• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Doing the right thing more important than winning votes: Lim Swee Say

limsweesay-jpg_042925.jpg

“I (would) rather be voted out for trying to do the right things which may be unpopular, than to be voted in by people for doing the wrong things,” he said, as reported by mypaper.

Using the European debt crisis as an example, Lim said that leaders in Greece and Spain chose to lower taxes while increasing public spending, hence the crisis.

Earlier in April this year, Lim – who is also the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) secretary-general -- shot down the wage shock therapy proposal put forth by economist and former chair of the National Wages Council, Lim Chong Yah.

Lim said that leaders in Greece and Spain chose to lower taxes while increasing public spending.

take a look at greece income tax and sinkie land income tax :
€12,000 - €16,000 18.00%
€16,000 - €22,000 24.00%
€22,000 - €26,000 26.00%
€26,000 - €32,000 32.00%
€32,000 - €40,000 36.00%
€40,000 - €60,000 38.00%
€60,000 - €100,000 40.00%
€100,000 and up 45.00%

First $20,000 $0
Next $10,000 $200
First $30,000 $200
Next $10,000 3.5%

First $40,000 $550
Next $40,000 - 7%
First $80,000 $3350
Next $40,000 11.5%

First $120,000 $7950
Next $ 40,000 15%
First $160,000 $13950
Next $ 40,000 17%

First $200,000 $20750
Next $120,000 -21%
First $320,000 $42350
Above $320,000 20%

today's rate 1 EUR = 1.54860 SGD ; one year ago average 1.7308
the greeks paid more tax than sinkies. expecially their top earners.
so it is not true that greek gov lower the taxes.
one very important cause of greek problem is that the greeks are expert tax evaders.
finance ministry has revealed that 4,151 Greeks owe €14.9bn the government.

Top 10 Countries With the Most Debt 2011-2012!
1. United States - Debt in US Dollars $14,825,163,000,000
2. United Kingdom - Debt in US Dollars $8,981,000,000,000
3. Germany - Debt in US Dollars $4,713,000,000,000
4. France - Debt in US Dollars $4,698,000,000,000
5. Japan - Debt in US Dollars $2,441,000,000,000
6. Ireland - Debt in US Dollars $2,378,000,000,000
7. The Netherlands - Debt in US Dollars $2,344,296,360,000
8. Italy - Debt in US Dollars $2,223,000,000,000
9. Spain - Debt in US Dollars $2,166,000,000,000
10. Luxembourg - Debt in US Dollars $1,892,000,000,000

debt as a $ of GDP -
8 Italy Debt as percent of GDP: 118.1
9 Singapore Debt as percent of GDP: 102.4
10 Belgium Debt as percent of GDP: 98.6

5 Greece Debt as percent of GDP: 144
3 Lebanon Debt as percent of GDP: 150.7
1 Japan Debt as percent of GDP: 225.8

there are many countries worst than greece , simply plain bullshit using greece as an example to justified the low welfare spending and low workers wage here.

greece falls is largely due to corruption.
it is plagued by corruption and backdoor arrangements between friends

this is the cause of greece crisis , not welfare system

In 1981 Greece joined the then European Community. By then the drachma was by far Europe’s oldest currency, having been used for more than 2,500 years. Yet Greece replaced its currency – like Italy – without any special preparation.

To make matters worse, in the first seven years of the third Hellenic Republic, established in 1974 just after the era of the military Junta, the then government signed a number of foreign contracts of dubious nature comprising the release of interests such as the Aegean oil fields (worth of 600 billion Euros), the Ionian sea gas fields (Shell) and the gold in Epirus (European Goldfields Ltd). No one really knows the exact details of such contracts, but at a stroke very large and lucrative assets were removed from the economy. Similarly, the precise conditions of the old Germany/Greece war debt continued to be in place, as well as being unclear.

The creation of a very large and artificially inflated government structure fostered political patronage and deeply affected the population’s perspective on employment prospects. It was every Greek’s ambition to gain a safe government post, where they could work as untouchable civil servants, with very good prospects in terms of conditions and pension.

LSS is contradicting himself and LKY. He says it's the right thing not be populist with high wage policy. But he supported ministerial payrise and said himself feeling very rich. He now says winning election isn't important. But LKY always says every election is important and every PAP candidate must contest with full force.

We can see how valued he is, seeing that he is a minister with no portfolio.

Shit Say is a high-class eunuch of the dragon king who does things to amuse the court like dressing up as zorro, talking like a person who did not pass his PSLE...etc... This moron is a drain on taxpayers' money and the sooner he farks off, the better for all. Let us all vote the MF out in 2016 and let's see if he can earn a million outside.

Yes, Shit Sway is the court jester. I guess the clown prince and the emperor keeps him around because they get a good laugh out of his comments.

I increased the pay of my staff after they upgraded because they are more productive. Not just me but many others as well.
Singkes pay get higher and higher my dear, are you blind?

Stop telling lies. U are implying that u have a staff under u and u are their employer? Do you have a staff of cockroaches, because that's about all you can manage?

You are living in an unreal world bro. Wake up and start working hard!

For a person of his calibre, probably retire as a Senior Manager in some SME. Outside civil service, zorro is ZERO.

Outside the govt., Shit Say would have jumped from the nearest HDB block long ago. He would have spend years looking for a low paying job and not finding one, and in the end with debts, a nagging wife, demanding kids, and all that, he would have ended his life. So, u see, being a minister and sucking up our money actually saved his life.

1. aiyoh!
2. just "talk-only" specimen cmi in the real world.
3. however, such inner-circle material shall be quaranteed lifelong employment leh.
4. advisor here, consultant there!

1. aiyoh!
2. just "talk-only" specimen cmi in the real world.
3. however, such inner-circle material shall be quaranteed lifelong employment leh.
4. advisor here, consultant there!

Yep, I don't know who's lancheow he had to suck to getthis kind of guaranteed iron rice bowl for himself and his family. Must be nice to be a PAP faggot,