• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Clement Financial Hub of Singapore

How much can you drink and smoke before you bankrupt your family and put all members in dire hardship?
You may kena lung cancer or other illnesses but nothing bankrupt your family fast and furious like gambling.

alcholism is bad.........alcoholism is a sign of mental illness and instability,extreme self destructive behaviour.......alcholics can die in many ways,alcohol poisoning,drunk driving.....can cause individuals families to suffer from alcohol induced violence,can cause people to lose control of their lives and lose jobs....last but not least can cause riots.....

I'm fine with the Loong Shing pawnshop, it's been there for a long time, I think since the 1970s. I love its 'retro' small tile mosaic on its outer walls.

It's those post-casino era pawnbroking newcomers (MoneyMax, Maxi-Cash, Valuemax) which I have major issues with.

Those moneylending shops are everywhere... another islandwide phenomenon after the PAP govt had amended the Moneylenders Act in 2008.

Another obvious casualty is Pearl's Centre. Sure, it had a few 'sleazy' or 'ah beng' shops, and the infamous Yangtze cinema, but before the moneylending shops arrived it still had a healthy ecosystem of shops and businesses.

Clementi used to be famous for being a hub of goldsmiths. When I was in school one of my teachers had joked that if you couldn't find your gold or jewelry in Clementi, it probably did not exist in the entire country.

State Bank of India? It's just another branch of the Ah Neh bank, probably to cater to the Ah Neh FTs there. Most locals bank with POSB, UOB, OCBC. The more posh types choose Citibank or Stanchart.

Clementi town centre used to be so much more charming with the old fountain.

clementi-town-centre-fountain-1980s.jpg

Thanks to the leadership of Lee Hsien Loong and his team, thanks to the Party PAP, thanks to MAS and the Ministry of Finance. Thanks to all these people's foresight - from fishing village to third world to first world and to Swiss Standard.

I don't think Switzerland has that many pawnshops per unit area of land, can any people who have been to Switzerland confirm this? :biggrin:

soIsee

yes PAP has liberated everything,now sinkies have a choice of credit cards,payday loans,cpf,pawnshops and ah longs to finance their affordable lifestyles.

And ass usual for ppl in this forum, when these Sinkie make such bad choices in their life...

they blame the PAP for it! LoL

SgGoneWrong

And ass usual for ppl in this forum, when these Sinkie make such bad choices in their life...

they blame the PAP for it! LoL

You mean PAP is not responsible for affecting the lives of citizens after governing for 50 years or so and paying themselves millions of dollars annually on the table? If that's the case, sinkies should be smart to change government as whoever runs this country will not matter and put an end to this dynastic rule.

The money lenders association chief is none other than cadre member of the PAP and CCC chairman. That tells you that this government has no issues allowing others to take advantage of the vulnerable.

In early 2000, MAS de-regulated vehicle finance. Car population exploded, car dealers made a fortune not only selling cars but re-possessing from those who generally could not afford to own cars. Our streets were jammed. Sadly the. Malay population was badly affected with families having to sell their homes.

Joe is this guy your clone?

He started a thread same title as yours and use your pics

http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/e...clementi-financial-hub-singapore-4733692.html

Joe is this guy your clone?

He started a thread same title as yours and use your pics

http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/e...clementi-financial-hub-singapore-4733692.html

Thank you for pointing this out Jah. I'm flattered. I do not have any account in HWZ and I do not go read any stuff there unless someone here posted something with a link there like yourself above. The only time I use HWZ is to check prices of some electronic goods. Last time I went in there I think is perhaps 4-6 months ago. No, that is definitely not me.

kryonlight

These businesses are ruining lives by giving poor Singaporeans easy access to money for gambling. Those who loan a few thousand dollars will go beg their friends and relatives for money. Those who loan big time has only one option - suicide. I know of someone who hanged himself in his bedroom last week. It's going to be a social problem for Singapore for at least the next 2 decades even if we voted the PAP out.

it's about time sg move to a higher-end high-value part of the small business and enterprise pyramid and forego the low-end low-margin eatery and clothing segments. we expect to see more sinkies with banker titles soon, rather than the wanker and hawker titles we see so often in sbf and sg. :p

for example, this boutique should close shop and let a financial outfit named "banko" take over.....

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    80.8 KB · Views: 221

[h=1]Singapore's Gamblers Get a New Bank[/h] By Jonathan Burgos and Sanat Vallikappen <time class="byline-text" itemprop="datePublished" datetime="2014-06-26T11:21:49-04:00"> June 26, 2014 </time>

comp_pawnshops27__01__970-630x420.jpg

Yeah Lee Ching recalls when a woman walked into her pawnshop in Singapore and pledged a $10,000 diamond-studded gold Rolex watch to bankroll casino spending. She never came back for her jewelry. Such customers are becoming more common as pawnbrokers proliferate across Singapore to serve gamblers seeking short-term loans and to satisfy demand for quick cash from people struggling to make ends meet in the world’s most expensive place to live. The number of pawnshops in the city-state jumped to 214 this year from 114 in 2008, according to DMG & Partners Securities. Loans disbursed by the industry jumped to S$5.5 billion ($4.4 billion) in 2013 from S$1.6 billion in 2007.
“Pawnshops are the most frequent automated teller machines for regular gamblers,” says Ivan Ho, president of the Singapore Pawnbrokers’ Association. “They need capital, and pawnshops offer them loans that are reasonably priced.”
Singapore’s two casinos opened in 2010, and about 20 percent of the increase in pawnbroking activity is driven by clients raising money for gambling, says Ho, who owns the Heng Seng Pawnshop. The rest comes from business owners and low-income individuals in need of money to pay hospital bills and other unexpected costs.

Thick Face Black Heart

This country is truly in ruins. First to the pawnshops and then to the casinos to squander the money away. To top it off, get insulted with the $100 levy.

So, are we proud of this? Should we be proud of what is happening to our country now? Honestly I'm shocked. The Clementi of today had been grossly defiled by such establishments. The fact that these establishments are flourishing speaks volume about the current state of Singaporeans and the society.

So this is progress? Progress of a country at the expense of the degeneration of society. Think about it fellas, think about it.

So, are we proud of this? Should we be proud of what is happening to our country now? Honestly I'm shocked. The Clementi of today had been grossly defiled by such establishments. The fact that these establishments are flourishing speaks volume about the current state of Singaporeans and the society.

So this is progress? Progress of a country at the expense of the degeneration of society. Think about it fellas, think about it.

It shows Sinking land is progressing. More licensed AH LONG and Second Uncle PAWNSHOP means money is continuously flowing. Economy is very TOK KONG. Now, everyone can walk into Second Uncle pawnshop without feeling ashamed.

BTW, above is not important, how did you make all the different pics machiam like a slideshow.

Do not feel sad for the weak. They are meant to be preyed upon. Such is the law of nature. We should be happy that more credit facilities are helping to accelerate their demise and put them out of misery so we do not feel guilty for not helping them.

It does not work out liken that. The majority will work harder to keep going only a few will perish.The rest will spend a lifetime supporting a few greedy people. Their families will continue to struggle.

Its a cancer that you have for life and not terminal.

Japan had a similar issue and some time in 2006, the govt stepped in, made these loan companies pay back the excess amounts. It is now a model for many countries.

Do not feel sad for the weak. They are meant to be preyed upon. Such is the law of nature. We should be happy that more credit facilities are helping to accelerate their demise and put them out of misery so we do not feel guilty for not helping them.