• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Desa Tebrau

malpaso

Singapore is too expensive and crowded for me. Planning to retire in JB. Hope to drive around to explore more and enjoy more authentic food.

I can't do that in Singapore with car ownership so expensive, roads so congested and parking so tough. Food wise it is getting more difficult to enjoy as hawkers and restaurants cut cost by using cheaper substitutes and lots of seasoning to cover the lack of original good ingredients.

Best period of Singapore in 1980s and early 1990s are over.

so malaysia is about cheaper house (maybe no longer after the new ruling, so can cancel that from the list), freehold car, can smoke anywhere one likes, cheaper chinese food.
thanks for confirming that for me. :smile:

potter

Freehold car also must buy power one..can cruise up to Genting. :biggrin:

tat y ppl should appreciate they're able to buy a FH hse here, b4 e new policy.

FHBH12

so malaysia is about cheaper house (maybe no longer after the new ruling, so can cancel that from the list), freehold car, can smoke anywhere one likes, cheaper chinese food.
thanks for confirming that for me. :smile:

Landed properties are still very cheap at $1 mil RM. I really don't mind the $1 mil RM threshold as it will be thrashed by local buyers, investors and developers in Iskandar very soon. Next time low income locals will be staying at HDB style affordable houses, just like Singaporeans staying in HDB while foreigners staying in D9-D10 condos.

RedsYNWA

akcherly i remmber perling used to be a lot of local chinese moving there in 80s... recently i tot i saw quite a lot of chinese shop and people there?? am i mistaken?

Yes, the Perling areas I went to are Chinese dominated areas. However, the fact that our SG Malay bros have swept up D'Serambi front row, seem to suggest that they have relatives/friends staying around the area.

If you are looking to invest in another unit for gd, cheap Chinese food near 1st link, then I think Molek/Austin/Desa Tebrau are the best bets, being near to Johor Jaya. That is if you do not want to relive the Tun Aminah days......haha

RedsYNWA

Just Senibong Cove alone finds no comparable developments in Bukit Timah in beauty and environment, not to talk about including Puteri Harbour and other many other magnificent real estate developments around JB and along the coastal stretch of Johore Straits. It's beyond comparison really!

Actually there's 1 place in SG that beats all that JB/KL can offer. Sentosa Cove! It feels like you are transported to the waterways of Sydney/Melb.... So overall, If one is filthy rich, which many aren't, SG (esp Sentosa Cove) is the best place to retire. Just ask Tan Cheng Bock or Kong Hee......hahahaha

FHBH12

Actually there's 1 place in SG that beats all that JB/KL can offer. Sentosa Cove! It feels like you are transported to the waterways of Sydney/Melb.... So overall, If one is filthy rich, which many aren't, SG (esp Sentosa Cove) is the best place to retire. Just ask Tan Cheng Bock or Kong Hee......hahahaha

Tan Cheng Bock is a nice guy. Sentosa Cove is 99LH leh. I want my properties to pass down to the next generation. FH or 999LH for me.

FHBH12

Yes, the Perling areas I went to are Chinese dominated areas. However, the fact that our SG Malay bros have swept up D'Serambi front row, seem to suggest that they have relatives/friends staying around the area.

If you are looking to invest in another unit for gd, cheap Chinese food near 1st link, then I think Molek/Austin/Desa Tebrau are the best bets, being near to Johor Jaya. That is if you do not want to relive the Tun Aminah days......haha

I saw more shops opening at the new shoplots at Desa Tebrau. The area is definitely getting better.

malpaso

as i recently jalan jalan perling, noticed a lot of chinese makan shops. i almost 100% confirm wont buy another in jb.. i even less optimistic now with the latest policy change.. i think it stinks, even though obviously i not affected yet. even then i prefer kl if i can find a value for money property there.

but can still kaypo around for fun. hehe.ya, don't like tun aminah..

rainbow

ummm.. who? me? sorry, bro.. i thought discussion over.
yup. i prefer singapore, hands down. only it's too expensive. to each his own la, different people have different taste.
next to that i prefer KL. but it's also exp already.
jb is third choice. but my future house is 30km from my present apartment. OK la. not a bad plan.
btw u bot in nusajaya side? BI arrh?

I bought a bungalow with 10'000 sf of land at Taman Kebun Teh, a place where many of the old money of JB stay. (Sorry, a bit of promotion for the Estate). The whole place only has roughly less than 100 units of houses, about 90% bungalows and 10% Semi-Ds. Many have already been rebuilt into beautiful brand new bungalows now. Don't just buy new developments from developers. There are still many gems in the secondary market, where prices sometimes can be extremely lower, because JB property market, especially secondary market is what economists describe as "inefficient"

malpaso

I bought a bungalow with 10'000 sf of land at Taman Kebun Teh, a place where many of the old money of JB stay. (Sorry, a bit of promotion for the Estate). The whole place only has roughly less than 100 units of houses, about 90% bungalows and 10% Semi-Ds. Many have already been rebuilt into beautiful brand new bungalows now. Don't just buy new developments from developers. There are still many gems in the secondary market, where prices sometimes can be extremely lower, because JB property market, especially secondary market is what economists describe as "inefficient"

oh yah i remember your post about kebun teh. this almost 99% confirm you malaysian or ex- malaysian, tio bo? \. i saw some houses at perling recently (jln undan) the estate looks nice, well maintained. obviously no G&G , but not major issue if family staying, esp bigger family with a few guys. i totally agree your post. older houses are good value for money.

rainbow

oh yah i remember your post about kebun teh. this almost 99% confirm you malaysian or ex- malaysian, tio bo? \. i saw some houses at perling recently (jln undan) the estate looks nice, well maintained. obviously no G&G , but not major issue if family staying, esp bigger family with a few guys. i totally agree your post. older houses are good value for money.

Met up with the Chairman of the residents' committee 2 weeks ago who stays across my house, (A little promotion again, sorry) whose 2 sons are working in S'pore as a medical specialist and research doctorate, and a daughter in Australia as a medical doctor, and another son as an Investment Banker in New York. This warm and friendly guy also rattled to me other neighbours who are old prominent professionals in JB. He is planning at gating up the neighbourhood which has only two exits to the main roads; one connecting to Jln Kebun Teh, and another to Tebrau Highway. The locality is only 5 minutes' drive away from CIQ and JB City Centre. Many Singaporeans unfortunately overlook some very attractive secondary market properties due to developers' aggressive marketing launches back home!

malpaso

Met up with the Chairman of the residents' committee 2 weeks ago who stays across my house, (A little promotion again, sorry) whose 2 sons are working in S'pore as a medical specialist and research doctorate, and a daughter in Australia as a medical doctor, and another son as an Investment Banker in New York. This warm and friendly guy also rattled to me other neighbours who are old prominent professionals in JB. He is planning at gating up the neighbourhood which has only two exits to the main roads; one connecting to Jln Kebun Teh, and another to Tebrau Highway. The locality is only 5 minutes' drive away from CIQ and JB City Centre. Many Singaporeans unfortunately overlook some very attractive secondary market properties due to developers' aggressive marketing launches back home!

no la, must understand.. singaporeans not comfortable with non gated & guarded. in a way i understand also. it's not like we all, used to grow up in taman, where got G&G last time. still ok, what. never kena rompak. singaporean malays maybe are more used to landed living in jb (non G&G type). if you're singaporean chinese, then you're a bit different.

FHBH12

no la, must understand.. singaporeans not comfortable with non gated & guarded. in a way i understand also. it's not like we all, used to grow up in taman, where got G&G last time. still ok, what. never kena rompak. singaporean malays maybe are more used to landed living in jb (non G&G type). if you're singaporean chinese, then you're a bit different.

I have seen enough horror youtubes of thieves pouncing on owners outside their houses or climbing into the houses to burglar. No G&G no talk for me.

malpaso

I have seen enough horror youtubes of thieves pouncing on owners outside their houses or climbing into the houses to burglar. No G&G no talk for me.

i understand. i also bought g&g. double gate some more.
but seriously speaking, if family is big, have 2-3 men in house , and crucially, house is occupied (not weekender or part time occupied) it's no issue for non g&g. must look at neighbourhood, too. there's where local knowledge comes in.

rainbow

Have to look at each estate individually. Taman Kebun Teh is a relatively small estate with about less than 100 units of houses, mainly bungalows. It's quite easy to gate it up and each family needs to contribute only a small sum each to secure the whole place and the neighbours will be more than happy to do that as it is not just for security, it will greatly enhance the value as well. Besides the normal guards at the two guardposts, I am even thinking of having a third guard after dark till day break and provide him with a nice & good multi-geared bike to cycle around the neighbourhood regularly. And neighbours who return home late can verify of the regular surveillance. That should be fairly safe already, shouldn't it? Unless you want to put 2 tanks each at the guardposts-- just joking!

Should get involved a little bit. I read & herad so much from S'poreans about poor maintenance of estates after some time. Sit in the Management Committee, especially if you are going to stay there. It's all contracted to property management co anyway to manage just like in S'pore, and all you need is be involved and spent 1 or 2 hrs per month or bi-monthly in the committee meeting making sure the property mgt co is doing a good job, and no hanky panky going on. I believe many of the investors from S'pore are professionals in their own right. This mgt committee thing is a piece of cake to them. Do bring in the kiasu & kiasi principles to the mgt committee (just joking for good fun). It will do a lot of good to the quality of maintenance . If you have already or plan to plonk in a million or a couple of million ringgit in the property, it's definitely well worth it to spend 1 or 2 hrs p.m or every 2 months enhancing the value of your investment.

RedsYNWA

i understand. i also bought g&g. double gate some more.
but seriously speaking, if family is big, have 2-3 men in house , and crucially, house is occupied (not weekender or part time occupied) it's no issue for non g&g. must look at neighbourhood, too. there's where local knowledge comes in.

My wife's side stayed for more than 20 years in non G&G without break-in. However G&G does have its advantages. When you come back into the house, you no wonder need to turn your eyes left & right to check out any suspicious vehicles which are trailing your car, or waiting by the roadside. You can also take a walk around the G&G compound without fear of robbery.

For the more prestigious G&G, your neighbours are also more atas (though not necessarily more friendly). Of course, G&G comes with a price premium and it comes down to finding the right balance.

Organic

Is it ok to go JB with passport 5 months to expiry?

I ever did enter Malaysia with passport valid for five months plus. Got reminded on my first entry and second time they wrote a note on my passport to show they did remind me and that I shouldn't enter again without a new one :p