrimental to the psychological health, sorry for this no brainer, but i thought it should be common sense that ALL folks possess.

Till today, I doubt that the majority will realise that its the lack of censorship that drove the forum's success. It was real irony that your post in one of the SBF clone sites was deleted yesterday by one of the "swell guys". And he is still looking for brotherhood spirit.

Strange isn't it. The new champions of freedom of speech won't allow the host that they freeloaded off for so many years to have a small say in their shiny new kingdom. :p

My forums are a success for one simple reason. Everyone can have their say.. even those who said "fuck you mudderfucker sam leong" the day before. I have not come across any other host in cyberspace who is that liberal. ;)

paranoia can be detrimental to the psychological health, sorry for this no brainer, but i thought it should be common sense that ALL folks possess.
No less clichéd, but that's not exactly a commonplace trait is it?:D
..they had better learn how to take a chill pill
Big Sexy said:
Good natured banter is the way forward with perhaps the odd nasty insult just for fun..
A dig here and there without malice, is good to help keep our heads screwed on.:p

IMHO, it was refreshing for Lengsam to clear the air.. though not sure if the doubters will subscribe to

Thanks for this detailed post. But you know it won't stop those crazy conspiracy theorists.

I am not joking when I say that some of those characters are actually in need of some sort of psychiatric care before they go beyond the point of no return.:eek:

I have often wondered who these paranoid individuals with so much hatred in their hearts are. Visions of a "Columbine High mass murderer" sort of character come to mind. :D... the social misfit who simply can't fit in amongst his peers in the real world.

Strange isn't it. The new champions of freedom of speech won't allow the host that they freeloaded off for so many years to have a small say in their shiny new kingdom. :p

My forums are a success for one simple reason. Everyone can have their say.. even those who said "fuck you mudderfucker sam leong" the day before. I have not come across any other host in cyberspace who is that liberal. ;)
Bro, one things that SBF has taught me is that that the views and opinions change all the time. I was absolutely shocked that he deleted that post which tells me he had absolutely no clue about the forum in which he was active in all these years. In the next breath, they will be asking for transparency.

Take the successful Clubsnap forum. The Mod gets highly agitated when someone asks on buying a camera in Johor. The price at times can be 25% cheaper. Nothing personal, nothing abusive and certainly not off topic.

Singaporeans need to read up more, travel and understand more to rationalise their thoughts and actions. They need to predicate their beliefs on sound principles.

All is not lost thought, one other mod thought the deletion was not appropriate. I was reliefed.

Take the successful Clubsnap forum. The Mod gets highly agitated when someone asks on buying a camera in Johor. The price at times can be 25% cheaper. Nothing personal, nothing abusive and certainly not off topic.

There's a simple reason for that. He probably has a pecuniary interest in a commercial photographic entity based in Singapore. Info about cheaper cameras is hardly something he would welcome with open arms. Impartiality is therefore compromised when it comes to moderation.

My formula has always been very simple and I've been preaching it all my cyberspace life... NEVER MIX cyberspace and real life. I don't know anyone in my forums.. I have never met anyone who participates in my forums and if I have, I don't know who they are in cyberspace anyway. Nobody has ever met me!

I gain or lose nothing from running the coffee shop forum. It makes no difference to me who runs Singapore, who escapes from Whitley Road and whether or not he or she is caught. If WKS is fired, it does not help me. If WKS is promoted, it does not harm me. Singapore dollar can go up and I gain nothing. It can go down and I'll lose nothing.

I don't trust any politicians and even if I trusted them before they gained power, I would not trust them once they are in office regardless of whether it was SDP, PAP, WP or NSP:p:p

I participate in my own forums just to stir shit. In the good old days, I used to enjoy the cyber-company of other forum members so I stirred shit in a humorous way. In the latter years, the whole forum pissed me off so I lost my sense of humor. Almost all my posts are tongue-in-cheek, satire or sarcasm. People are free to respond in any way they choose including the usual "fuck u sam leong knnccb" ah beng response from those with limited intellect. In the final year of the delphi coffee shop, many of my messages were actually pre-recorded from autobots. :D

The problem with the Delphi forum is that it became so devoid of humour and wit and so full of characters who seemed to take everything so seriously it simply wasn't funny!:eek: I can tell you that on some days, it looked like a life or death battle of galactic proportions.

This is of course very subjective lah. You may find it boring but others may find it engaging!

The worst thing of all though were those attempted character assassinations, by anonymous ghosts, of people who were unfortunate enough to reveal their true identities. I really felt sorry for the victims regardless of their political affiliations. It was dirty politics at its worst and I was hosting it!:(

I think if the person is stupid enough to reveal their true identities, then they deserve to be ridiculed. Even if you stop all these threads, with the knowledge of the person's identity, people can still go post in other places to ridicule him. You can't stop it. They only have themselves to blame. Don't get too sentimental over it.

Then there were those awful threads started about Mrs Lee or the "Lau Gheko" ...urging her to die with the hope that she's suffer horribly before she kicked the bucket!!!! Good Gawd:eek:... what sort of people post such messages??? I can't believe they exist. It's one thing to take LKY to task for his policies. It's quite another to wish a horrible death upon a non political character in the twilight of her life who happened to be married to him.... I cringed and looked away and hoped for the best.

Again, this is subjective. You may think it's tasteless to attack a dying Mrs Lee but others think she deserves to be attacked for the $B of dollars she and her law firm made from HDB conveyancing (something that nobody talks about).

5. I was contemplating just leaving the Delphi coffee shop with no owner and letting it drift along rudderless. However, I realised that without the power to administer the forum, I could still run foul of international copyright laws or even child porn laws if I could not control content and left it open for posting indefinitely.

Well, you could pass it on to someone else to run if u're so sick of it.

Have a nice day everyone and enjoy the forum and all it's features. DELPHI SUCKS along with many of the losers that populated the delphi coffee shop and spewed their hatred towards the rest of the world.

What makes you think your new Sammyboy forum won't degenerate into hatred slinging too? It's part and parcel of life. Live and let live. It takes all kinds of people to make this world and that's the beauty of it.

This is of course very subjective lah. You may find it boring but others may find it engaging!

Only two points require a response

1) I would like the things that I have to put time and effort into to interest ME. :D Individuals work on their own hobbies for enjoyment and I make apologies for that. :)

2) I did think of transferring ownership but the reality is that I trust NOBODY in cyberspace and nobody I trust in real life would be interested in running it! There is therefore no way I could decide who to transfer it to. While the contents have turned to custard in recent years, I still want the content archived.

When the Delphi Sex Forum was closed down by Delphi, I was very sad to lose access plus all the content. There were countless gems buried in the million plus posts that the Sex Forum had attracted and there are many gems in the old coffee shop. If I just transfer it to some Delphi nick who claims to be a diehard supporter of sammyboy blah blah, the new owner may simply delete all the data and turn it into something else. There is no way I would be able to prevent that from happening once I gave up ownership.

People are free to respond in any way they choose including the usual "fuck u sam leong knnccb" ah beng response from those with limited intellect.

HAHA... I fondly recall the one post where some poor moderated soul refered to himself as "your father" and wished your whole family get asshole cancer...

Your reply was pure gold :D :D :D

2) I did think of transferring ownership but the reality is that I trust NOBODY in cyberspace and nobody I trust in real life would be interested in running it! There is therefore no way I could decide who to transfer it to. While the contents have turned to custard in recent years, I still want the content archived.

When the Delphi Sex Forum was closed down by Delphi, I was very sad to lose access plus all the content. There were countless gems buried in the million plus posts that the Sex Forum had attracted and there are many gems in the old coffee shop. If I just transfer it to some Delphi nick who claims to be a diehard supporter of sammyboy blah blah, the new owner may simply delete all the data and turn it into something else. There is no way I would be able to prevent that from happening once I gave up ownership.

HAHAHAHA! You trust me or not? I promise not to delete anything.... ;)

Either that, we can ask the forumers to put up nominations and we can all vote to see who is the most trusted person everyone is comfortable with. Very democratic, right?

Unless of course you might be afraid that the old forum will cannibalize traffic away from your new forum? ;) ;) ;)

Either that, we can ask the forumers to put up nominations and we can all vote to see who is the most trusted person everyone is comfortable with. Very democratic, right?

Unless of course you might be afraid that the old forum will cannibalize traffic away from your new forum? ;) ;) ;)

You honestly need to go for an IQ test. :p Forgive me.. I'm not trying to be insulting.:p I just wonder why so many people forget to engage their brains before they sit down in front of a keyboard.

A) Nicks, polls and nominations don't mean a thing in cyberspace. One person can have 500 nicks. :p One character in the other forum actually opened 600 accounts!.. I kid you not. That's what people do when they don't have a life beyond the net.

B) I'm also afraid my right pocket will steal money from my left pocket.:rolleyes:

Ah.... finally, the truth is out. I like an honest man like you.... HAHAHAHA!

One character in the other forum actually opened 600 accounts!.. I kid you not.

These guys have no clue. Thats why they are having great difficulty with the new technology(if you can call it that). There is one chap running 2 forums and he accidently used the wrong nick today but signed with other nick. They are getting bushwacked. Here is the best part, both nicks have never seen daylight before the move.

One person can have 500 nicks. :p One character in the other forum actually opened 600 accounts!.. I kid you not. That's what people do when they don't have a life beyond the net.

So, won't such characters also surface here and decide to screw-up your infraction and reward system?

Hell yes! I'm sure they're going to try. :D

With this post, you kind of revealed a lot about your values. Thank you.

Having said this, it was well within your ability to have even drawn a line at the character assassination posts, or even the racists posts, or even some of the posts which were slanderous.

>>The worst thing of all though were those attempted character assassinations, by anonymous ghosts, of people who were unfortunate enough to reveal their true identities. I really felt sorry for the victims regardless of their political affiliations. It was dirty politics at its worst and I was hosting it!:(<<<

Well, I sense a tinge of sincere regret.

>>What disgusted me even further is the perpetrators of such threads seemed to consider starting these horrendously nauseating threads to be a badge of honor! They were brave!. they were champions of free speech... they were taking on the establishment!.. from a position of an anonymous loser of course as none of them would ever have to balls to show up at a public event to expose their dislike for the govt in the real world. Cyberspace was (and is) their haven where they feel 10 feet tall. Real life is a different story altogether. Keyboard heros are alive and well in Sinkiepoor.

Today's forum participants draw a line in the sand and anyone who steps across is dead meat and a sworn enemy for life!!!!!!

In the good old days, many members would take me to task for my views while at the same time, following up with an email containing a "no hard feelings" message.:D People agreed to disagree in a civilized manner.<<

Well, certainly agree. I, for one enjoyed many a discussion and a debate, because the disagreements were in a fairly objective way. There were flame wars, but there was respect and courtesy.

>>Their resistance to what amounts to nothing more than a new platform run by the same old host they have been with for the last 9 years reveals alot about what makes these characters tick... or rather.. what doesn't.:p<<

This only reinforces the view held by some of the forummers that the Sam hasn't changed. He could live in Toa Payoh or NZ, but he loves a Mac and the kind of things that gets his goat hasn't changed even a wee bit.

In one of your subsequent posts, you also reveal yourself to be a conscientious moderator, who has gone beyond the role of a moderator to protecting the assets (the content) and taking due steps that the old forum is not misused.

If ever there was an opportunity, I would have loved to break bread with you and of course clink a glass of beer.

Keep going Sam..! Though I am still getting used to the new format, I would rather believe you for the principled stand that you have taken, notwithstanding some posts which come across as insensitive.

If ever there was an opportunity, I would have loved to break bread with you and of course clink a glass of beer.

Sorry no can do. ;) Don't take it personally though.:D

The downfall of most cyberspace communities in when they try to transfer the same community spirit into the real world.

Refer to my post :

My formula has always been very simple and I've been preaching it all my cyberspace life... NEVER MIX cyberspace and real life. I don't know anyone in my forums.. I have never met anyone who participates in my forums and if I have, I don't know who they are in cyberspace anyway. Nobody has ever met me!

PS: Vbulletin has great features that will never exist on Delphi. If you want to quote a portion of text, all you need to do is to highlight the text and then go to the top of the message pane (the box that you type into) and click on the
quote.gif
icon.

This will automatically bracket the selected text with "Quote" tags so that it appears like this.
The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.

Bravo, Leongsam

They're loads of swell guys there for sure. I'd be happy if they moved here to share their wisdom.

The problem with the Delphi forum is that it became so devoid of humour and wit and so full of characters who seemed to take everything so seriously it simply wasn't funny!:eek: I can tell you that on some days, it looked like a life or death battle of galactic proportions.

The worst thing of all though were those attempted character assassinations, by anonymous ghosts, of people who were unfortunate enough to reveal their true identities. I really felt sorry for the victims regardless of their political affiliations. It was dirty politics at its worst and I was hosting it!:(

Then there were those awful threads started about Mrs Lee or the "Lau Gheko" ...urging her to die with the hope that she's suffer horribly before she kicked the bucket!!!! Good Gawd:eek:... what sort of people post such messages??? I can't believe they exist. It's one thing to take LKY to task for his policies. It's quite another to wish a horrible death upon a non political character in the twilight of her life who happened to be married to him. I mulled over deleting all those threads but I knew that if I did that, another 10 would spring up which I wouldn't be aware of so what was the point. I cringed and looked away and hoped for the best. That was the best I could do given the moderator tools Delphi offered.

What disgusted me even further is the perpetrators of such threads seemed to consider starting these horrendously nauseating threads to be a badge of honor! They were brave!. they were champions of free speech... they were taking on the establishment!.. from a position of an anonymous loser of course as none of them would ever have to balls to show up at a public event to expose their dislike for the govt in the real world. Cyberspace was (and is) their haven where they feel 10 feet tall. Real life is a different story altogether. Keyboard heros are alive and well in Sinkiepoor.

Today's forum participants draw a line in the sand and anyone who steps across is dead meat and a sworn enemy for life!!!!!!

In the good old days, many members would take me to task for my views while at the same time, following up with an email containing a "no hard feelings" message.:D People agreed to disagree in a civilized manner.

These days, I'd probably have a hitman at my doorstep if people could pin down which Toa Payoh apartment I was renting a room from. :D

Their resistance to what amounts to nothing more than a new platform run by the same old host they have been with for the last 9 years reveals alot about what makes these characters tick... or rather.. what doesn't.:p

All of them could be happily flaming each other and those damned pappies to death in this forum if they wanted to. However... the paranoia over what they perceive to be lack of anonymity transcends the boundaries of all reality! It certainly shows a shocking degree of ignorance of the net despite the fact that the current cyberspace structure has been around for more than a decade.

I have not even begun to go into the ridiculous talk about pappies buying forums for the purpose of IP address harvesting. :rolleyes: I mean...duh.. come on!!! What are these people inhaling?? Has the SG govt REALLY screwed the minds of some people so badly that they are now consumed by a constant state of extreme paranoia? If that's the case, I feel really sorry for the Singaporeans and I say that in all honesty.

Oh well.. life goes on. ;) I'm sure that with your intellect, you'll know exactly why I've moved here. I'll spell it out in as simple a manner as possible for the rest of the people who happen to read this thread:

1. I was getting really bored with whole forum and disgusted with the tone and the content and spent less and less time trying to keep order as I seldom read the crap. Delphi introduced no new features and didn't really seem interested in their forums either. I was reduced to fooling around with scripts that detected when "advice/advise" was not used appropriately. (I managed to get them to work quite well too)

2. I would regularly be accused of deleting threads and banning members that I had never even heard of. It turned out that the culprit was Delphi... not me. I was never kept in the loop.

3. I like fiddling with tech stuff. Vbulletin is great as it can be hacked and configured in a thousand and one ways.

4. A year or so ago, I decided that I would not be renewing my delphi plus membership forever and without plus membership, I can't run a forum. I lose admin status and the forum becomes ownerless. That's when I told everyone that I would be setting up a new forum.

5. I was contemplating just leaving the Delphi coffee shop with no owner and letting it drift along rudderless. However, I realised that without the power to administer the forum, I could still run foul of international copyright laws or even child porn laws if I could not control content and left it open for posting indefinitely.

6. I therefore decided to shift here and close the other forum from accepting new posts. Those who like it here are most welcome even if they hate my guts. :D If they want to abuse me, be my guest. :p

7. Those who prefer the Delphi format are welcome to go to the numerous Delphi sammyboy replacement forums that have sprung up.

8. I don't expect this forum to make any money at all. My aim is for it to break even. I am already covered for 6 months with my first sponsor. (see the sports/hobbies section banner). If it does make money, it will mean that traffic is heavy and that in turn will mean that I'll have to spend money on more servers to add to a load balancer daisy chain. If the forum gets too big, the database will need it's own server too.

9. I'm happily retired and set for life however long that may be... 10 / 15 years max is my guess as I enjoy doing dangerous things. Anything more will be a bonus. :D I don't need to SELL IP addresses in order to make ends meet.:p:p:p

Have a nice day everyone and enjoy the forum and all it's features. DELPHI SUCKS along with many of the losers that populated the delphi coffee shop and spewed their hatred towards the rest of the world.