• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Emigrate or Work Till Death in SG

[h=1]Modestly populated S'pore works better[/h]
Published on May 1, 2012

<IFRAME style="WIDTH: 56px; HEIGHT: 62px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-vertical" title="Twitter Tweet Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.1335513764.html#_=1335844451841&count=vertical&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FStory%2FSTIStory_794189.html&size=m&text=Modestly%20populated%20S'pore%20works%20better&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FStory%2FSTIStory_794189.html" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>
3Share

<g:plusone></g:plusone>

inShare​

<!--start of webspecial icon, if any-->
Purchase this article for republication

Buy SPH photos

<!--close .storyLeft-->I AM concerned that the Government still believes Singapore needs to maintain the current population size ('Population will shrink from 2025 without new citizens'; last Wednesday).
Our small island already has more than enough people. Singapore has exceeded the population size that allows a healthy quality of life for its citizens.
Technology can possibly provide the infrastructure to support the increasing population, such as taller residential buildings and fully automated high-frequency train services.
Singapore can seek to have the best of both worlds - a well-educated citizenry driving the economy through high-value-added services, and the more mundane needs met by foreign labour.
But a highly congested environment may prompt citizens, like well-paid bankers, to dream of a saner life in another country.
Singaporeans do not have an escape hatch, unlike in highly congested New York or London, whose workforce and inhabitants have the option of enjoying tranquil suburbs within driving distance.
It is better for Singapore in the long run if the Government strategically plans for a population decrease instead.
At the current pace, our present generation of working adults may mostly end up emigrating (with their money) or growing old with a host of health problems brought about by extended work stress.
There is still time to intervene to enable our greying population to age gracefully, in better health and less dependent on the shrinking pool of the younger generation.
In the end, a less congested country with a better quality of life will encourage couples to have children.
Chen Junyi

[h=1]Foreigners important, but give priority to citizens[/h]
Published on May 1, 2012

<IFRAME style="WIDTH: 56px; HEIGHT: 62px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-vertical" title="Twitter Tweet Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.1335513764.html#_=1335844682622&count=vertical&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FOnlineStory%2FSTIStory_794142.html&size=m&text=Foreigners%20important%2C%20but%20give%20priority%20to%20citizens&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FOnlineStory%2FSTIStory_794142.html" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>

inShare​

Buy SPH photos

<!--close .storyLeft-->WHILE there is concern about the influx of foreigners and permanent residents, the rationale behind attracting new citizens to keep the population stable and workforce growing is understandable ('Population will shrink from 2025 without new citizens'; last Wednesday).
But the Government must continue to give priority to native-born Singaporeans, especially in public housing, education, job opportunities, health care and transport.
Native-born Singaporeans should be charged lower public transport fares and lower certificate of entitlement prices for personal-use vehicles.
Singaporean males who have served full-time national service should have their reservist cycles reduced, and be given more opportunities for careers in the civil service and when purchasing HDB flats.
Muhammad Dzul Azhan Haji Sahban

[h=1]More 'life' needed in work-life balance[/h]
Published on May 1, 2012

<IFRAME style="WIDTH: 56px; HEIGHT: 62px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-vertical" title="Twitter Tweet Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.1335513764.html#_=1335844760866&count=vertical&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FOnlineStory%2FSTIStory_794146.html&size=m&text=More%20'life'%20needed%20in%20work-life%20balance&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.straitstimes.com%2FSTForum%2FOnlineStory%2FSTIStory_794146.html" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>
4Share

inShare​

Buy SPH photos

<!--close .storyLeft-->WHAT will happen when the projected 20,000 to 25,000 new citizens we need each year grow old ('Population will shrink from 2025 without new citizens'; last Wednesday)?
Do we bring in even more new citizens to support or replace them, to stop the population from declining? This cannot be the solution.
Moreover, with improving living standards in China, India and neighbouring South-east Asian countries, where most of our current new citizens come from, Singapore would likely become less of a draw.
We should look internally for solutions. We need to find better ways to help the elderly become more self-sufficient, while at the same time encouraging Singaporeans to have more babies.
The elderly in 2025 are likely to be better educated and will live longer. With their valuable work experience, they can continue to contribute to the workforce.
Employers should redesign jobs to accommodate the elderly, who will then be self-sufficient. They will become more of an asset and less of a financial burden to society.
Employers and human resource executives need to change their mindset to that of 'old is gold'. Ageism needs to be tackled now as old habits die hard.
There has been much talk lately about productivity at work. As the time and energy of a working couple are finite, more productivity at work means less productivity in the bedroom.
For Singaporeans to have more babies, the work-life balance has to be tilted more favourably towards 'life'.
The Government could perhaps give tangible benefits such as tax deductions to companies that have programmes to support and encourage their employees to get married and have children.
If getting Singaporeans to have babies is of vital importance, the Government should pay the delivery expenses of the first three children in each Singaporean family. This may nudge married couples to have more children.
Terence Tan

i am already in the 25% stage of planning to get outta here!@:)

some may think that i am naive but i urge you all to see for yourself what kind of life will be available for average sinkies when they are old. no more emotional attachment, time to get out.:rolleyes:

If 25% of executing the plan, you are still on track. If 25% of planning stage, that mean you are destined to stay in Sinking Land!

Trust me, I get out of Sinking Land in the most unfavorable condition and never look back. Sinking Land has become a once or twice a year shopping and dining destination for me.

If 25% of executing the plan, you are still on track. If 25% of planning stage, that mean you are destined to stay in Sinking Land!

Trust me, I get out of Sinking Land in the most unfavorable condition and never look back. Sinking Land has become a once or twice a year shopping and dining destination for me.

Agree. Some planning is needed but if one needs to think too long or await the most favorable conditions, it may never happen. Good example is Aussieland which used to have a much longer list of "desirable vocations" which has since been trimmed down big time.

Smart people will plan ahead so that they can have the formal to happen latter.

Why don't you get an outstationed engineering job :confused:

If now at 25%, by the time you finish planning, the dynamics change, then got to replan........forever planning leow:*:

This paranoid excuse of a human being has been saying this for the last year. I doubt he will ever get out of the country even if he wants to. Just wait for him to come back in here and KpKB about LKY cronies frame him this and that.

Bro,

OT abit. Can you advise if it is possible to buy a shop house in the city in the country where you are located? What are the requirements, need co-owner, or pr can leow? How much like those two storey type, can open shop on ground level and sleep at he top level? Tks.

Why don't you get an outstationed engineering job :confused:

If now at 25%, by the time you finish planning, the dynamics change, then got to replan........forever planning leow:*:

you think i dun want meh...my mind have already been fucked by lky's cronies, meaning i am a bit psycho, can't do mind intensive job anymore.sad right!

Bro,

OT abit. Can you advise if it is possible to buy a shop house in the city in the country where you are located? What are the requirements, need co-owner, or pr can leow? How much like those two storey type, can open shop on ground level and sleep at he top level? Tks.
Shophouse is called Town House in LOS and is considered landed property which is not available to foreigners. BUT many foreigners are operating their biz here. There are ways to overcome this. One way is company registration with a Thai national. There is no need for you to be a PR to operate a biz but you must not be physically doing work. A work permit will take care of this. Some townhouse are 4 stories and you can do whatever you like as long as there are no complaints.

Smart people will plan ahead so that they can have the formal to happen latter.
Yeah, I used to plan so much while I was in Sinking Land. Luckily, I am not smart else I won't be retiring now. :)

No risk no gain. If love planning so much, might as well stay in Sinking Land and plan how to become a MP.

Tks.

1. Btw, you indicated that there is no restriction on the usage, but is there a law or licensing requirements on the nature of biz, and usage for certain location and premises? Was thinking of simple eatery downstairs and residential upstairs.

2. And what is the max percentage of share ownership for foreigner in the partnership?

Shophouse is called Town House in LOS and is considered landed property which is not available to foreigners. BUT many foreigners are operating their biz here. There are ways to overcome this. One way is company registration with a Thai national. There is no need for you to be a PR to operate a biz but you must not be physically doing work. A work permit will take care of this. Some townhouse are 4 stories and you can do whatever you like as long as there are no complaints.

Tks.

1. Btw, you indicated that there is no restriction on the usage, but is there a law or licensing requirements on the nature of biz, and usage for certain location and premises? Was thinking of simple eatery downstairs and residential upstairs.

2. And what is the max percentage of share ownership for foreigner in the partnership?

1. Yes, there is both official and unofficial law. Certain biz like internet cafe/bars/karaoke are not allowed to operate near schools. For simple eatery, if no alcholic beverages, no license are required. If selling alchohol, need to get a license. Most locals are operating their biz this way, downstairs is biz, upstairs in residence.

2. Foreigners are allow to hold a maximum of 49% in any biz partnership. But I believe this will change soon under the current government as they are more pro-biz.

1. Yah, having that concept of a small eatery for expats and hopfully the profits can just cover the month expense good leow.

2. Hope you don't mind that I long winded and ask to confirm my understanding; is it a flat 49% across all biz sectors?

1. Yes, there is both official and unofficial law. Certain biz like internet cafe/bars/karaoke are not allowed to operate near schools. For simple eatery, if no alcholic beverages, no license are required. If selling alchohol, need to get a license. Most locals are operating their biz this way, downstairs is biz, upstairs in residence.

2. Foreigners are allow to hold a maximum of 49% in any biz partnership. But I believe this will change soon under the current government as they are more pro-biz.

1. Yah, having that concept of a small eatery for expats and hopfully the profits can just cover the month expense good leow.

2. Hope you don't mind that I long winded and ask to confirm my understanding; is it a flat 49% across all biz sectors?
1. Hehehe. No problem leh. Old folks like me is also long winded.
Most biz are able to make money because Pattaya is a tourist place and tourist are willing to pay more. From my experience, as long as price is reasonable and place is clean, you are able to make a nice profit. BUT a lot of hard work.

2. Yes, currently it is across the board. BUT...........

OK, I will discuss such topics in LOS thread before I kena infracted. :)

Madam Chiang Kai Sek emigrated to the US at age 77 and lived there till 2003.