Car tries to cut into your lane - do you give way or not?

Have to see the timing even if the bugger signals.

Fair enough, those who cut in after a 0.5 second signal, i used to horn or dim lights many years ago. For the last 7 years though, never really use my horn or lights much if at all except when to warn others of any possible danger or impending danger to "their wallets"

One time, when lending my car to a friend for a long trip, didn't even know where the horn is.(its not in the middle)

But all hell break lose at the checkpoints to n from JB. I think it is a fact that the Johoreans started it all hence Sinkies rose to the challenge. Come lah who scared who! Of course if you have a nice n expensive car lan lan have to avoid conflict. You will be the one suffering financially when you are entangled in an accident with some shitty scrap metal.

If Malaysia soil, must jaga. Never know if they will activate their kakis and wait for you after clearance from checkpoint. No point getting into these conflicts.

If S'pore soil, also must jaga. If conflict escalates and results in a fight, kena 'road bully' case.

Best option is to close an eye or both. Giving way doesn't hurt at all. Compared to the cars our neighbours drive, we are far more likely to be at the losing end. Claiming insurance is also a hassle whether incident took place on S'pore or Malaysia soil as other party is a foreigner.

I recall an incident in the early 90s when I was stuck at the JB checkpoint (entering JB). Had 2 male passengers in my car. Also police officers. We were going in to chiong!

3-4 young men in a Proton Saga showed me their middle fingers when they failed to cut in to my lane. Shortly thereafter, two of them alighted from the vehicle. Knocked on my car window and wanted me to wind down the window. He accused me of being 'kuai lan' because I did not give way. I then asked him what he wanted. He told me to wait for him at the first petrol kiosk after the checkpoint.

Not wanting to put myself and my friends at risk, I activated contact with a friend from the JB police. He said 'small matter' and would rush down to the said petrol kiosk in 10 minutes. After clearing Customs, I stopped at the first petrol kiosk and my JB mata kawan was already there with 4 others. We waited about 30 minutes. Other party no sound no picture.

To cut a long story short, why get into these hassles when the option of giving in exists?

Same here. Also heard the story of a guy who broke the rear taillight (one side) of a Rolls Royce and it cost $7K to replace. No worth the hassle.

In my younger days, I would have tried to prevent anyone from trying to cut a queue in front of me (lack of maturity on my part). My attitude was that it was rude and inconsiderate of them not to wait in line like everybody else.

Nowadays, in 95% of cases, I would give way to them. The only exception would be at the Checkpoint at JB. Here, there is no excuse for queue jumping and I am very happy when I see the Mat TP standing at the middle of the Causeway ready to hand out summons to errant Sinkie drivers.

I am always a nice guy, sure give way one

.. but upon realizing that those waiting behind me starting to screw my back side I step on the accelerator

TAXIS - No...
GERMAN cars (especially BMWs and Audis) = No....
All others - got chance...

In this case, I don't care about Karma.....

I am always a nice guy, sure give way one

.. but upon realizing that those waiting behind me starting to screw my back side I step on the accelerator
hoi! ... can u make up ur mind anot? ...

wanna gif way den gif way ... wanna step on accelerator den step accelerator la ...

dun gif way halfway oredi den change mind step on accelerator, hor! ...

depend on what i am driving at that moment. but basic rule are as follow.

signal intention, wind down window and give a apologetic smile and wave, 100% give way.

those who dont do the above call go jia siak.

i ever maintain the front of the van in front of a Q jumper old MX5. roof down and dress like a lao beng with shade on. want to act blur to cut Q. the location is at the viaduct leading to ECP just after the PSA gate. i squeeze him to the viaduct left wall despite having plenty of space on the right until he E brake and have to do a hill start, by then i already gone. i also made my reservist captain (different coy) to mount kerb when he try the same stunt with his toyota wish. nowsaday most likely to be a female driver which i also dont give chance.

ask nice nice, i also nice nice but anyone tried to knn, i do the same thing back.

Cars imported into Sinkieporeland in the near future will not be fixed with signal
indicator, why? Sinkieporean drivers don't signal so the car importors has taken the initiative to
reduce cost by removal of Signal Lights.

Especially Worst Drivers: taxi drivers, Mecedes, BMW, Ah Beng drivers,
Audi, Japanese cars!!!

depend on what i am driving at that moment. but basic rule are as follow.

signal intention, wind down window and give a apologetic smile and wave, 100% give way.

those who dont do the above call go jia siak.

i ever maintain the front of the van in front of a Q jumper old MX5. roof down and dress like a lao beng with shade on. want to act blur to cut Q. the location is at the viaduct leading to ECP just after the PSA gate. i squeeze him to the viaduct left wall despite having plenty of space on the right until he E brake and have to do a hill start, by then i already gone. i also made my reservist captain (different coy) to mount kerb when he try the same stunt with his toyota wish. nowsaday most likely to be a female driver which i also dont give chance.

ask nice nice, i also nice nice but anyone tried to knn, i do the same thing back.

Yup, the viaduct leading to ECP is where many try to do a quick one. It will be unfair to those people queuing behind in an orderly fashion.

Fair enough, those who cut in after a 0.5 second signal, i used to horn or dim lights many years ago. For the last 7 years though, never really use my horn or lights much if at all except when to warn others of any possible danger or impending danger to "their wallets"

One time, when lending my car to a friend for a long trip, didn't even know where the horn is.(its not in the middle)

I used to play "Star Wars" using flashing high beam with some Kuai Kan drivers in the past. :p More often than not are taxi Drivers. When i find them using high beam unnecessarily on me, i will let them pass me and start shooting them from behind. :p:D There was once a private passenger car flashed at me unnecessarily, we ended up playing "Top Gun". :p:D

anyone drive through eng neo ave around 5pm plus today?
saw a toyota out of control and crash into the jungle.
saw a ang cia used for riot parked opposite.
a lot of police there.
anyone can shed some light?

In my younger days, I would have tried to prevent anyone from trying to cut a queue in front of me (lack of maturity on my part). My attitude was that it was rude and inconsiderate of them not to wait in line like everybody else.

Nowadays, in 95% of cases, I would give way to them. The only exception would be at the Checkpoint at JB. Here, there is no excuse for queue jumping and I am very happy when I see the Mat TP standing at the middle of the Causeway ready to hand out summons to errant Sinkie drivers.
i am now like you in your younger day. i am in my late 20s. my mindset towards this is : if everyone is allowed to cut queue, then we queue for fark? we queue just to be cut? is it fair for those who queued up?:mad: i try not to give way if possible.

if you say to the xiao di dong guy,
he will tell you dont talk much,he will say settle with his fists

To cut a long story short, why get into these hassles when the option of giving in exists?

Good choice, always first choice as 以和為貴but i really have little respect for those who threw down the gauntlet first and then chickened out, met a lot of these cases, act fierce and garang and then never turned up. Waste of time. My limited experience is those who want to fight would have fought, those who need to put down this date and that area usually will chicken out or let other folks fight their fight in the end.

To be fair to the party in your case, probably he saw that there was police presence and thought better of it.

how to deal with this kind of drivers then? they are too dense to be reasoned with.

for gentleman drivers, we use talking.
for unreasonable drivers like xiao ding tong, i alway had a prison ratton in my car.
1 whack on the kidney area sure send him knelling down begging for forgiveness.
but alway remember, used only when there is no eyewitness
alway bear in mind, use weapon only when your life is threatened.then show no mercy.

for gentleman drivers, we use talking.
for unreasonable drivers like xiao ding tong, i alway had a prison ratton in my car.
1 whack on the kidney area sure send him knelling down begging for forgiveness.
but alway remember, used only when there is no eyewitness
alway bear in mind, use weapon only when your life is threatened.then show no mercy.
will keep that in mind:D