• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-citizen's regret

Feb 13, 2010

EX-CITIZEN'S REGRET
Missing Singapore

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
THIRTY years ago, I left Singapore for Australia for personal reasons. Although I was not required to surrender my citizenship, I traded it in for my Central Provident Fund (CPF) contributions, as I wished to buy property in Australia.
I enjoyed the change for a few years but the novelty wore off. Why wasn't I any happier? I discovered the answer after my mother's recent death in Singapore. I was overcome with emotion when I met numerous former school friends, neighbours and relatives at her wake. It seemed the links had never been severed - only temporarily disconnected.
Possible reasons for not feeling happier after the shift have crystallised: nostalgia for the island republic and for family and friends. Worst of all, the realisation that my decision to relinquish my Singaporean citizenship was a colossal mistake.
To validate my feelings, I read papers by 'cross-cultural psychologists' on such issues as acculturation, age, personality, education, socio-economic status and cultural background.
My bouts of loneliness are valid. The loss of country, identity, family and friends can be tantamount to mourning the loss of a loved one.
When my mother was alive, my husband and I undertook the annual 'pilgrimage' to Singapore, and the first thing I missed when I returned was the animation Singapore offered. Not surprisingly, when I returned to Melbourne this time, I felt particularly miserable and displaced.
I dearly miss the exuberance Singapore offers. The lush green equatorial landscape and clean streets (sans discarded dirty mattresses and old carpets) beautify the island. Coffee shops and restaurants seem to be continuously feeding customers.
Singapore can boast an excellent work ethic. Reliable, hardworking and honest, Singaporeans don't take 'sickies'. Buses and trains run quietly and to schedule. Most people are friendly. The streets are relatively safe. Eating out is still cheap. Singaporeans enjoy a better standard of living. How I wish I had more foresight, rather than hindsight.
Housing is not an issue in Singapore. CPF contributions can be used to buy comfortable accommodation.
The Government is continually improving existing infrastructure: Flats are upgraded, new MRT stations are built and covered overhead bridges constructed - all for the convenience of Singaporeans.
Australia has my allegiance and loyalty, but I can't help feeling a Singaporean at heart.
Maureen Pollard (Ms)

Can somebody tell her that she could cum back to try her luck as FTrash. Then she would have felt fortunate have giving up her pink tampon.

RonRon

An Ex citizen regrets

Missing Singapore
THIRTY years ago, I left Singapore for Australia for personal reasons. Although I was not required to surrender my citizenship, I traded it in for my Central Provident Fund (CPF) contributions, as I wished to buy property in Australia.

I enjoyed the change for a few years but the novelty wore off. Why wasn't I any happier? I discovered the answer after my mother's recent death in Singapore. I was overcome with emotion when I met numerous former school friends, neighbours and relatives at her wake. It seemed the links had never been severed - only temporarily disconnected.

Possible reasons for not feeling happier after the shift have crystallised: nostalgia for the island republic and for family and friends. Worst of all, the realisation that my decision to relinquish my Singaporean citizenship was a colossal mistake.

To validate my feelings, I read papers by 'cross-cultural psychologists' on such issues as acculturation, age, personality, education, socio-economic status and cultural background.

My bouts of loneliness are valid. The loss of country, identity, family and friends can be tantamount to mourning the loss of a loved one.

When my mother was alive, my husband and I undertook the annual 'pilgrimage' to Singapore, and the first thing I missed when I returned was the animation Singapore offered. Not surprisingly, when I returned to Melbourne this time, I felt particularly miserable and displaced.

I dearly miss the exuberance Singapore offers. The lush green equatorial landscape and clean streets (sans discarded dirty mattresses and old carpets) beautify the island. Coffee shops and restaurants seem to be continuously feeding customers.

Singapore can boast an excellent work ethic. Reliable, hardworking and honest, Singaporeans don't take 'sickies'. Buses and trains run quietly and to schedule. Most people are friendly. The streets are relatively safe. Eating out is still cheap. Singaporeans enjoy a better standard of living. How I wish I had more foresight, rather than hindsight.

Housing is not an issue in Singapore. CPF contributions can be used to buy comfortable accommodation.

The Government is continually improving existing infrastructure: Flats are upgraded, new MRT stations are built and covered overhead bridges constructed - all for the convenience of Singaporeans.

Australia has my allegiance and loyalty, but I can't help feeling a Singaporean at heart.

Maureen Pollard (Ms)

DrPanacea

Re: An Ex citizen regrets

When you move on never look back. Just like when you leave your job and go to a new.....never look back.

She probably did not integrate well enough into her new country, her new friends and the community she lives in. Or eat enough of the Ozzie food and drink enough of their wine. And she probably broght her Singapore habits over too. If she sticks to just socialising with ex Singaporeans and PRs she is never going going to be happy.

1sickpuppy II

When you move on never look back. Just like when you leave your job and go to a new.....never look back.

She probably did not integrate well enough into her new country, her new friends and the community she lives in. Or eat enough of the Ozzie food and drink enough of their wine. And she probably broght her Singapore habits over too. If she sticks to just socialising with ex Singaporeans and PRs she is never going going to be happy.

True she should have so called blow away all the bridges and cut all ties. Only and only then can she feel that she no more belongs to SG. Met alot of of these so called new citizens at work day in day out talk about their home village and how they missed their home town. I can bet with you after they earned enough they won't bet an eye wink dump their pink ic and b back home.

saratogas

She found out that Australians are more racist, she ah neh?

Why is this ex citizen having regrets :confused:

30 years ago Spore was an OK place to be in & yet she left for Aust which was an even better place: free education, better health care, cheep, cheep,...

She even got her CPF out :eek: If she invested in property the appreciation value would be very, very high. If she had stayed in Spore just imagine her unhappiness at not being able to touch her CPF.

Nothing is stopping her from comming back as an FT :biggrin: I guarantee that she'll have more regrets at what LKY has turned into Spore into. :rolleyes:

A person who regretted easily can still be trusted? I am willing to exchange my PINk IC with her australian citizenship. And she can enjoy being screwed here in Singapore for all I care.

motuiti

Is this woman bona fide?

This letter comes right after the NZ govt launched a campaign to attract singaporeans.

And her last paragraph really reads like government propaganda.

I don't believe such a woman exists. The letter was probably made up.

What would be interesting is if The Online Citizen or somebody go investigate this letter writer and expose the scam. I'm very sure it is a sham letter.

Yeah, it seems genuine. I recall the name as she wanted to tell her side of the story about 2 years ago and was making this known in various forums. I go the impression that she was writing a book.

Now that Australian property prices have gone sky high, with the proceeds some may want o return, buy an apartment and retire here.

Is this woman bona fide?

This letter comes right after the NZ govt launched a campaign to attract singaporeans.

And her last paragraph really reads like government propaganda.

I don't believe such a woman exists. The letter was probably made up.

What would be interesting is if The Online Citizen or somebody go investigate this letter writer and expose the scam. I'm very sure it is a sham letter.

This is a bitch writing, right! She go and marry an ang moh QuiLo instead of a true blood Sinkies. I don't think she regretted but feel lonely because she married a quai lo and as such missed out part of a Chinese life style which only Chinese man can give. Everyday she have to eats peas, corns, carrots, canned food and oven cooked food this will make her sick of ang of life style.

This bitch must have wanted 'ang moh life style' and go marry one to up her status. But then later find 'ang moh' life style bery dry, their food sucks, and culture fucked!

This bitch go and marry an ang moh Ozzies, her name Pollard. Everyday she had to eat peas, corns, carrots, canned food and oven baked food all the time and this will make her sick. Ozzies ang moh quai lan and she will be lan lan stucked with the white trash and their life style.

Her only regret is not fucked by a Chinese Sinkies.

SamuelStalin

Feb 13, 2010

EX-CITIZEN'S REGRET
Missing Singapore

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
Maureen Pollard (Ms)

That's her price to pay for being a quitter.

dunbluffme

Highly educated people go where also won't die...

PAP, I love SG n please dun make this place more n more expensive...

Missing Singapore

Maureen Pollard (Ms)

moolightaffairs

she left when sg was still a lovely place. if she stay on for another 15 yrs, i dont think she will regret leaving sg and dying to fuck off from this place.

boast abt entrepreneurship ... brag abt being global ... tel ppl 2 venture out ...

n now tok so much crap abt failures who cant adapt n oni noe how 2 regret after venturing in2 a foreign land ...

mite as well go 1 big step backwards now close all ur doors n tel ppl dun go outside ... :rolleyes:

Feb 13.02.10
Current Citizen Regrets
Don't miss Singapore

Ten years ago, I left Singapore for overseas countries for personal reasons. At that time, I didn't think about giving up my Singapore passport/citizenship because I still have attachment to my family back home. ,,,,,,,,,,.

Why not send this to ST, STOMP,..., they might use your letter :biggrin:

Already sent even to pmo

but I dun think they accept anon letters!

They must have plenty of of such letters :smile:

It's probably on record ready to be brought up IF you decide to come back & support the opposition. You know how they are like :rolleyes:

Have you taken out your CPF money out :confused:

Before or after you sent the anon letter :biggrin: