• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cock-Ups at Marina Bay Sands

elephanto

<hr id="ctl00_horizontalLine" class="line" align="center" noshade="noshade"> <script language="javascript" type="text/javascript"> <!-- if (BrowserDetect.browser == "Explorer" ) $("ctl00_horizontalLine").style.margin = "-7px"; else if (BrowserDetect.browser == "Safari") $("ctl00_horizontalLine").style.margin = "-1px"; //--> </script> <script type="text/javascript">var myURL = 'http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC100505-0000123/Stage-lights-go-out-at-MBS'</script> <input name="ctl00$cph1$hidCat" id="ctl00_cph1_hidCat" value="singapore" type="hidden"> <input name="ctl00$cph1$hidID" id="ctl00_cph1_hidID" value="EDC100505-0000123" type="hidden"> <input name="ctl00$cph1$hidSub" id="ctl00_cph1_hidSub" type="hidden"> <input name="ctl00$cph1$hidSub2" id="ctl00_cph1_hidSub2" type="hidden">What to do ? Last minute rush jobs sure got cock-ups ......

2nd May got large convention, rushed opening just days before ...... now RWS can at last smirk quietly to themselves after crticis all praise MBS for a more successful Casino opening that RWS ....

I went there on 1 May, exterior the architects did a wonderful design ... but inside the casino annexe, the interior finishings are atrocious, puddles & leaking ceilings & cracked floors at the B3/B4 areas ... bad contractors ...

Stage lights go out at MBS

by Clement Mesenas and Teo Xuanwei [email protected]
05:55 AM May 05, 2010
<!--replace --> <script type="text/javascript"> var fontIndex = 2; // var fontSize = new Array("0.63em", "0.69em", "0.75em", "0.88em", "1em", "1.13em"); var fontSize = new Array('0.63em', '0.69em', '0.75em', '0.88em', '1em', '1.13em'); </script>
SINGAPORE - The Chief Justice of Australia's New South Wales state was addressing an international gathering of legal eagles yesterday when suddenly the stage lights went out and then the sound system went silent - all at the first major event to be staged at the newly-opened Marina Bay Sands.

Mr James Jacob Spigelman bravely continued his speech in the dark, assuring his audience: "I have got a loud voice", but some members at the Inter-Pacific Bar Association (IPBA) 20th Annual Conference were less than amused. Several left, while those who remained were herded by MBS staff into a smaller conference hall.

The incident capped a series of discomfitures for the delegates at the integrated resort, where IPBA organisers had booked 400 rooms for its conference.

The guests told MediaCorp about air conditioners not working in their hotel rooms, luggage being brought up to their rooms two hours after check-in and a three-hour power failure in their rooms that caused laptops to go on the blink.

Some overseas delegates had to change rooms three times before finding one with amenities that worked. One delegate was led into a room - to find it occupied by a another couple. Others, including Mr Spigelman, were trapped in the resort's lifts, some for up to 20 minutes at a stretch.

Yesterday's power failure, which lasted for almost 30 minutes and which occurred after Singapore's Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong had delivered his speech and left the conference, was the last straw for some participants, who checked out and moved to other hotels around Singapore, sources said.

Several delegates whom MediaCorp spoke to were clearly frustrated.

Malaysian lawyer Cecil Abraham told MediaCorp: "We were told to wait for 10 minutes for the (blackout) problem to be fixed, but that didn't happen. We were then moved into a smaller room where speakers had to go without microphones. And considering that you had three judges as your speakers, it's really quite terrible."

He added: "There was a great deal of expectation before we attended the conference but the facilities have been a disgrace. You wouldn't have expected hiccups like these - they happened one after another."

Indian lawyer Sumeet Kachwaha, who sits on the IPBA Council, said the facilities at MBS had created "a very bad impression of Singapore".

"The many glitches have been a very big disappointment. So many things at the conference were so dysfunctional that it didn't feel like we were holding a conference in Singapore."

A member of the IPBA organising committee told MediaCorp last night: "We tried to work very hard with MBS to ensure our delegates have a good experience. While the content of the conference has been excellent - with world-class speakers - the facilities of MBS have not been up to our expectations.

"We're deeply embarrassed by the unfortunate series of mishaps and substandard facilities."

An MBS spokesperson told Media_Corp it has been "working tirelessly" with the IPBA organisers to "ensure the success of its conference".

"We continue to work closely with them. We moved quickly to manage situations that are typical of all opening projects, in order to minimise inconveniences to delegates," she said.

... Some overseas delegates had to change rooms three times before finding one with amenities that worked. One delegate was led into a room - to find it occupied by a another couple. ...
warao eh! ... ppl couple doing tings privately in a room n kena barged in! ... :eek:

Is expected to happen. Before the RWS open they have free trail period for employee family to stay in the hotel. All feeback is welcome from there RWS make some change until all are 100% work before open.

so embarassing!

20090813_JT_auntylucy_AM.jpg

Why did they need to commit to such a large and important convention?

Apparently, because they wanted to open with a large and important convention. However, which large and important convention organiser is so reckless as to be opening guinea pig, except for the one involving Lee Kuan Yew which don't have much of a choice except to give face and give way.

big resorts and casinos normally have backup generators. what actually happened? no backup generators? backup generators not operational yet? did not test backup power system? did not plan power use well? power gets shorted? forgot to pay the bill? resort too huge a power hog for the sg power grid? bad wiring? someone in kitchen turned on 100 ovens at the same time?

told you the construction and workmanship in the sg concrete rush are shoddy and amateurish.

cowbellc

gee..i thought there would be a soft launch before actual opening?

At least there won't be hard cock-up.

big resorts and casinos normally have backup generators. what actually happened? no backup generators? backup generators not operational yet? did not test backup power system? did not plan power use well? power gets shorted? forgot to pay the bill? resort too huge a power hog for the sg power grid? bad wiring? someone in kitchen turned on 100 ovens at the same time?

told you the construction and workmanship in the sg concrete rush are shoddy and amateurish.

Looks like even full power backup isn't ready. Probably only the casino and cage got confirmed power backup. Lift jammed 20 minutes, luggage delayed 2 hours, yawn... HDB standard or IR standard?

theblackhole

why the mad rush to open in the first place when it's not totally ready and operational...

the car park is like the sahara desert...your car is covered with dust, your nose and your eyes covered with dust...your lungs also kena...and when you comb your hair, it's black!!!...and you sneeze sneeze and cough cough all the way to the casino...where some entrances were not even open...

you walk all the way from the basement car park which is still under renovation filled with dust...and you walk and walk to the casino...pay your levy...and then kena double check your ic and your dl.....again and again every time you exit and return...damned sian.....lose money and kena checked like a burglar...

and constructions everywhere....even the venice is dry like hell...no water yet...why open so early for what..

and drinks in the casino...aunties all shouting for drinks....very thirsty...the trolleys come with diluted drinks and cold coffee....aunties all cursed and sweared....and they lost more and more money..

one aunty told me she lost $3K that morning....and not even have to drink anything yet!!!...not hungry also...no convenient food outlet ....hungry like fart...exit..scan...check...walk another mile and another few levels before got a cafe that serves s hit fast food.....quickly gobble the foot...fill the stomach...quickly walk another mile...and enter the slaughter house!!!

drive out thru the desert storm...NNB! $28!!!...drive out...NNB Gantry fee!!!...all in all... a damned loser's hell..

any reason you want to return to MBS???

Is there anyone here who has not gone to either casino and does not intend to go?

How did Singapore Civil Defence Force..pass the buildings, did they issue them with the Fire Safety Certificates.

How did BCA pass them?...How?...NEA? Npark? Singpower? P.U.B. etc...Singapore Police Force?....Health Board...

"MEMBER"...ahh so!..I forgot...

If not you have SCDF calling you, every other day asking about the Fire Safety Certificate & collecting $500 or more fines...

members have their privileges....:mad:

How did Singapore Civil Defence Force..pass the buildings, did they issue them with the Fire Safety Certificates.

How did BCA pass them?...How?...NEA? Npark? Singpower? P.U.B. etc...Singapore Police Force?....Health Board...

"MEMBER"...ahh so!..I forgot...

If not you have SCDF calling you, every other day asking about the Fire Safety Certificate & collecting $500 or more fines...

members have their privileges....:mad:

$500 fine even $50k/day MBS also willing to pay to make sure that the Casino in operation.
Someone must have pocket big amount of money without the safety in place. All double standard. :mad:

theblackhole

it's a matter of time the $100 ridiculous levy will be lifted.....singaporeans are suffering addicst...$200 levy they will all rush to pay...and quicker to meet their maker...

NNB...two casino in tiny island...and yet must pay to enter....this is damned ridiculous..protecting singaporeans?

just see the number of singaporeans in the two casinos everyday...all dying addicts and smoking like hell......tragedy in the making...