• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Carrefour to exit Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand

Baroko

I recall many years ago Carrefour had a sales promotion of Knife Brand cooking oil. They had tagged the price below their cost for the promo. NTUC was clearly very unhappy and twisted the arm of the cooking oil supplier to collect the product from their supermarket shelves. This is unfair practice, but NTUC used its political clout to make this happen. Is it illegal to sell below cost? Certainly not.

Another story. My neighbourhood has a small wet market. The owner of the premise vacated all the vendors saying that the placed was going to acquired by the gahment. Months later the NTUC Fairprice sets up shop at the vacated lot. Fair competition? Certainly not.

This gahment tries to own the lucrative businesses in the land so that loyal lackeys helming these businesses are well rewarded.

It was rumoured that Carrefour faced roadblocks when they tried to expand the number of stores in Spore.

ahleebabasingaporethief

The FRENCH has seen the writings on the wall in Singapore.

BAROKO's example of unfair practice is Spot On!

Also. now there is a new GANGSTER.......SINGSONG.

So betterer, fasterer, get out while the going to get out is still cheaperer.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

BusNo64

shall miss their french buns. really good if not the best bums around!!

u got money to buy french buns meh? where u get ur money from? take from ur elderly parents right? :rolleyes: pls go get a job and stop beating ur father lah! :mad::oIo:

Heard on CNBC that one of the reasons for Carrefour wanting to leave was because it only wants to be the retail leader or runner up in all their countries of operations.
Guess they didn't count on the power of NTUC and Sheng Shiong.....................

Yaohan Singapore was doing well. It folded up because Yaohan Japan went bankrupt.
Is Yaohan Japan still in existence?
There is still a Yaohan in Macau, is this now the only Yaohan left in the world?

LonewolfAlfa

u got money to buy french buns meh? where u get ur money from? take from ur elderly parents right? :rolleyes: pls go get a job and stop beating ur father lah! :mad::oIo:

he ate them without paying. the jobless thief shoplifted from carrefour.

part of the reason why carrefour is losing $$$ and wants to exit from sinkapore..

he ate them without paying. the jobless thief shoplifted from carrefour.

part of the reason why carrefour is losing $$$ and wants to exit from sinkapore..

Not only in Singapore, but in Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand as well. Carrefour don't look good at discerning and politicking for good locations, and ended up expensive and unprofitable ones. Walmart didn't fall into such SEA 3rd world traps. K-mart tried once and withdraw double quick.

ah_phah

wahlaneh!!! france (carefour co-sponsored) kena early exit from worldcup, then now, carefour wanna pull out of singapore, msia & thailand? then lidat how?

is it bcos in sg; ntuc, sengshiong, shop&save, giant & cold storage fight till carefour tor-tiuh? is it bcos in msia; jusco, tesco, lotus & giant squeeze till carefour tor-tiuh? is it bcos in thailand; lotus, tesco & jusco squeeze till carefour tor-tiuh?

i think so far, carefour business is still ringining in big bucks in sg. look at plaza sing & suntec........ carefour cash register ring non-stop

NoNewsGood

Is Yaohan Japan still in existence?
There is still a Yaohan in Macau, is this now the only Yaohan left in the world?

Yaohan Japan went into liquidation and was bought over by another company and no longer carries the Yaohan name anymore.

Yaohan Macau became New Yaohan and is owned by a Hong Kong company with no connection with Yaohan Japan.

I think there is one more Yaohan in Shanghai Pudong, China. Not sure who owns it.

Yaohan Singapore was doing well. It folded up because Yaohan Japan went bankrupt.

Still remember that it was the bakery at Yaohan that started the Aipan craze. Those bread with black bean filling. :smile:

Yaohan was just the first of many other Japanese companies exiting Spore i.e. Sogo & Tokyo (Funan).

Still remember that it was the bakery at Yaohan that started the Aipan craze. Those bread with black bean filling. :smile:

Yaohan was just the first of many other Japanese companies exiting Spore i.e. Sogo & Tokyo (Funan).

With an anchor tenant like Carrefour leaving there's going to be big hole in Plaza Spura & SunTec

LonewolfAlfa

Not only in Singapore, but in Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand as well. Carrefour don't look good at discerning and politicking for good locations, and ended up expensive and unprofitable ones. Walmart didn't fall into such SEA 3rd world traps. K-mart tried once and withdraw double quick.

too bad, will miss carrefour for the convenience even though their prices aren't that cheap. except for the 5% rebate if using posb cc. giant hypermart prices at tampines are much better.