• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do you Look at the obituaries' page daiLy..

Re: Bore And Taboo

keep their friends and ex colleagues posted

Another observation - Indians love to include where they worked previously. For instance, they would highlight ex-PSA, ex-Telecoms, ex-this and that. Why?

so their ex-colleagues who are also their drinking buddies can turn up at the funeral & offer one last drink for the road.

I look in the orbituaries everyday to see whether Lee Kuan Yew die yet. But still dissapointed every day. This cocksucker is still failing me by refusing to die.

No one knows when that day may come when ST is going to offer discounts for those to register as earLy birds..
:eek::)

is it possible to book in advance? this is a serious question

Well, it's pretty much a certainty, so if you want an obituary and there's no expiry date, why not?

I don't plan on having an obituary.
If I know I'm dying, I'll tell whoever I want to know. All others can find out some other way.
If I don't know, they can all find out some other way.

no one can really know when one is going to die. i could die tomorrow, by suicide, OR
i could just drop dead, or get hit by a truck or bus

Another observation - Indians love to include where they worked previously. For instance, they would highlight ex-PSA, ex-Telecoms, ex-this and that. Why?

ive seen that too, i find it hilarious that one has to remind people who you are, or remind people of your work "achievements"

When the person I wish dead died, it will not be on the obituaries but on the front page big big on Shitty Times.

I tot it was a taboo to be reading such ... it's not something to look forward to actually. Whenever I see this section, I 'syum' to financial section or something more positive.

No need to siam lah. When your time comes, Siam bei kee .

ive seen that too, i find it hilarious that one has to remind people who you are, or remind people of your work "achievements"

maybe thats to help readers to connect who the deceased was. Eg, u had a colleague 40 yrs ago when he was young. Now, he's old and dead so U might not be too sure if thats the same person. Just my guess..

I looked at these pages in my late 40s. Sometimes, get a shock or two when familiar faces up lorry.

eh boss ... you jialat leh ...
limpeh only hunt the live one , you hunt dead apu neh neh ... :eek:

ProbabLy once you are cLoser to to that haLf century mark, chances are that you'd start to take more notice of these pages; dont you ?...:eek::D

read somewhere that on 21 dec this year, it will be the end of the world. so i guess the business for obituaries pages will be good.

I look at the front page and wait for news flash daily for THAT piece of good news.

KNN, someone said that will happen last month, but don't have also.

eh boss ... you jialat leh ...
limpeh only hunt the live one , you hunt dead apu neh neh ... :eek:

Hahahahaaaa............. Must maximise resources. Pointless for us both to cover the same area. I thought since you are doing great on those alive, I cover the dead for you. Good day, mate.

good day boss ! jus wake up hoh !! :D

maybe thats to help readers to connect who the deceased was. Eg, u had a colleague 40 yrs ago when he was young. Now, he's old and dead so U might not be too sure if thats the same person. Just my guess..

Your observation isn't wrong. But I am puzzled why the non-Indians do not include that in the obituaries. Surely they also have colleagues 40 years ago.

I note Chinese love BBM, PBM etc etc. I mean mati liao, title can bring over to next destination?

Malays bestest! Nothing 'extra' to add.

good day boss ! jus wake up hoh !! :D

Me too - just got up. Btw, we aren't PMO. Can't afford to. PMO can have many chobolans doing the same thing or doing FO. And they get paid well.

boss i rather be that panda ! :D

That's the only page I scrutinise and read closely in the Shitty Times sincasionally, since I was in primary school. Occasionally, you'll get to see some comical names. Examples :

1. Lee Kum Lan
2. Tew Hai
3. Mah Poo Kee
4. Teoh Kan
5. Benedict Lee Kee Seow
6. Boh Kah Chen

I look at the front page and wait for news flash daily for THAT piece of good news.

KNN, someone said that will happen last month, but don't have also.

Was told close to National Day, bookies were confident no good news to offer. Even win 30 for each 100, bookies also makan.

ProbabLy once you are cLoser to to that haLf century mark, chances are that you'd start to take more notice of these pages; dont you ?...:eek::D

lianbeng remembered some people posted themselves in orbituary even while still alive and kana charged!:D