COE :why pay what you bid and individual bidding have to be implemented

TopSage

there is no point debating whether it will work or not with
the COE hitting 90K soon.

It is wiser to move ahead and give it a try. Why?

1. So far nothing has worked and many believe this approach can.
2. The idea will not make things worse, so it is worth a try.
3. Car dealers hoarding COE and playing all sorts of games under current system is plausible... not
that it happens but pple believe it happens and it is good to allay their disstrust.
4. There is some gain to try something that others believe will work although you don't to show you are open to ideas.... but in a complex social system the results can sometimes surprise you.
5. The govt looks overly adament by resisting this idea.

It is wiser for the govt to go ahead and do
it even though they thing it might not work...
. but my view is zero to positive effects will come ... and there is enormous political gain to show some flexibility.

For myself, I think it will work from my modelling of non cooperative game theory
For the Nash equilibrium to be established
the system towards a slower COE rise as a minimum benefit
My assumptions in modelling did not include the propensity
for car dealers to try to monopolise supply. If you include this you will see price drops when individual bidding is implemented.

I strongly believe it is beneficial to go ahead.

IMHO, LTA is full of horse shit scholars who thus far, has not made any significant impact on reducing COE prices. In fact it went the opposite direction. Of coz its good for them as this translate to more money in their coffers.
Whatever happened to their "theory" that 50% cash downpayment on car purchase will push down COE? PUI!!!!!
Lastly, Spore Vehicles Traders Association Secretary, Raymond Tang is also another nicompoop. LTA say this, he will yeah yeah yeah. Govt say that, he'll parrot yeah yeah yeah. He should address issue of car tampering & dishonest practices by use dcar dealers. Dont say yeah yeah yeah all the time.

IMHO, LTA is full of horse shit scholars who thus far, has not made any significant impact on reducing COE prices. In fact it went the opposite direction. Of coz its good for them as this translate to more money in their coffers.
Whatever happened to their "theory" that 50% cash downpayment on car purchase will push down COE? PUI!!!!!
Lastly, Spore Vehicles Traders Association Secretary, Raymond Tang is also another nicompoop. LTA say this, he will yeah yeah yeah. Govt say that, he'll parrot yeah yeah yeah. He should address issue of car tampering & dishonest practices by use dcar dealers. Dont say yeah yeah yeah all the time.

Car tampering is a norm and you can't avoid it.

As a consumer, you must know their dirty tricks up their sleeve. Bargain hard and drive the pricing even harder. Do your homework or the best is to buy the vehicle direct from the owner.

Already proposed to them but Tuck Yew and his team of scholars feel that these are not good suggestions.

We all think pay as you bid will work but they will not implement it because they know that once this is implemented, the rich will definitely pay more than the average us. It doesn't protect the rich so why implement?

pay as you bid is fine and will work once the pool of rich have overbid for their COEs and obtained them, they will drop out of the market and leave room for the peasants to bid.

Car tampering is a norm and you can't avoid it.

As a consumer, you must know their dirty tricks up their sleeve. Bargain hard and drive the pricing even harder. Do your homework or the best is to buy the vehicle direct from the owner.

They should make odometer tampering illegal as this could cause unfortunate loss of life! Imagine if a 5 year old car has clocked 100K & used car bastards tuned it to say 50K to make it more sell-able. And these crooked used car dealers will tell you, no need servicing timing belt or change battery or brake pads coz only 50K mileage mah. Dangerous practices but of coz our LTA are more interested in how high the COE will go instead of addressing this rampant practices.
Im sure chao hai Raymond Tang is well aware of this practice but then again he IS a nicompoop.

pay as you bid is fine and will work once the pool of rich have overbid for their COEs and obtained them, they will drop out of the market and leave room for the peasants to bid.

Since LTA is so fucking innovative in classifying some bigger brakepower cars to Cat B, I wonder why dont they create a new catergory for luxury cars? If they can move say, Tiguan 1.4, Opel Tourer, eg to Cat B, LTA can also create a Cat E (Category ELITE for the rich snobs) with a certain number of COE where luxury cars like the Porsche, Bentleys & certain Merc cars.
This way, the rich snobs can compete amongst themselves to see who has more lui lor!
But i think jin wu LUI scared to offend the rich thus he diam diam.

IMHO, LTA is full of horse shit scholars who thus far, has not made any significant impact

LTA CEO is naval architect by training so naturally he is lost on land :o

Why you people so naive ah? LTA and the PAPies will never approve the pay-as-you bid system because they knew very well that in the mid to long term, COE prices will drop and will adversely affect their coffers. Why kill their cash cow and let the peasants enjoy instead?

U talking about cars in the 80s? New cars with computers etc,,how to clock back the odometer?

They should make odometer tampering illegal as this could cause unfortunate loss of life! Imagine if a 5 year old car has clocked 100K & used car bastards tuned it to say 50K to make it more sell-able. And these crooked used car dealers will tell you, no need servicing timing belt or change battery or brake pads coz only 50K mileage mah. Dangerous practices but of coz our LTA are more interested in how high the COE will go instead of addressing this rampant practices.
Im sure chao hai Raymond Tang is well aware of this practice but then again he IS a nicompoop.

U talking about cars in the 80s? New cars with computers etc,,how to clock back the odometer?
'

Hahhaha. You owned car before anot? I guarantee you that this can be done. Personally saw a BMW odo doing a back to the future......

The COE revenue to the government is simply too good to discard. Any change that might have a chance of lowering COE prices, no matter how remote, will be ignored.

Why you people so naive ah? LTA and the PAPies will never approve the pay-as-you bid system because they knew very well that in the mid to long term, COE prices will drop and will adversely affect their coffers. Why kill their cash cow and let the peasants enjoy instead?

The ppl in this forum are not naive, they are plain morons in denial that thinks the PAP have their interest at heart.

Just look at those daily posts.

Of course many are here to stir shit but when they are posed with problems in their Stinky land they also come out with half bake bird brain solutions, same shit as their 'white' Masters.

If the PAP sole concern is really to reduce and control the veh population, no need to pay more than $10 per person, for some admin work to ballot the COE for those lucky to get it.

And the penalty to those who get lucky but failed to buy a car is $10000. No transfer allowed. 3 mths to deadline to buy that car.

Motor dealers are out.

But in doing the above, white scums will not fill their coffers with millions and their Elite frds will need to depend on the luck of the draw to own a car.

When you buy from a used car dealer, always ask for new parts to be installed. Like timing belts, battery, timing bearing, water pump , new starter , new spark plug to be installed , auto fluid changes , new brake pad.

If the PAP sole concern is really to reduce and control the veh population, no need to pay more than $10 per person, for some admin work to ballot the COE for those lucky to get it.

And the penalty to those who get lucky but failed to buy a car is $10000. No transfer allowed. 3 mths to deadline to buy that car.

Motor dealers are out.

But in doing the above, white scums will not fill their coffers with millions and their Elite frds will need to depend on the luck of the draw to own a car.

Exactly. I had also once proposed a similar balloting system to what was used previously by the HDB. And to avoid abuse to the system, the holding period for all new cars should be no less than 2 years, unless it's involved in a serious accident and had to be scrapped. In this way, only genuine car buyers will submit to the ballot because they'll know that they'll have to stick with it for at least 2 years.

The ppl in this forum are not naive, they are plain morons in denial that thinks the PAP have their interest at heart.

Just look at those daily posts.

Of course many are here to stir shit but when they are posed with problems in their Stinky land they also come out with half bake bird brain solutions, same shit as their 'white' Masters.

Motor dealers are out.

Uncle Sam will say.... What is the incentive to get rich then ?

When you buy from a used car dealer, always ask for new parts to be installed. Like timing belts, battery, timing bearing, water pump , new starter , new spark plug to be installed , auto fluid changes , new brake pad.

Yes. They, the fuckers used car dealers, will ask you to better buy a new car.
On a serious note, its better to send used car to STA or AA for inspection. Other than that, what u see is what u get. But Im against unscruplous used car dealers, whose future generation will be born without backside, who tampered the odometer to their benefits. Dunno why our TP dont look into these rampant practices & put safeguards. Too many cars on the road for them to manourve nicely?