• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do you Look at the obituaries' page daiLy..

Fishypie

ProbabLy once you are cLoser to to that haLf century mark, chances are that you'd start to take more notice of these pages; dont you ?...:eek::D

I do that from time to time. It's as entertaining as the comic section.

Just a glance and you can tell who's rich and who's not, who's of religion A and who's of religion B, who has had a fucked up life and who has had a charmed life etc.

when you're young it's out of morbid fascination, when you're older it's becos you kaypoh to see who's related, when you're old it's becos you've gone senile, suffering from alzheimer's or nobody told you you're DEAD:eek:

ProbabLy once you are cLoser to to that haLf century mark, chances are that you'd start to take more notice of these pages; dont you ?...:eek::D

I have been reading the obituaries since I was young, you find funny names, you read some out live, almost everybody, guessing why some leave their spouses name out, even they are married...some elaborate , some simple eulogy...some 72, but photo when they were sweet 21... different religion, different page display, those with quotations from the bible, you can tell the different from RC & the rest, RC very found of Psalm 23, but times have changed they quote from other passages too, but their Christian Names too you can tell ...I use to giggle at those with funny name, especially if you have to call on the phone for that person...try calling a 82 year old with a name like BABY..for example.. photographs of clothing & hairstyles, spectacles show which era they are from...and so forth..an interesting look at humanity...if you find yours in the obituary..please pinch yourself!! :D

Wow..seems you are one of the sitting members from our NationaL Heritage Board..;)

Everything is funny as long as it is happening to someone else.... - Will Rogers

There was once when I was younger, I saw many of my friends photos appeared in the obituaries.
Haven't seen them for quite some time but suddenly see them in this section. So already I know, life is too short, no need to bother too much just about anything.

[video=youtube;FSKOMsObq84]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FSKOMsObq84[/video]

No one knows when that day may come when ST is going to offer discounts for those to register as earLy birds..
:eek::)

No one knows when that day may come when ST is going to offer discounts for those to register as earLy birds..
:eek::)

You mean you know when you are going? so you book in advance! wow!:D

Bore And Taboo

I have been reading the obituaries since I was young, you find funny names, you read some out live, almost everybody, guessing why some leave their spouses name out, even they are married...some elaborate , some simple eulogy...some 72, but photo when they were sweet 21... different religion, different page display, those with quotations from the bible, you can tell the different from RC & the rest, RC very found of Psalm 23

I tot it was a taboo to be reading such ... it's not something to look forward to actually. Whenever I see this section, I 'syum' to financial section or something more positive.

You mean you know when you are going? so you book in advance! wow!:D

Well, it's pretty much a certainty, so if you want an obituary and there's no expiry date, why not?

I don't plan on having an obituary.
If I know I'm dying, I'll tell whoever I want to know. All others can find out some other way.
If I don't know, they can all find out some other way.

Re: Bore And Taboo

I tot it was a taboo to be reading such ... it's not something to look forward to actually. Whenever I see this section, I 'syum' to financial section or something more positive.

I find it amazing that you of all forummers, think this way.
Do you make it a point to wear your lucky red underwear everyday too?

Superstitious. I bet you're one of those Sinkies who makes a detour to siam a void deck when there's a funeral wake.

The Wise Will Avoid Unnecessary Stuff

Superstitious. I bet you're one of those Sinkies who makes a detour to siam a void deck when there's a funeral wake.

It's wiser. ;) Nothing to benefit anyway. Unless it has something interesting to entice me to see - like a white lion dance or a Taiwanese 'chio bu' singing in the wake.

Superstitious ? Atheistic fools will say that. Ghosts are proven.

I do that from time to time. It's as entertaining as the comic section.

Just a glance and you can tell who's rich and who's not, who's of religion A and who's of religion B, who has had a fucked up life and who has had a charmed life etc.

wah. this kind of things you also can see so many things?

from one small section of ads?

tuah pow sian boh?

I find it amazing that you of all forummers, think this way.
Do you make it a point to wear your lucky red underwear everyday too?

Ugly portraits is the problem. Most of them are old. Chio ones maybe I'll cut it out. :D

The only read to find out if our friends, neighnours or even classmates etc.. have pass on.

I looked at these pages in my late 40s. Sometimes, get a shock or two when familiar faces up lorry.

Another observation - Indians love to include where they worked previously. For instance, they would highlight ex-PSA, ex-Telecoms, ex-this and that. Why?