• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CPF - The questions avoided by Tharman and Chuan Jin

We refer to the full page coverage in the Straits Times of 23 July, on the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) CPF Forum on 22 July.

A great deal has been said in recent months about our CPF system, and at the IPS forum as well.

However, the following questions remain unanswered:

1)What is the GIC’s returns from inception, since we now know that CPF funds have always been managed by the GIC?

2)What is the average weighted interest on all CPF accounts, yearly, since the extra 1% on the first $60,000 was only effected on 1 January 2008?

3)What is the average weighted interest on the Ordinary and Special Accounts (excluding the Medisave Account) since Medisave cannot be used as retirement funds?

4)What is the cumulative excess returns (GIC’s rate minus CPF average weighted interest) in absolute dollars that CPF members have lost over the years?

5)What is the percentage of all Singaporeans (active and inactive CPF members, self-employed) who reached age 55 last year, who were able to meet the combined CPF and Medisave Minimum Sums of $198,500, since both minimum sums must now (effective 1 January 2013) be met before CPF members can withdraw the excess in their accounts?

S Y Lee and Leong Sze Hian

P.S. Come with your family and friends to the 3rd Return Our CPF – HDB protest on 23 August 4 pm to 6.30 pm at Speakers’ Corner https://www.facebook.com/events/648543138548193/

http://leongszehian.com/?p=9449