• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dream Job.....Bunker Clerk can make 30K a month?!?!

im in shipping. bunkering industry is the last pot of gold in sg. property and shares gone liao. actually bunkering not only in sg, in other country also making a lot of money. marine fuel oil is difficult to measure the volume. due to a few things, structure of the tanks, temperature and tilt of the tanker. all this can contribute to variation of volume of the fuel. so like what some of you said -/+ 5% is ok due to the market practice. but if its bunkering a big ship with around 2000 metric tonnes and 5 % is 50 metric tonnes. one metric ton now is around 300 to 400 USD if im not wrong. so go figure out how much the bunkering company can make if they manage to save 5% from the total volume of the bunkering operation?

CPIB and MPA are handicapped in this issue. why? MPA dare not set a guide line on how many percent are allow and MPA bukering section very small and under manpower plus staff are under qualify to check on those bunker barges. :D CPIB totally not familiar with this trade and dont know what to do with it. :D CPIB can only break those people down and confess, but they know nothing about the trade. they dont know where to check, when to check and what to check! lol! :D even MPA and CPIB staff reading this also cannot do anything! lol! even they put up reports now!

shipping including bunkering only get people they know, so its kind of difficult to join them. making 30k as a bunker clerk per month i believe. ;)

I thought some years back, they cleaned up the bunkering business?. Those dealing with bunkering will never ever let you know the going on's, many hands are in the 'pot' including the ship owners etc..

Was briefly in the marine/shipping business...so I know a wee bit of bunkering & other things...those days, it was not unusual to see those dealing with buker oil..drving GOOD CARS.

Anyway, if this person is trying to fish for info & really the nitty gritty know how, forget it!...people will protect that gold or whatever solid metals rice bowls...;)

last time they bribe the bunker surveyors, chief engineers and capts of the receiving vessels to sign the BDN with lesser quantity and even inferior quality. now, after the CPIB round up so many surveyors years ago. i doubt surveyors will accept any bribe openly. ;) i believe still got a bit here and there but not so much.

anyway, nowadays no need to bribe surveyors, engineers or the capt at all. just do the -/+ 5% things already chia buey liao! dont pay kopi money also good! cut cost to boost profit! lol! :D bunker companies make money like siao.

If this is true, you are an idiot to reveal this in a forum that is reguilarly monitored.

No worries. CPIB well aware of this long ago. Bunker clerks are great customers. When I ran a KTV, they came to support me. They tipped the hostesses very well. Money easy come, easy go.

In the past 2 years, bunker industry chaps spending money like world ending soon. Always hanging flowers at Xian Sze, then at bencoolen St, now at Middle Rd.

Not sure what the situation now.
for years the bunker industry is known for all sorts of hanky panky/corruption.
yes the undeclared incomes are many times more than the declared incomes.
There was some big operations conducted by CPIB to clean up the industry and quite a few people were hauled to courts.

I know someone involved in the bunker trade. During 7th month dinners, he bidded close to 300k from about 8-10 dinners. Everyone wanted to invite him. For that month, he was more popular than our PM! Btw, all paid in cash.
No otang. Everything settled on the spot.

I know someone involved in the bunker trade. During 7th month dinners, he bidded close to 300k from about 8-10 dinners. Everyone wanted to invite him. For that month, he was more popular than our PM! Btw, all paid in cash.
No otang. Everything settled on the spot.

hahaha...does he need pple to carry his bags?
can intro or not....

My nephew just fresh out from NS got a job as a bunker clerk and he says he is making 30K a month. His declared income is less than $1,200 but the perks add up......so good meh?

It is the comm, even if 5 or 2 cents per mt or bbl it all add up.

Guess his boss or higher up has taken the bigger share.

Commodities trading does make big buck, but pretty hard to break in.