Denmark - same population and way more space but still can't match Singapore's outstanding performance!

Despite having a similar population and far more space than Singapore. (43,000sqkm vs Singapore's 700sqkm) Singapore has still done a much better job in keeping the case count and the deaths as low as possibe.

Denmark has more than double the number of cases and 28 times the number of deaths.

This shows just how well the PAP is doing compared to the rest of the world and I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Lee and his team for doing such an excellent job in keeping us safe and secure.

The fact that Singapore has huge reserves also means that Singapore does not have to worry about the future because the government can easily restart the economy in no time at all.

Now is a good time to be a Singaporean. All that the government needs to do now is to lift the lockdown. It does nothing to help.

Denmark
> Measure:
Early full closure of institutions and shutting borders
> COVID-19 confirmed cases: 6,318
> COVID-19 related deaths: 285
> Population: 5.8 million

Denmark took swift action to address the spread of COVID-19. On March 11, the Danes limited assembly to no more than 10 people, shuttered libraries, schools, gyms, salons, and restaurants. Denmark was also one of the first European countries to close all of its public schools and its border, doing so on March 14. The Scandinavian nation banned all festivals until September.

Denmark’s Prime Minister Mette Fredericksen credited her nation’s success to fighting the outbreak with its willingness to unite to address the crisis, including practicing self-isolation. Danes approve of the government’s handling of the crisis, with 86% supporting Denmark’s measures, according to one poll. Most restrictions will remain in place until May 10, when the government is set to take another look at the protocols in place.

Singapore's case fatality rate is 10/3252 = 0.3%.

Denmark's case fatality rate is 285/6318 = 4.5%

I know which country I'd rather be in now in order to stay safe.

Tia going the Singapore ICU doctors are DAMN KILAT!!!!!

That's why sinkies who complain are sinkie doctors.....you guys damn ungrateful. And you dont realise how good your Singapore doctors are! Extremely well trained very experienced very smart and very good.

Stop complaining about the doctors!

You want to complain about how expensive and how there is no universal healthcare, and all $$$$ that one go kpkb to PAP.

Your doctors are there to serve you and treat you well. And they deserve to be paid what they are worth!!!!

That's why sinkies who complain are sinkie doctors.....you guys damn ungrateful. And you dont realise how good your Singapore doctors are! Extremely well trained very experienced very smart and very good.

You want to complain about how expensive and how there is no universal healthcare, and all $$$$ that one go kpkb to PAP.

Your doctors are there to serve you and treat you well. And they deserve to be paid what they are worth!!!!

These oppo loonies are the most unappreciative bunch of twits in the whole wide world. They don't know how lucky they are to be Singaporeans.

If they think other countries like Taiwan and HK are better than their homeland why don't they fuck off and live there for a few years and they'll realise just how good Singapore is.

These oppo loonies are the most unappreciative bunch of twits in the whole wide world. They don't know how lucky they are to be Singaporeans.

If they think other countries like Taiwan and HK are better than their homeland why don't they fuck off and live there for a few years and they'll realise just how good Singapore is.

The problem I had with Singapore is the lack of space. And the hot weather. And the ungrateful complaining average man on the street.

All things that I cannot change. Hence I fucked off to Canada. LOL!

Over here there is plenty of space. Cold weather or cool weather. And the people are generally caring and nice. Less high strung.

The problem I had with Singapore is the lack of space. And the hot weather. And the ungrateful complaining average man on the street.

All things that I cannot change. Hence I fucked off to Canada. LOL!

Over here there is plenty of space. Cold weather or cool weather. And the people are generally caring and nice. Less high strung.

Never miss the local food ? Though sinkies are haolian, kaykiang but you do miss us somehow, no ? I love the kampung Minah of my era they're fit and tough not like the rest of the races girls, soft... and they don't ask you for money money all the time. All i need is serenade them with my Guitar and my long hair and rugged jeans......

My first gf was Minah when i take her out she would kiss the papa hand but later they want to cut my skin i was young and scared i ran .... i scoot. /rofl

Never miss the local food ? Though sinkies are haolian, kaykiang but you do miss us somehow, no ? I love the kampung Minah of my era they're fit and tough not like the rest of the races girls, soft... and they don't ask you for money money all the time.

My first gf was Minah when i take her out she would kiss the papa hand but later they want to cut my skin i was young and scared i ran .... i scoot. /rofl

No I dont miss the local food. Partly because my wife can cook the cuisine. When we went back in 2015 and sampled the so called "local food" it tasted like crap! Super oily. Unhealthy. You cant taste the ingredients. Just the stupid chili. WTF?

I do not miss it at all. Very seriously. I do miss talking to 2 of my medical school classmates that were close to me and one other secondary 4 classmate. Other than that I do not keep up with any "friends" there at all.

Never miss the local food ? Though sinkies are haolian, kaykiang but you do miss us somehow, no ? I love the kampung Minah of my era they're fit and tough not like the rest of the races girls, soft... and they don't ask you for money money all the time. All i need is serenade them with my Guitar and my long hair and rugged jeans......

Honestly the food is overrated. Laksa, Mee Siam (mai hum), Char Kway Teow etc all available and way better than most places in Singapore.

If I'm lazy I go to Paparich everything is authentic.

If we do the dish at home it is even better. Ingredients are all readily available.

However now that I know the recipies Singapore favorites are done only for special occasions. The amount of sugar and salt and fat needed to make it taste good is horrifying. No wonder Singapore has a type 2 diabetes problem and clogged arteries are the rule rather than the exception.

Well said...she must be your hero and wat u hope to achieve. To be paid your weight in gold.

Dr Susan Lim's lawyer scores 'own goal'
Invalid Date
SINGAPORE - Balls were bounced about in the warm, stuffy court room that was 3B yesterday.

Over 20 members of the public had packed the public gallery since 2pm. Extra benches had to be brought in.

The crowd grew restless waiting as the hearing did not start till 5pm. But most stayed to the end to hear the case which has gripped their imagination.

They were not disappointed. Instead of a long, arduous session, they were hit left and right by sporting analogies.

Was it a "technical knockout" or a "slam dunk", the justice asked? No, no. It's more like an own goal, the senior counsel argued.

Wah, NBA (National Basketball Association) and EPL (English Premier League)? The crowd tittered.

They had come to watch the case of Dr Susan Lim, a private surgeon, who is fighting the Singapore Medical Council's (SMC) decision to appoint a second disciplinary committee to investigate an accusation by the Health Ministry here that she overcharged her Brunei patient, Pengiran Anak Hajah Damit.

Her bill for services over a five-month period from Jan 15 to June 16, 2007 came to $26 million (with GST).

Royal patient

Dr Lim's patient, the younger sister of the Queen of Brunei and cousin of the Sultan, had breast cancer. She died in August 2007. The Bruneians paid all Dr Lim's bills up to March 2007.

After the patient died, Dr Lim was queried on the rest of the 2007 bill.

Yesterday, due to some discussion in chambers, the court hearing did not start until past 5pm.

Among those in the public gallery was Mr Deepak Sharma, Dr Lim's banker husband, and a journalist from The Brunei Times, who had flown here to cover the case.

She said that the case had become a talking point back home.

During the hearing, Dr Lim's lawyer, Senior Counsel Lee Eng Beng , tried to admit the affidavits from five doctors in court yesterday to support her case.

The doctors were witnesses for the SMC's first disciplinary committee.

In the affidavits, they spoke glowingly of how much Dr Susan Lim's royal patient trusted her and how she would not proceed with any treatment without Dr Lim's clearance.

They also said that they did not feel cheated or deceived by Dr Lim's invoices, which were presented as marked-up versions of their original bills, some of them marked up by hundreds of times.

The doctors also said that their bills were for their work and Dr Lim's bills were for her work.

One doctor's affidavit referred to Dr Lim as the patient's "main port of call".

Another affidavit, by Dr Chan Tiong Beng, a respiratory physician, referred to himself as "like a sub-contractor" and Dr Lim as the "main contractor".

Mr Lee said the affidavits support "their case of irrationality", that it was irrational for the SMC to pursue the matter any further with a second disciplinary committee.

Justice Philip Pillai then asked whether these affidavits were a "technical knockout" or a "slam dunk" for Dr Lim's case.

Senior Counsel Alvin Yeo, for the SMC, then used another sporting analogy and said it was like "an own goal".

The doctors were not the ones being asked to pay the mark-up, so why should they feel cheated, he asked.

He proceeded to go through each affidavit to show that not only did Dr Lim mark up these doctors' bills, she had also sent bills of her own to the Brunei High Commission, over the same period of treatment.

He said it was misleading to paint a picture that it's not really a mark-up because she was billing for her own work.

"She slaps on an extra charge and presents it as if it was for the third party doctor's work... while at the same time, she would bill the patient an additional or separate amount for her own work," said Mr Yeo.

He said the most "egregious" example was with relation to Dr Chan, who had charged $9,553.70 for his services over nine days in May 2006.

Unreasonable?

Dr Lim then sent a bill of $401,900 to the Brunei High Commission, presented as Dr Chan's bill, and a separate bill for her own services, over the same period of time for $1.966 million. (See table below.)

Mr Yeo said the question before the court is whether it is so unreasonable for this case to be referred to a disciplinary committee for inquiry.

He said: "It is my respectful submission that the evidence is so clear that there is a case to answer, and there is no way that one can say it's unreasonable to refer the matter to a disciplinary committee."

He said that if Dr Lim is innocent, she would be acquitted by the disciplinary committee and come out of this "smelling of roses".

"Instead, she comes to court to subvert the process. With respect, the five affidavits have been put forward, in a measure of desperation, in the midst of this hearing and it doesn't make her behaviour any more reasonable," said Mr Yeo, who added that he did not think the affidavits were worth very much.

Justice Pillai did not make a decision on whether the affidavits would be admitted.

The hearing continues today.

This article was first published in The New Paper.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER
Your daily good stuff - AsiaOne stories delivered straight to your inbox
SUBSCRIBE
Read More

North Korea has zero fatality why not go there? :cautious:

It's a closed commie state whereas Singapore is a vibrant community run by the best government there is.

Think our government slipped in missing out banglas. The rule of curbing infection covid or not is to avoid overcrowding. The dorms are time bombs waiting to happen. The other one are the rental flats cluster. You see those uncles and oldies walking and clustering.
All these while the dorms are built to be chicken coops and now when the situation is spreading like wildfire you try to segregate them it’s a race against time.
Since they closed terminal 2. I say shift the whole lot there and let them simmer. There is plenty of space there.

Think our government slipped in missing out banglas. The rule of curbing infection covid or not is to avoid overcrowding. The dorms are time bombs waiting to happen. The other one are the rental flats cluster. You see those uncles and oldies walking and clustering.
All these while the dorms are built to be chicken coops and now when the situation is spreading like wildfire you try to segregate them it’s a race against time.
Since they closed terminal 2. I say shift the whole lot there and let them simmer. There is plenty of space there.

They're all young and the deaths from dorms should be minimal. If you look at the worst hit country in Europe the deaths in the below 40 age group were minuscule. H1N1 was far worse for the younger generation.

I regretted everyday of my 15 years for quitting to a 3rd world corruption infested country and its too late for me now to get back to clean, beautiful and safe Singapore.

Yeah me too. If I wasn't facing arrest upon my return I'd be back on the first available flight.

you can regret a little less... Singapore 15 years ago was awesome, now it's overpriced and overcrowded and a lot of the old Singapore flavour is no longer there. Just a bunch of expats from all over in most places. The atmosphere is quite different now. I think we were talking about fishball noodles? All that stuff is gone or no longer the same.