But all hell break lose at the checkpoints to n from JB. I think it is a fact that the Johoreans started it all hence Sinkies rose to the challenge. Come lah who scared who! Of course if you have a nice n expensive car lan lan have to avoid conflict. You will be the one suffering financially when you are entangled in an accident with some shitty scrap metal.
If Malaysia soil, must jaga. Never know if they will activate their kakis and wait for you after clearance from checkpoint. No point getting into these conflicts.
If S'pore soil, also must jaga. If conflict escalates and results in a fight, kena 'road bully' case.
Best option is to close an eye or both. Giving way doesn't hurt at all. Compared to the cars our neighbours drive, we are far more likely to be at the losing end. Claiming insurance is also a hassle whether incident took place on S'pore or Malaysia soil as other party is a foreigner.
I recall an incident in the early 90s when I was stuck at the JB checkpoint (entering JB). Had 2 male passengers in my car. Also police officers. We were going in to chiong!
3-4 young men in a Proton Saga showed me their middle fingers when they failed to cut in to my lane. Shortly thereafter, two of them alighted from the vehicle. Knocked on my car window and wanted me to wind down the window. He accused me of being 'kuai lan' because I did not give way. I then asked him what he wanted. He told me to wait for him at the first petrol kiosk after the checkpoint.
Not wanting to put myself and my friends at risk, I activated contact with a friend from the JB police. He said 'small matter' and would rush down to the said petrol kiosk in 10 minutes. After clearing Customs, I stopped at the first petrol kiosk and my JB mata kawan was already there with 4 others. We waited about 30 minutes. Other party no sound no picture.
To cut a long story short, why get into these hassles when the option of giving in exists?