• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

childhood plastic piggy bank

Ahh!, that was when I started learning to be mischievous, learning to break into things, steal the contents & seal them back, like new...hair pin will do...it all begun with fishing from the front slot...& like I had said..started a 'career' into breaking into things..creatively... ha ha ha ha

The Post Office was where I started my savings, with the hunting of any Mint stamps I can find & paste them on the card & bring to the POST OFFICE savings bank at the P.O.. Chung Khiaw bank was my first commercial bank account, started with that Pig Bank which I disliked & opted for the safe..until CKB had a bank run & merged with Da Hwa ...UOB...kept that account, till this day, closed my POSB, when it merged with DBS!!

The kids hardly save today...the savings in the coin box was the surplus after taking out to buy comics, books, toys, like Matchbox cars, Revell or Airfix..etc. Many of us started a lifetime of savings...

But..hardly save today...:p

It seems that there was alot of drama behind the CKB story. Read snippets of it when someone pasted extracts from the book "Escape from Paradise" into some forum. Should have bought the book when I came across it in JB:(

Kids toys have become more expensive or rather they are playing with the same toys that older guys/gals are playing with e.g. iPhones, iPads,..

Nowadays many young Sporeans are materialistic & don't seem to be saving anything but can we really blame them? Inflation & costs in Spore so high it's become pointless to save money in a bank. It can even be expensive as banks like DBS will hit you with charges if your savings is less than $500.

They are also the product of the PAP system:rolleyes: LKY is fond of telling the story that "THEY" said Spore will not survive.. Maybe SINGAPORE won't survive because of what LKY & Co. have done to Spore & Sporeans:eek:

It seems that there was alot of drama behind the CKB story. Read snippets of it when someone pasted extracts from the book "Escape from Paradise" into some forum. Should have bought the book when I came across it in JB:(

Kids toys have become more expensive or rather they are playing with the same toys that older guys/gals are playing with e.g. iPhones, iPads,..

Nowadays many young Sporeans are materialistic & don't seem to be saving anything but can we really blame them? Inflation & costs in Spore so high it's become pointless to save money in a bank. It can even be expensive as banks like DBS will hit you with charges if your savings is less than $500.

They are also the product of the PAP system:rolleyes: LKY is found of telling the story that "THEY" said Spore will not survive.. Maybe SINGAPORE won't survive because of what LKY & Co. have done to Spore & Sporeans:eek:

That is because they make the mistake by staying in sinkieland.

my piggy bank was an ovaltine tin kept under the bed.

btw..is ovaltine still available in the supermarket?

Yes! "ah wah tian"...is still around, recently, they had a 'resurrection'...there was some promotion at the supermarket, bought two packets, now come in a box...the taste is not the same as yesteryear, when Wander made them here in Jurong... Jalan Tukang..something. Loved their biscuits, a few years back still can buy them at the supermarket, Made in Jamaica...now I do not see them anymore.

After the promotion have not check if they still carry OVALTINE...guess why the are called Oval Tin..ha ha ha

I remember that the branch of Chung Khiaw Bank was at the junction of Selegie Road & Short Street. The building is still there https://maps.google.com.sg/maps?oe=...gl=sg&ei=iU2IUsG2FpGIrAf4roAQ&ved=0CCoQ8gEwAA It's now a Banquet food court.

Spore was so small that you often met people you knew when shopping :)

The CKB building is still there as you had mentioned...the one at Tiong Bahru the building is till there too...the HQ in town is gone though!. Chung Khiaw Bank was a Hokkien Bank right?? like Ban Hin Lee..remember this East Malaysian Bank...right?? Then, we had, was this Teo Chew Bank...I used to nickname " si hai bu tong"..Four Seas Communication Bank...

my piggy bank was an ovaltine tin kept under the bed.

Mine is a bit more elaborate, I bury the tin under papaya tree at the junction of Chao Chu Kang Ave 3 and Chao Chu Kang street 13

The CKB building is still there as you had mentioned...the one at Tiong Bahru the building is till there too...the HQ in town is gone though!. Chung Khiaw Bank was a Hokkien Bank right?? like Ban Hin Lee..remember this East Malaysian Bank...right?? Then, we had, was this Teo Chew Bank...I used to nickname " si hai bu tong"..Four Seas Communication Bank...
The one at Seng Poh/Outram Road have seen been Long gone; now repLaced by the New Capi Inn HoteL, where i
randomLy goes fortnight with my PhiL partner ..hehehe.;)
Oh back topic; it was this same CKB branch where i had my miniature safe, rem vividLy it's base was carpeted in green and was made of wrought iron..:)

The one at Seng Poh/Outram Road have seen been Long gone; now repLaced by the New Capi Inn HoteL, where i
randomLy goes fortnight with my PhiL partner ..hehehe.;)
Oh back topic; it was this same CKB branch where i had my miniature safe, rem vividLy it's base was carpeted in green and was made of wrought iron..:)

I hated the green felt of that mini safe...nor like the animals, the mini safe was like today's CPF...money goes in....hard to get it out, have to beg to use some...ha ha ha ha & my money saved is not my money to be used..it was for LONG TERM...damn I should have learn that lesson when I was young with that mini safe...no wonder CPF scheme sound so familiar...CLAMP PEOPLE's FUND...

Oh, the building is gone or renovated..have not been to that part of SINgapore for a long time...if you remember the passport office for traveling to West Malaysia used to be near there..occupying the old subordinate court..

I hated the green felt of that mini safe...nor like the animals, the mini safe was like today's CPF...money goes in....hard to get it out, have to beg to use some...ha ha ha ha & my money saved is not my money to be used..it was for LONG TERM...damn I should have learn that lesson when I was young with that mini safe...no wonder CPF scheme sound so familiar...CLAMP PEOPLE's FUND...

Oh, the building is gone or renovated..have not been to that part of SINgapore for a long time...if you remember the passport office for traveling to West Malaysia used to be near there..occupying the old subordinate court..
Friend, the ex-passport office which was used for as a MaLaysia's traVeL onLy documentation hub; is now a
chiLd care/Kindergarten centre..:)

anyone remember your 70s and 80s childhood where our parents used to buy those color plastic piggy bank?
anyone got a photo of it. want to show to the small kids.
try to goggle..but all i can find is modern pig.

Do m&ds buy this for their kids ?

It was started by the same family responsible for Tiger Balm. Are they Hokkien:confused:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/soc.culture.singapore/becZGV2Ssw0/6inudQJ79GkJ

OK I think I remember getting a space shuttle piggy bank from chungkiaw or tat lee. silver color. Plastic piggy cannot recall.

that ovaltine tin rusty liao, no choice loh...

I'm going to upgrade my tin can to a petty cash box that you find in a stationary shop. I need a neater way to store my ringgit, rupiah, baht & Sing$