• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Emigrating? Think Australia the Lucky Country? No way, now branded "Land of Rip-Ofs"

neddy

Re: Emigrating? Think Australia the Lucky Country? No way, now branded "Land of Rip-O

Uh oh. I remember I used to be the one who talked about cars being 3X the price as US. Since then much has changed. We know Australia is expensive. So is Singapore. We pay alot in Singapore, and our budget is in the black.

You see its very interesting. Now that monetary policy has shifted, we get to see what happens to those who keep fiscal discipline in these interesting times. Care to be in Europe, Canada or the US, where its cheaper but economic collapse might be on the horizon? What really happens when nobody buys treasuries and yields soar? Will they print and raise commodity prices to the moon? Or shall nations such as Australia with its myriad of revenue streams, solvent government, join the likes of Singapore and face the situation with levers and ammunition?

Time will only tell but yes Singapore is a rip off and Australia is no longer cheap.

But paying the high prices might bring benefits down the road, we just don't know. It really depends on how much more we can stretch fiat money - inflation and asset bubbles, trade wars until one day the US decides to abolish the Fed and revert to "a gold standard" Ron Paul is looking more interesting for our futures.....

ps does it really cost 21 Australian dollars for a chicken fried rice and coke in a takaway? I saw a 20 dollar thing of ice cream in a Singapore market the other day so its all relative.....

Industralisation - Globalisation - Financialisation - Monetiation
Inflation, Unemployment, Economic depression

Talking about rip-offs. Sometimes, I think Aussies are the biggest ripoff. We get too much pay for the amount of work done. It is not a good thing.

Wish I can find the right words to explain. But 2012 will be very tough to live thru.

It is my gut feeling. I simply lost faith in everyone from central bankers and politicians who simply refuse to tell us the truth!

neddy

Re: Emigrating? Think Australia the Lucky Country? No way, now branded "Land of Rip-O

If you depend on the Singapore govt for more good years, die lah.

If anyone still has that false sense of security of first world living in Sinkapore.

Break the MRT Window for fresh air or endure and faint in the packed train.

Hope PAP will reform itself.

Cost recovery model is not a bad thing. Having some welfare is not sinful. Provide a more compassionate human services is essential for an advanced society.

The Workers' Party is deeply concerned about the frequency of MRT train service disruptions along the North-South and East-West (NS-EW) lines and the Circle Line, which are managed by SMRT Corporation (SMRT). We are particularly dismayed by the scale of the service disruption between Marina Bay and Braddell MRT stations on the evening of Thursday, 15th December, and how the crisis was managed.

Over 127,000 commuters were affected that evening, and 4,000 passengers were trapped for up to an hour in the packed trains, with limited ventilation in the carriages. At least two passengers had to be hospitalised and others had reportedly fainted. We note that train services were disrupted again on 17th December on the North-South line and services on the entire NW-EW lines will commence service only at 10am on 18th December, affecting thousands more commuters.

We are concerned that the apparent increasing frequency of train service disruptions may be reflective of much deeper infrastructural and technical problems plaguing the 24-year old NS-EW lines.

We question whether these service disruptions were due to insufficient investments in maintenance and upgrades, considering that the MRT system has come under heavy strain over the past 10 years due to the rapid increase in population and ridership. If so, were the lack of essential investments a result of pressure on the public listed MRT operators to minimise costs and maximise profits for the benefit of their shareholders, at the expense of the 2.3 million commuters?

A more immediate concern is the apparent inability of the MRT operators and the relevant government agencies to deal with crises of this scale, despite several large scale civil emergency exercises held in recent years, like Exercise Northstar. We dread to think how much worse the situation could be in the event of a terrorist attack or train collision.

We ask if the Land Transport Authority (LTA), as the regulator of the MRT operators, could have been more vigilant in ensuring that quality of service and safety standards, including train maintenance and operations, were met by SMRT.

The Government cannot stand at arms' length from this extremely serious disruption to the train services. In the matter of this essential public good, the Government is accountable to the people of Singapore for the performance of the MRT operators to ensure the safety and well-being of commuters.

THE WORKERS' PARTY
17 December 2011

Aussie Prick

Industralisation - Globalisation - Financialisation - Monetiation
Inflation, Unemployment, Economic depression

Talking about rip-offs. Sometimes, I think Aussies are the biggest ripoff. We get too much pay for the amount of work done. It is not a good thing.

Wish I can find the right words to explain. But 2012 will be very tough to live thru.

It is my gut feeling. I simply lost faith in everyone from central bankers and politicians who simply refuse to tell us the truth!

The tip of the iceberg. Monetary policy itself has shifted. Look at the US$. Index is at 81. Now look at Gold. If this continues it only means people are running back the USD again. My gut feeling is the EU leaders will do anything incl selling their own mothers to keep the euro together. In a vote there they will tell the banks to go to hell but Sarkosy will print and he will be out in the next few months and his successor will print even more - why?

Because French, German UK Banks are too big to fail. The world's largest bank is French and now, like the idiots in the US, we all have to save it by printing away. New ECB bank chairman already admits current purchases are 20B a week. That's 1 Trillion a year!!!! Not to mention what losses in BOA, JP Morgan, and Citi would be. Let them die and learn their lesson already.......

Problem is no one knows where to run for cover should the printing presses roll. China slowing and lowering interest rates in the EU means the US$ goes up lowering commodity prices. No one seems to know what happens if the US econ numbers will continue and they rise again - both signal commodity collapse.

So maybe its better to be sitting on massive reserves. In Singapore our revenue streams will just stimulate via some stupid scheme again when the shit hits the fan. In Australia - stimulus! - TAX BREAK time! - only because your government is the only Western one that could afford it. Austerity for all but the Aussies, and Singaporeans it looks like.

Cant wait to see what these two governments come up with to stimulate.

So here's to getting ripped off! (at least theres no austerity here)

So the US$ again is the best of the worst - and its pretty bad there. Debt to GDP approaching 100%.

neddy

Because French, German UK Banks are too big to fail. The world's largest bank is French and now, like the idiots in the US, we all have to save it by printing away. New ECB bank chairman already admits current purchases are 20B a week. That's 1 Trillion a year!!!! Not to mention what losses in BOA, JP Morgan, and Citi would be. Let them die and learn their lesson already.......

In hindsight, we can see what drives the 1987 decisions on Euro. It is well known that countries like Italy and Greece were cooking their books to join the currency. The French and German wanted to be the Europe superpower. The Club Med countries played along because they were almost bankrupt then. No harm, so they thought.

UK stood aside because the City of London residents saw through the plot. Noticed what Sarkosy called the UK? Poorer than Portugal!

Notice the power of Germany and France to dictate and install unelected leaders for Greece and Italy.

"Printing money" is the only way out. It is the same as declaring bankrupt because of the hyperinflation it will generate. Isn't that why the USD becomes a friend again. Because everyone is running away from Euro. Gold is taking a short term hit as well, there is a reason for this unusual activity.

And Inflation is a tax on everyone. Everyone will suffer and be miserable.

How do you define a rip-off anyway? Everyone want to pay 50 cents for something that cost $1, and the govt say OK, we subsidise 50c so the people get 50c! Where does the subsidy come from? Fiat money is wonderful, Govt print $ and say inflation at 3% (now 4%). That inflation is TAX!!

Australia is still the best!!!! :smile:

xenomorph

neddy wrote this

What does it means for would be migrants?

Unlike UK and continental Europe (Norway excluded because of oil reserve), Australia is lucky to have wealth hidden in its sand and sea. What this translate to is that Australians can still be laid back and still enjoy the wealth which it has not laboured for. Given the under-populated country, this country will still be alright for the 21st century, unless we have a corrupt and greedy govt like the ones in Africa and Mid East.

then this

he bery the confusion one !!!

IWC2006

Indeed. Oz shopping is a real 'yawn' - not only ridiculously overpriced but lack of variety and simply backward. Just walk in to myers and see how far the retail scene there is behind the major department stores in Asia. Eg. Cotton-on is priced at least six times more than the same in hk. Even London is far cheaper than oz ESP during the season sales.

Solution: fiancee' & I will do our yearly shopping in hk whilst visiting relative/family using the strong Aud dollars, even shipping back the goods is outdated more than worthy. Shop in Oz only where necessary but we will avoid the outdated fashion/clothings in Oz at all cost. Enjoy the free things in oz such as visiting beaches, parks,galleries.

Grocery shopping - buy from the Asian suburbs or paddy markets as prices there are more competitive - only buy the essential diary stuff from Coles/woolies eg. Milk.

Overall if u are into retail shopping Oz is the last place on earth amongst the developed nation. Luckily we have Internet if not there are really little options part from shopping oversea.

johnsgp1

In hindsight, we can see what drives the 1987 decisions on Euro. It is well known that countries like Italy and Greece were cooking their books to join the currency. The French and German wanted to be the Europe superpower. The Club Med countries played along because they were almost bankrupt then. No harm, so they thought.

UK stood aside because the City of London residents saw through the plot. Noticed what Sarkosy called the UK? Poorer than Portugal!

Notice the power of Germany and France to dictate and install unelected leaders for Greece and Italy.

"Printing money" is the only way out. It is the same as declaring bankrupt because of the hyperinflation it will generate. Isn't that why the USD becomes a friend again. Because everyone is running away from Euro. Gold is taking a short term hit as well, there is a reason for this unusual activity.

And Inflation is a tax on everyone. Everyone will suffer and be miserable.

How do you define a rip-off anyway? Everyone want to pay 50 cents for something that cost $1, and the govt say OK, we subsidise 50c so the people get 50c! Where does the subsidy come from? Fiat money is wonderful, Govt print $ and say inflation at 3% (now 4%). That inflation is TAX!!

come on, this 'rip off' is because ppl in the west wants welfare, they want the government to spoon feed them when they are jobless, eventualluy all these jobless ppl dont even wan to work , and become lazy bones, cos the govt is feeding them.
And where the money comes from, TAX...
this is also happening in Aust, so who to blame? the govt or the lazy bones or those ppl that chose welfare ?

neddy

come on, this 'rip off' is because ppl in the west wants welfare, they want the government to spoon feed them when they are jobless, eventualluy all these jobless ppl dont even wan to work , and become lazy bones, cos the govt is feeding them.
this is also happening in Aust, so who to blame? the govt or the lazy bones or those ppl that chose welfare ?

You talking about me?

aborigine-australia.jpg

The Australian arbos are seriously spoilt with free money paid out of guilt-ridden White invaders/settlers. That is why they do not see the need to "progress" to become more civilised. Why give up their comfortable lives?

Seriously, the problem is more than just welfare. Everyone want to live a good life. MORE GOOD YEARS !!! Remember.

To blame welfare is what the so called 1% want everyone to believe while they see nothing wrong taking tens of millions $$$ doing nothing much themselves.

Australia is lucky in that people do not need to work that hard, thanks to the small population and wealth of resources.
But the clock is ticking. That wealth will ONLY last 100 years !!!
Most other western countries cannot afford this luxury anymore.

* Late Addition *
These days, there is a limit to how much & how long an unemployed can receive. In Australia, it is now called the NEW START ALLOWANCE. They need to actively look for work!

johnsgp1

You talking about me?

aborigine-australia.jpg

The Australian arbos are seriously spoilt with free money paid out of guilt-ridden White invaders/settlers. That is why they do not see the need to "progress" to become more civilised. Why give up their comfortable lives?

Seriously, the problem is more than just welfare. Everyone want to live a good life. MORE GOOD YEARS !!! Remember.

To blame welfare is what the so called 1% want everyone to believe while they see nothing wrong taking tens of millions $$$ doing nothing much themselves.

Australia is lucky in that people do not need to work that hard, thanks to the small population and wealth of resources.
But the clock is ticking. That wealth will ONLY last 100 years !!!
Most other western countries cannot afford this luxury anymore.

Haha, then why dun you become one of the Arbos and live a life like them, free money and comfortable life..haha..

ya, people in PIGS countries also wan to have good life, looks that their welfare policy really give them wat they need...

neddy

Haha, then why dun you become one of the Arbos and live a life like them, free money and comfortable life..haha..

ya, people in PIGS countries also wan to have good life, looks that their welfare policy really give them wat they need...

You can join them too. :biggrin:

Just make sure you have enough money to live out your retirement in Singapore. That country is a TRUE rip-off
** esp the medical fees !!! **
- how else can I describe schemes from CPF to foreign maids. Everyone is ripping off someone else to live a more comfortable life. :biggrin:

Remember, you still cannot protest in Singapore. Bite the bullet and endure the hardship to keep the harmony.

Still remember the time when my elite relative has difficulties training a PAP man to visit the HDB housing ghettos and do door-knocks of the peasants. He complains and gives disgusting looks about the dirty walls, yucky corridors, scary lifts and smelly air of the old 3 rooms flats.
Poor thing. Need to prepare a lot of wet tissues and a good bath to rid off the heartlanders stench. :mad:

Keep scolding the peasants for demanding too much. Lucky PAP man has not experience life when LKY was PM. Those generation really have tough timetable of work to do.

axe168

Ho ho ho.. I am still living well, please don't blame my "responsible govt" giving away welfare.

Conqueror

Sinkingland's 'Unity'

Still remember the time when my elite relative has difficulties training a PAP man to visit the HDB housing ghettos and do door-knocks of the peasants. He complains and gives disgusting looks about the dirty walls, yucky corridors, scary lifts and smelly air of the old 3 rooms flats.
Poor thing. Need to prepare a lot of wet tissues and a good bath to rid off the heartlanders stench. :mad:

Keep scolding the peasants for demanding too much. Lucky PAP man has not experience life when LKY was PM. Those generation really have tough timetable of work to do.

LHL was so cocooned that he only ate ice cream from an ice cream parlor. I don't think he ever ate a Wall's or a Magnolia ice cream. He's so far away ! What unity was he referring to when his paycheck skyrocketed more than anyone's yearly increments. A bunch of assholes !

Conqueror

OZ Desert Needs Lots Of Water !

australian-outback.jpg

Aussie's outback is a desert and it needs lots of water to create a green landscape. 10,500 years ago, Egypt had a tropical climate. Things have changed a lot - the Earth is scorching.

stock-photo-tropical-paradise-nile-river-in-egypt-16958275.jpg