• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CNA-Indonesian rupiah hits record low - repeat of 1997/1998 crisis??

joemartini

20MAY2026

1779302484499.png

Indonesia's central bank has hiked its key rate for the first time in two years, to 5.25%. Bank Indonesia governor Perry Warjiyo said the move was made to support the rupiah amid uncertainties brought on by the war on Iran. This comes as the rupiah has set successive record lows this week. It's now trading at 17,600 to the greenback. The rupiah has depreciated by around 5% year-to-date, making it one of Asia's worst performers. It has also breached the symbolic 17,000 level, bringing back memories of the 1998 Asian financial crisis. Olivia Marzuki looks at what is driving the rupiah's slide.

reminds you of that 1997/1998 Asian financial crisis. as opposed to the 1995/96 condo boom, when ppl queue overnight to book condos.
some even pay ppl to stand overnight in condo launch queues.

THB crash
Rupiah Crash.
SGX crash
SG property crash 40%. (this time must crash way way more than 40%)

the sgd appreciation and housing or asset bubble reminds me of jippun after signing the plaza accord in 1985 in which jp huat overnight for strengthening yen against the dollar based on the agreement and making every jap rich (on paper). so what did japs do? buy properties and borrow loans from banks to buy more assets and or properties as though there was no end in sight.

US will intervene if you become near equal. And put you back where you belong.
Germany-russia cooperation which went very well since 1980's currently suffer same fate.
US has no answer for china yet. They tried the Uighyr insurrection, Hong Kong riots, nothing worked. Then it was technology sanction which backfired. US and west corporation lost market share. US and western companies doing business in china are not touched. But chinese companies doing business in the West are harassed and forced to shut or leave.

Germany-russia cooperation which went very well since 1980's currently suffer same fate.
US has no answer for china yet. They tried the Uighyr insurrection, Hong Kong riots, nothing worked. Then it was technology sanction which backfired. US and west corporation lost market share. US and western companies doing business in china are not touched. But chinese companies doing business in the West are harassed and forced to shut or leave.
the plaza accord was intentional on reagan’s part. he wanted u.s. to be net sexporter with a weaker dollar. i remembered in 1985 when americans complained of a weak dollar overnight after price increases on almost every import. and then the japs started buying u.s. properties and sending tens of millions of tourists to hawaii, cali, and ny with a strong yen to buy up luxury goods, jack up hotel rates, and dine in sexpensive restaurants. japs also wanted to buy up pebble beach at carmel and restrict access to american citizens. that was when amerikans demonstrated against jippun and trashed their cars and electronic goods to send a signal to jippun.
1779325896946.jpeg

20MAY2026

View attachment 241948

Indonesia's central bank has hiked its key rate for the first time in two years, to 5.25%. Bank Indonesia governor Perry Warjiyo said the move was made to support the rupiah amid uncertainties brought on by the war on Iran. This comes as the rupiah has set successive record lows this week. It's now trading at 17,600 to the greenback. The rupiah has depreciated by around 5% year-to-date, making it one of Asia's worst performers. It has also breached the symbolic 17,000 level, bringing back memories of the 1998 Asian financial crisis. Olivia Marzuki looks at what is driving the rupiah's slide.

reminds you of that 1997/1998 Asian financial crisis. as opposed to the 1995/96 condo boom, when ppl queue overnight to book condos.
some even pay ppl to stand overnight in condo launch queues.

THB crash
Rupiah Crash.
SGX crash
SG property crash 40%. (this time must crash way way more than 40%)

Many many Indon -Sama rushing to SG ATAS condo for their summer school holidays

Chinese ... the bloody difference is the Chinese.

Not low enough. You'll know it's low enough when Indon Chinese girls are gangbanged doggystyle on the streets. :sneaky:

Indo_May_1998_riots_05.jpg

Prabowo’s Biggest Crackdown on Tycoons Shocked His Own Officials​

Prabowo Subianto

Prabowo SubiantoPhotographer: Bay Ismoyo/AFP/Getty Images
By Faris Mokhtar, Eddie Spence, and Harry Suhartono
May 21, 2026 at 9:50 AM GMT+8
Save
Translate

Takeaways by Bloomberg AI​

In early May, President Prabowo Subiantosummoned a handful of his most trusted advisers to his house in south Jakarta to discuss how to find more revenue as surging oil prices stretched Indonesia’s finances.

The small group eventually agreed on a sweeping change that would fundamentally upend one of the most important sectors in the resource-rich Southeast Asian economy: The creation of a new state entity under sovereign wealth fund Danantara to oversee Indonesia’s world-leading exports of palm oil, coal and ferro-alloys, which together amounted to more than $65 billion last year.

More From Bloomberg​

The Bank Indonesia headquarters in Jakarta.
Bank Indonesia Surprises With a Half-Point Hike to Defend Rupiah

Copper Market in Mumbai
Nickel Trims Gains With Indonesia Export Controls in Focus

Coal
Indonesia’s Radical Export Experiment Upends Its Commodity Trade

Indonesian Rupiah Banknotes
Bank Indonesia Rate Hike in Play as Rupiah Plumbs New Lows

Indonesia's President Prabowo Subianto Interview
Prabowo Grabs Control of Indonesia’s Top Commodities Exports

Top Reads​

Been Sanctioned by the US Government? There’s a Guy for That

by Timothy McLaughlin

DIMSUM_CMS_DO_NOT_USE_Untitled
Musk Turns to Loyalists to Rebuild xAI Ahead of SpaceX IPO

by Carmen Arroyo and Aaron Gordon

Milan’s Wealth Boom and Soaring Rents Drive Executives Out to Turin

by Anna Irrera

Japan Spent Billions and Yen Is Still Falling

by John Cheng and Christopher Udemans

HomeBTV+Market DataOpinionAudioOriginalsMagazineEvents
News
MarketsEconomicsTechnologyPoliticsGreenCryptoAI
Work & Life
WealthPursuitsBusinessweekCityLabSportsEqualityManagement & Work
Market Data
StocksCommoditiesRates & BondsCurrenciesFuturesSectorsEconomic Calendar
Explore
NewslettersExplainersPointed News QuizAlphadots GameThe Big TakeGraphicsSubmit a TipAbout Us
Terms of ServiceDo Not Sell or Share My Personal InformationTrademarksPrivacy Policy
CareersAdvertise
Ad Choices
Help©2026 Bloomberg L.P. All Rights Reserved.

Get unlimited access for just $1.99 your first month
Claim This Offer
Sign InTerms of ServicePrivacy Policy

Condo will Huat Kah Liao to Stratosphere soon?
Samsters all-in to Huat Kah Liao?

More young Singaporeans rushing into private property in 2026, but not for the reasons you might think​

More young Singaporeans rushing into private property in 2026, but not for the reasons you might think

More young Singaporeans are buying private property, with some saying they entered the market for investment.
PHOTO: Stackedhomes
PUBLISHED ONMay 18, 2026 11:36 AMBYRYAN J ONG

A recent Straits Times article highlighted a growing trend: More Singaporeans under 35 are buying private properties, with some saying they entered the market for investment.

Kudos to them, because before I turned 35 years old, I didn’t know what I’d order for lunch that day, let alone what condo to buy and when to sell.

On paper, it does sound like a sign of growing wealth and financial confidence among younger Singaporeans.

Think how impressive it would be during Chinese New Year when you can tell everyone your 25-year old son or daughter is buying a condo, and they’re deciding between Great World or River Valley, or some other equally impressive CCR district.

(That’s not too implausible these days, with developers keeping the quantum lower.)

It’s also been reported that between 20224 and 2025, DBS posted a 40 per cent jump in home loans from borrowers who are under 35 years old. OCBC says that it saw a rise in singles buying private homes for investment.

From my experiences on the ground though, the emotional undercurrent here doesn’t feel like greed or even ambition. It’s more like a buzzing, unpleasant sense of anxiety and fear.

I’ve been following the market long enough to recall previous property peaks, like the surge in 2013. That year is widely regarded as the turning point that created ever-intensifying property cooling measures.

However, the market sentiment leading up to the government measures in 2013 was very different compared to what we see going around today.

Back then, home loans were relatively affordable (and much cheaper than HDB loans for close to a decade at that point), financing restrictions were fewer, and there was a buoyant sense of confidence that whatever property you bought stood a good chance of bringing in the dough.

Not low enough. You'll know it's low enough when Indon Chinese girls are gangbanged doggystyle on the streets. :sneaky:

Indo_May_1998_riots_05.jpg

Yes I remembered back then alot of Indo chinese girls were raped. The internet also scrubbed squeaky clean with not much evidence left liao....
1997 is very long ago for coolie genes short memory span de woh