chee's words: to believe or not to believe

“We pursue everything except that which makes life worthwhile.” – Freedom Award winner Dr Chee Soon Juan
Posted by theonlinecitizen on November 5, 2011 89 Comments
10by Chong Ailing/ Photo by Joshua Chiang

Dr Chee receiving the award from LI President Hans Van Baalen

A few years ago, after picking up his children from a well-to-do friend’s birthday party Dr Chee Soon Juan’s eldest child turned to him and asked if they were rich. It took him a while before he answered, “Yes we are rich and you know why? Because we have you.”

Dr Chee, who is also Secretary-General of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) shared this story towards the end of his acceptance speech after being awarded the Prize of Freedom 2011 by The Liberal International (LI) on 3rd November 2011. Past recipients include Sam Rainsy of Cambodia, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, and former president of Ireland and UN High Commissioner for Human Rights Mary Robinson. Dr Chee was given the award for his work in “tirelessly advocates for democracy in Singapore, engaging civil society and campaigning for democracy and the right to speak freely”, according to LI.

Speaking to a packed room comprising of members of the SDP, Presidential candidate (and former SDP member) Mr Tan Jee Say, representatives from LI as well as prominent members of Singapore’s civil society, Dr Chee drove home the point that the real riches that mattered most cannot be measured by material wealth, but “by the number of minds that we unfetter, the number of young lives that we give hope to and the number of the poor whom we empower.”

Unfortunately, the Singapore Government had adopted the worst that the West offers in terms of greed and exploitation but rejects the good that it espouses in the values of human rights and democracy, he said. These negative values fosters Singapore’s pursuit of riches, consumerism, and materialism, but have also made a society bankrupt in morality.

“We pursue everything except that which makes life worthwhile,” he added.

Citing two examples on the non-reaction of Singapore – allowing the entry of Robert Mugabe and Burmese generals to shop, rest and recreation regardless of their merciless actions in their homeland, Dr Chee concluded that “as long as there is money to be made, nothing else quite matters, does it?”

However Dr Chee was quick to point out that the SDP is not opposed to wealth, but “wealth inequality.” Singapore’s widening income gap will harm the common good and create a highly polarized society. In order to demonstrate that egalitarianism is a more effective way to organise economic society, there is a need for a “national conversation on morality.”

“The case for a more egalitarian system where the laws are not stacked in favour of the rich and where society is less economically polarised must be vigorously advocated,” he continued.

But in order to achieve that, Dr Chee said, people must be willing to speak out without fear of marginalization and being seen as confrontational or worse, destructive.

“We have enough politicians in Singapore, what we need now are leaders,” he added.

chee's dominance (tyranny) in SDP is synonymous to pap's. what then is democracy according to chee's words?

From a purely academic point of view, SDP's vision of a pluralistic, liberal democracy is rather idealistic. because of the structure of the capitalist system singapore has adopted, citizens with more economic ability will have more political might over those who have less. that is the truth, anyone who ignores that is either too much of an idealist, or is simply cognitively not very able.
raethan190207 3 days ago

if the nation were to believe chee's preaching, then SDP would have gotten a few seats or at least 1 in parleement. but the fact is to date, they got nothing and is still the lowest in the voters' choice. does chee honor the fact or choose to remain as an ostrich imagining there's a growing support for him and SDP. in fact, wonder if SDP without him would really grow better and progress further in real political terms.

Useless Awards 7 November 2011
@ALL CSJ’s foolish supporters (Robert Tey & Gang).

No awards can send CSJ to the parliament as he is a bankrupt and a complete failure as a politician.

CSJ can forget about entering parliament in his life time. May be in his next reincarnation as a human, he can try his luck

Numerous past election results already confirmed that he will never succeed in his useless pursuit on his own type of democratic value.

Only foolish characters will support a complete failure.

SDP will only see day light if he resign as Secretary General of the party.

No Singaporeans will Support a political party that has a dysfunctional Secretary General.

PUTHUCHEARY AVOIDED NS 7 November 2011
Why are we wasting so much time and editorial space on someone who has been consistently rejected by Singaporeans for what he did to Chiam See Tong – a PROVEN patriot with no skeletons to hide – and the SDP? Why are we even bothered with a fraud who drank glucose during a so-called hunger strike against God knows what and who kept lying blatantly to the public that the mainstream “fixed’ him up when he did it all himself and all that the mainstream cameras needed to do were focus themselves (no fixing editing required really) on his antics? There will be other passionate Singaporeans with calibre and integrity who will come up to help carry this country to the next phase of our democratic development. There are already quite a handful – in the WPs (especially the new ones, Chen, Pritam, Faisal and Gerald) and in the current SDP itself (Eugene). Let’s focus on these people, forget about the has-been Chee. I think Singaporeans are sick and tired of hearing anything about him now.

Useless Awards 7 November 2011
@ALL CSJ’s foolish supporters (Robert Tey & Gang).

No awards can send CSJ to the parliament as he is a bankrupt and a complete failure as a politician.

CSJ can forget about entering parliament in his life time. May be in his next reincarnation as a human, he can try his luck

Numerous past election results already confirmed that he will never succeed in his useless pursuit on his own type of democratic value.

Only foolish characters will support a complete failure.

SDP will only see day light if he resign as Secretary General of the party.

No Singaporeans will Support a political party that has a dysfunctional Secretary General.

結緣不結怨

Famous quote by Leetahbar

now some simple questions:

1. what the hell is Liberal International all about? why bother into other country's politics?
2. why chose chee soon juan for a dubious award? why singapore?
3. it looks like another wayang but from a different troupe called SDP.
4. who's footing the bills? hotel stays, airfares, foods, rental of venue and etc?
5. SDP looks very rich. why always appealing for donations to clean up chee's shits?

this award presentation event dedicated to chee was very contradictive. how much would such event totalled up? who's footing the bill? SDP?

chee's preaching: "helping the poor and all those craps...." where the money comes from? donation time again??

結緣不結怨

Famous quote by Leetahbar

if chee's a fraud, expose him. u love singapore so do i and many others. it's our duty to protect our country from fraudster like chee soon juan. the LIBERAL INTERNATIONAL or whatever the hell they are do not mean well for our country. they cannot even straighten their own country, u think they truly sincerely in straighten singapore?

many have asked the simple question:

WHERE DOES CHEE GET HIS INCOME FROM?

there never has been a honest answer. if he get it from a foreign source, then u ve better think again for supporting such a fraudster.

Xiao za bor 8 November 2011
Just because the current govt is inept and they hate CSJ doesn’t mean CSJ is any better. His idealogy is clearly un-Singaporean — he does not know about the impt problems but instead focus on issues that no one cares about.

We don’t care about civil rights violations in Zimbabwe. We just want less crowded MRTs. We don’t care about democracy. We just want a better life. We don’t care about society, just about economy, and what’s fked up right now is the economy. Singaporeans do not share his high-browed idealism. Unlike CSJ (and USA), we are simple folk, not morality snobs. That is why he does not represent us, he is not a leader for us, and that is why we will never vote him into office.

Ironically, I find his ‘underlings’ WJ and TSJ a lot more ‘in tune’ to what Singaporeans need (ie they are normal?), despite being similarly fiery. TJS may too ‘country-bumpkin’ for president but I don’t mind him as an MP.

this xiao za bor is not the other notorious xiao za bor who has never admitted being a SDPPIE and preferred to be known as pantyless partyless. surprisingly her name wasn't mentioned by chee during this thank-you speech.

His idealogy is clearly un-Singaporean — he does not know about the impt problems but instead focus on issues that no one cares about.

those "no one cares about issues" are the one chee's foreign boss really cares about. in fact the doubts about whether chee is working for us to better our lives or care more about his boss' motive to slime singapore and makes every singaporeans' lives more miserable?

why wasn't there any awards for all these chee's famous antics?

PUTHUCHEARY AVOIDED NS 6 November 2011
“@doppelganger
How can I believe you when you speak badly about the man who is fighting against these very things for Singaporeans?”:

Fact 1: Chee did a great disservice to the country when he usurped Chiam See Tong as sec-gen of the SDP. The party could have developed into a credible force.

Fact 2: Chee was given a chance to prove he had the support of Singaporeans. He contested and was fairly and soundly thrashed.

Fact 3: He loved to indulge in amateurish grandstanding. No problem with that, he was free to do that, that was his way of calling attention to his cause. But so are Singaporeans free to ignore these acts and get on with their lives.

Fact 4: It smacks of bad form and manners to fly all the way to another country and heckle an elected Singapore leader in front of foreigners, whatever your quarrel with the leader.

Fact 5: He kept saying he was the victim of a state campaign to discredit him. Quite a lot of this was self-inflicted, Singaporeans could see for themselves. To say, for example, that the mainstream media fixed him is a blatant lie. No one fixed anything. He did it himself. For example, that incident where he shouted at Goh Chok Tong at the market was not staged by anyone. He obviously wanted the publicity.

All that the press did was oblige him.
Please do not take Singaporeans for idiots. They know what is going on – they are more than aware of the ruling party’s failures, elitist policies and shortcomings. They showed their displeasure at the last GE and PE. But they also know how to discern the credible from the good-triers.

shouldn't LIBERAL INTERNATIONAL also be giving chee awards for the above (and even more)?

Re: why wasn't there any awards for all these chee's famous antics?

SDP WALL OF SHAME

Dr Chee Soon Juan, 47 (Sec-Gen)
1992 – Misappropriated funds as NUS staff, drank glucose while on hunger strike
1993 – Overthrew Chiam See Tong as Sec-Gen, Chiam sued the SDP, SDP lost and paid Chiam damages
2001 – Shouted at Goh Chok Tong with accusations that have no truths, lost defamation suit
2002 – Fined $3000 for speaking on racial issues (tudung)
2002 – Charged for trespassing Istana, rally without permit
2006 – SDP Chairman Ling How Doong said CEC planning to remove Chee
GE2006 – Worst performer at polls, not even 25% of votes garnered
2006 – Declared bankrupt, jailed for contempt of court
2006 – All members of SDP apologised for slanderous remarks on NKF except Chee and sister
2006 – Failure to pay $5000 fine, jailed for 5 weeks
2007 – Attempt to leave country without permit
2008 – Arrested for Tak Boleh Tahan protests
Currently sells books to earn a living, asks members to sell his books to derive income.
Autocratic leadership within party
Systematically removed opposition within party – Chiam See Tong, Ling How Doong, Mr Wong Hong Toy and Kwan Yue Keng.

Have to give it you that you're even more anti-SDP-CSJ than me, you're the most! The first time I attended a CSJ rally was at MacPherson 1996, the one where he challenged Matthias Yao to an SMC contest and GCT granted. You know what he talked about? He talked about some Burmese druglord general and his son having an office in Shenton Way, why is PAP allowing that? Can PAP (or any party in government) stop poppy being grown in Burma? Can they dishonor their passport when they're not carrying any while they enter Singapore? Can they ban them from renting an office when they can pay the rent and not using it for drug trafficking? Anyway, what have Burmese druglord, martial rule, poppy field and Shenton Way office got to do with MacPherson voters?

There's a reason why Sinkie sheep do not care about the things CSJ is fighting for. Here's why:

[video=youtube;UQfRdl3GTw4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQfRdl3GTw4[/video]

Because all they see are shadows on cave walls. Don't get me wrong though. I don't endorse his bellicose ways either. Or his welfare policies. I just don't think that freedom of speech and democracy i.e power to the people are somehow ethereal and irrelevant to the "real" concerns of the people. What could be more "realistic" and "practical" than freedom and power?

i think dr chee bored with academic life and decided bankruptcy is more fun.

Have to give it you that you're even more anti-SDP-CSJ than me, you're the most! The first time I attended a CSJ rally was at MacPherson 1996, the one where he challenged Matthias Yao to an SMC contest and GCT granted. You know what he talked about? He talked about some Burmese druglord general and his son having an office in Shenton Way, why is PAP allowing that? Can PAP (or any party in government) stop poppy being grown in Burma? Can they dishonor their passport when they're not carrying any while they enter Singapore? Can they ban them from renting an office when they can pay the rent and not using it for drug trafficking? Anyway, what have Burmese druglord, martial rule, poppy field and Shenton Way office got to do with MacPherson voters?

b4 chee could climb a mountain, he must overcome his own little molehill. if he can't do that, the rest are just craps.

i think dr chee bored with academic life and decided bankruptcy is more fun.

if chee has evidences to substantiate his allegations, he won't be a bankrupt. it all began when he was sacked from NUS not becos he was in sdp but he was plain dishonest and abused the trust he was put in. it was his own foolish resentment that got him into bankruptcy. now he just exploits the situation and conveniently uses it to slime singapore.

where does he get his source of income? he has never answered to the point such simple question. it is probably from a foreign source which seeks to make singapore looks bad internationally. those ang mos from LIBERAL INTERNATIONAL - what do they have to lose if singapore goes down the drain? their own countries is down the dump. they should be attending to their own backyard's filth first before they meddle with others. chee soon juan is their paid stooge. it's a symbiotic relationship. chee wants revenge. they want singapore down.