CNA "Debate" Social media can do more harm than good.

What a crap 'debate' and nothing we have not heard before.

And the compere said it was a "riveting" debate.

I don't know what to say!

Traditional media in Singapore is in trouble. That is worrying for the regime.

Social media is a tool.

Might as well argue whether a hammer is useful or more harmful.

Traditional media in Singapore is in trouble. That is worrying for the regime.

Worried? More like scared shitless.

The younger generation is wise enough to discern fact from government mouthpiece propaganda.

Ban internet like North Korean....problem solved
Please do. With the rest of the world have information disclosure and sharing with open discussion while we are boxed in with little information, we will die in globalization. Japan is more less there in hell.

The gov't tried to that already.

I remember when I 1st returned to Spore & I tried to get access to the internet to keep in touch with my overseas friends. Went to Sim Lim & asked people there how to get internet access & no one new what I was talking about:eek: I found out that even at NUS computer science students were often not given access to an account. Fortunately I got a job with an american MNC & thriugh them got access to the internet.

When Pacnet 1st started offering internet access, the application form was like applying for a job:eek: A lot of rules & regulations on what you couldn't do.

Even today Spore users have to go through a proxy server. :rolleyes:

When Pacnet 1st started offering internet access, the application form was like applying for a job:eek: A lot of rules & regulations on what you couldn't do.

The SBA vs sintercom affair in 2001 still leaves a bad taste in many singaporeans' mouths.

There was another incident when Pacnet scanned the PCs of forummers... can't remember where I read that liao...

The SBA vs sintercom affair in 2001 still leaves a bad taste in many singaporeans' mouths.

There was another incident when Pacnet scanned the PCs of forummers... can't remember where I read that liao...

That was Singnet.

http://mailman.apnic.net/mailing-lists/apple/archive/1999/05/msg00003.html

http://www.mondaq.com/unitedstates/article.asp?articleid=6859

http://www.pcworld.com/article/10792/isp_admits_scanning_its_own_subscribers.html

One of the reasons why I have never subscribed to any of the red telco's service, and I will keep it that way.

If not feasible to ban like north korea then censor like china.
If there is a will there is a way!
PAP 万岁!

Cnot so drastic...tan lang gong jeow wei...le's ban someting not so important...but nevertheless achieve de same goal...let's ban input device...keyboard/mike/mouse...any sort...hardware/software...can read cnot reply...problem solved...:D:p

... let's ban input device...keyboard/mike/mouse...any sort...hardware/software...can read cnot reply...problem solved...:D:p

lidat ... no mor sammyboy oredi, woh! ... how 2 noe where got syt mei-mei? ...

Got...ah sam post...we read...oni...:D syt...no problem...tengby ancient time no internet ppl oso kio kway kio till siok siok wat...:p