• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CPIB assistant director charged with fraud, S$1.7m

Troll

Circumstances change and someone who was once a pillar of integrity can go off the rails for a variety of reasons... failed relationships, health issues and so on.

It's one person and he is being dealt with. No system guarantees that everyone is perfect. What is far more important is the fact that once his misdeeds came to light, he was dealt with accordingly.

The way the Singapore government deals with corruption within its own ranks reinforces my faith in the system. Well done Mr Lee. I am proud of you and I'm sure the majority of Singaporeans share my view.

Sam, stop making hollow excuses for the public institutions of a country which you don't live in anymore. There had been many fails lately, from sex corruption cases, to murder case, and the now fraud in of all places CPIB, all these have taken its toll on people's confidence in our public institutions.

One has to be either mentally defective or monumentally daft to continue to have unquestioned faith and unreserved praises for the government in the light of so many fails. No matter who is governing the country, we owe it to our future generations to be skeptical and question everything.

Sam, it is well known that you don't live here, why should it matter to you? And why should people even buy what you say?

Kuailan

Those 20 or so Brompton Bike confiscated by CPIB now in stored in Warehouse to rot
and rust. Rather than let the National Park staff use for their work at PCN.

Thereafter 3 years put up for sale/tender at Karang Guni price $50.00 each because
all parts rot and rusty!

hurley

QTs9Kto.png

energizer_spit.jpg

We have to admire Lee Kuan Yew, who kept SINgapore corruption free, however we may not like him, at least , 'things that are unseen, remain unseen' but we can surely say, we are corruption free. But, what comes after him...we can not be sure anymore...worry now, for our CPF money.

I_hv_adream

Top pillar not straight bottom pillar crooked.
Now you know why LHL and his minions will never get CPIB involved to investigate that AIM case.

No, top pillar complaining money no enough what about those bottom one???

I think it happen after Minister had their pay cut so only solution is to increase all public service personal pay!!!

spotter542

Instead of paying Lim Xia Suay millions , should we pay him in toothpicks ? :rolleyes:
When he sees his monthly CPF statement , he will not be that happy
:oIo:

All I will say on this matter is:

Stop saying the Singapore pledge. I don't care if you're in school, working in a public institution, a NS conscript roped into a NDP observance parade etc.

You can start on this upcoming 9th of August.

Why should you refuse to say the pledge? Because everything opposite of the words of the pledge is happening to Singapore. Why go through the motions of showboating patriotism and recite a bunch of lies over and over again? Just because someone else demands that you do so?

In Japan, students have the right to not stand up and sing the national anthem because of its imperialistic connotations.

I_Hate_Pappies

just 1.7 million and need to go to jail...

not a lot of money what.. it is not like 170 million..

oh wait.. it's a sinkie, that is why..

Master, those makan kancang puteh ones easily get caught but those makan big time times are above the law in Sinkieland.

Sam, it is well known that you don't live here, why should it matter to you? And why should people even buy what you say?

I'm simply pointing out that this sort of thing happens everyone including countries which are ranked excellently on the corruption index scale.

Those who live in Singapore have this impression that the country is going to the dogs but this isn't the case. It's merely a perception because the internet tends to amplify such matters nowadays with the constant chatter and apparent glee whenever the Singapore govt is shown in bad light.

NZ always ranks highly but take a look at what public perceptions are :

Shock at NZ corruption level

Home » News » National
By NZPA on Fri, 10 Dec 2010News: National

A global survey has revealed an "alarming" level of corruption in New Zealand, with 4% of respondents admitting to paying a bribe in the past year.

Transparency International's (TI) 2010 survey also showed that 73% New Zealanders thought corruption had increased over the past three years.

The level of bribery uncovered in the survey was significantly worse than countries we usually compare well against, with 2% of Australian respondents admitting to paying a bribe in the past year and 1% percent of Britons.

No respondents in Denmark admitted to paying a bribe.

The results of the Global Corruption Barometer were in stark contrast with TI's Corruption Perceptions Index, released in October, in which New Zealand retained the top spot for having the lowest perceived level of corruption in the public sector.

TI's New Zealand director, Alex Tan, said the results of the survey, which included New Zealand for the first time, were "alarming" and showed we needed to be vigilant in the fight against corruption.

"This is truly an alarming result but, in some ways, not surprising. We have traditionally tended to rest on our laurels and think we are above corruption and bribery practices which are commonplace in the rest of the world," Mr Tan said.

Other results of the survey include that respondents thought political parties, followed by Parliament, were the most corrupt institutions.
The military was seen as the least corrupt.

When it came to fighting corruption, 54% thought the Government was doing a good job and 93% said they would report an incident of corruption.
TI's global corruption survey was carried out in 86 countries and there were 1291 respondents in New Zealand survey. - NZPA

NZPA

Extremist

SINGAPORE — The Prime Minister’s Office has released a statement on the case involving Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB) Assistant Director Edwin Yeo, who was charged in court today (July 24) with 21 counts of criminal breach of trust, forgery and misappropriating property involving S$1.7 million.

An officer from the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB) has been charged with misappropriating public funds.

We take a very serious view of this case, especially because the officer was from an agency whose mission is to uphold the integrity of our system.

CPIB first uncovered the alleged wrong-doing in September 2012. As the accused was a CPIB officer and the alleged financial impropriety could have amounted to a criminal offence, the matter was reported to the Commercial Affairs Department of the Singapore Police Force, which carried out the investigation. This was to ensure an impartial and thorough investigation.

The Prime Minister appointed an independent review panel to look at how this case happened, and to strengthen the financial procedures and audit system in CPIB to prevent a recurrence. The recommendations of the panel are being implemented.

Individual lapses can happen in an organization despite safeguards and processes to prevent wrongdoing. But so long as we uphold the fundamental importance of honest government, and other officers in the organization are alert and courageous enough to report when they think something is not right, we will sooner or later detect such transgressions and bring the culprit to justice.

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, who is also the Minister in charge of the Civil Service, said: “This case is particularly serious because it involved a senior officer in the CPIB, which is entrusted with the mission of maintaining the integrity of the system.

“Public institutions and public officers are held to the highest standards of integrity and conduct. It is vital to have in place systems and practices to ensure integrity in the public service. There must be strong enforcement when there is wrongdoing, weaknesses in processes must be tightened, and most importantly there must be good values. “We will take strong measures to tighten up processes. PMO is examining whether any supervisory lapses may have contributed to this incident. If so, it will take action against the officers responsible.

“As there have been a number of high profile cases recently, the public is understandably concerned about whether this reflects systemic issues in the Public Service. The Service itself is concerned about this. Earlier this year, PMO asked CAD and CPIB to conduct a study of public officers investigated by them for corruption and other financial crimes over the last five years to see whether there was any change in their number or profile.

“On average, CPIB opened 39 cases involving public officers per year for investigation. These cases made up about 20% of all cases opened by CPIB. About two thirds of the investigations involving public officers led to prosecution or disciplinary proceedings.

“Overall the study concluded that cases involving public officers have remained low and quite stable over the last five years. Keeping the numbers low requires constant effort and vigilance.

“Significantly, many cases were reported either by the public, or by officers in the public service. This suggests a strong culture in Singapore and in the Public Service which rejects corruption.

“I have asked the Head of the Civil Service to share the study’s findings with his officers and to also make the key findings public. I understand that he will be doing so by the end of the week.”

Straight from the horse's mouth:

1 out of 5 graft probes by CPIB involves public officers: DPM Teo Chee Hean

An honest answer from a person of integrity. Kudos to him.

The problem lies not with the government leaders who have shown themselves to be beyond reproach. It is the ordinary Singaporeans who are working for the government who appear to have lost their moral compass.

They need to look at themselves in the mirror and ask themselves why they are succumbing to greed despite the fact that their leadership is a bastion of integrity.

I_Hate_Pappies

An honest answer from a person of integrity. Kudos to him.

The problem lies not with the government leaders who have shown themselves to be beyond reproach. It is the ordinary Singaporeans who are working for the government who appear to have lost their moral compass.

They need to look at themselves in the mirror and ask themselves why they are succumbing to greed despite the fact that their leadership is a bastion of integrity.

上 梁 不 正 下 梁 歪 = Those in subordinate positions will follow the example set by their superiors.
The pappies should be the one looking into the mirror asking themselves why?

enterprise2

First there r lapses as reported by AG. Then there r corruption as uncovered by investigation. Then there r 'official sanction ' political bias eg AIM . Assuming these r 'tips of the iceberg', then it all adds up to a really bid deal!!

enterprise2

First there r lapses as reported by AG. Then there r corruption as uncovered by investigation. Then there r 'official sanction ' political bias eg AIM . Assuming these r 'tips of the iceberg', then it all adds up to a really bid deal!!

On top of it all we r getting screwed with the fcuking service levels. Criminals even one leg terrorists can escape across our borders with impunity,gangsterism on the rise, buses can burst into flames for no good reasons, jams, jams ,jams... Etc

n ah loon f**k care! ...

ah loon said dat he takes care of his politics (ie fixing opps) oni, rest wil take care of demselves! ...

There will always be bad apples in any organisation. This case in now way affects the excellent standing of the Singapore Govt.

The fact that he has been identified and charged accordingly speaks for itself. In a corrupt country, he would get away with such crimes and the general public would be none the wiser.

I would like to congratulate PM Lee for running an honest and transparent system without fear or favour.

Sure, this happens every where. But where in the world where the bureau investigating corruption is corrupted itself. And this guy has been getting away with it for the past few years!
This is Singapore, you know.

On top of it all we r getting screwed with the fcuking service levels. Criminals even one leg terrorists can escape across our borders with impunity,gangsterism on the rise, buses can burst into flames for no good reasons, jams, jams ,jams... Etc

I can assure you that these sorts of incidences are not unique to Singapore. They happen all over the world with far greater frequency.

In NZ, we have cases of escaping prisoners on a weekly basis. In Singapore, such things only happen once in a blue moon.

Buses here burst into flames too and the mongrel mob and black power gangs operate with impunity.

In addition, drugs and alcohol cause major problems on a daily basis.

Singapore is paradise in comparison so don't worry too much. Have faith in the leadership, they are doing an excellent job and they have your interests at heart.

Sure, this happens every where. But where in the world where the bureau investigating corruption is corrupted itself. And this guy has been getting away with it for the past few years!
This is Singapore, you know.

In NZ, illegal spying by the government spy agency has been hogging the headlines for weeks.

As for the judges here in a supposedly democratic and transparent country take a look at http://newzeelend.wordpress.com/category/corrupt-judges/