COE :why pay what you bid and individual bidding have to be implemented

there is nothing any of you can do to bring down the price of COE. fact of the matter is supply is decreasing and demand is increasing. it will still go up no matter what system you propose. it's like trying to fight gravity.

time is better spent trying to locate the ITE lecturer's victim's naked photos.

Exactly. I had also once proposed a similar balloting system to what was used previously by the HDB. And to avoid abuse to the system, the holding period for all new cars should be no less than 2 years, unless it's involved in a serious accident and had to be scrapped. In this way, only genuine car buyers will submit to the ballot because they'll know that they'll have to stick with it for at least 2 years.

Brilliant. Buying car also must have a instrument similiar to our HDB's MOP. If not our elite snobs will keep on changing cars coz their maseratis is just a fraction of the COE only.
In fact, should have ballot for all categories. 1 ballot category per household only. And yes, it must non transferable & COE recipient must buy a car within a timeframe.
But is jin wu LUI listening? He dont dare offend the rich lah...He only interested in keeping his fat salary.

Actually I think the real bastards are the workshops. some of them specialise in only doing insurance claims cars.

once, i brought in my car for a quote at a AXA insurance recommended workshop for a minor dent. quote came in at $1,100. naturally i told them to fly kite. Quote at my regular panel beater - $150.

Yes. They, the fuckers used car dealers, will ask you to better buy a new car.
On a serious note, its better to send used car to STA or AA for inspection. Other than that, what u see is what u get. But Im against unscruplous used car dealers, whose future generation will be born without backside, who tampered the odometer to their benefits. Dunno why our TP dont look into these rampant practices & put safeguards. Too many cars on the road for them to manourve nicely?

Exactly. I had also once proposed a similar balloting system to what was used previously by the HDB. And to avoid abuse to the system, the holding period for all new cars should be no less than 2 years, unless it's involved in a serious accident and had to be scrapped. In this way, only genuine car buyers will submit to the ballot because they'll know that they'll have to stick with it for at least 2 years.

My proposal is to have COE peg to individual right to own a car than pegging to the car itself. And it should not have a 10 years timeline and is transferable according to market rate.

COE should be handled by the Buyer of the car, in this case COE
wont hit the roof!! Bad news for LTA and Car importer.

Car importer don't be bother with high COE after they are not paying for it.
It's the buyer who suffer!! So Car importer so called package it and still
lots of money from COE itself!!

OMV of a car cost $15K Buyer end up paying over $100K !! never heard of in this World!!

Go talk to other part of the World, they'll say your Gahmen hit and Run type Policies!!!

OMV of a car cost $15K Buyer end up paying over $100K !! never heard of in this World!!
Go talk to other part of the World, they'll say your Gahmen hit and Run type Policies!!!

Aiyo, just for the price of the piece of paper called COE for Cat A today can already buy you 4 new PROTON SAGAs in Malaysia, with no 10-year limit and with balance money somemore. Where got logic?

That's why the COE should be renamed as "Certificate Of Extortion".