• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CANADA - Country of choice or screwed

One of my friends got into Canada without any of the above job category. She said its an almost guaranteed way to legally get into Canada, and than eventually become a citizen. According to her, The smart people bypass the points system.

Theres a demand for nannies or maids because locals don't want to do that job.

So LKYs threat of Sporean girls going to foreign lands to become maids would be a good thing in the case of Canada as they can become PR or citizens :biggrin:

wendypoh

1. Free med if u r a local

True, if you have insurance coverage. You need to pay $$$ to get coverage from the province.

If you have no insurance coverage, sorry lor, you need to pay $$$. A simple consultation at a clinic can costs up to $200 without insurance.

Even if you have insurance, your troubles are not over yet.

• Wait times in hospitals are very long, many Canadians have to go to US for their medical needs.

• There is a shortage of doctors. Some Canadians have no family doctors at all.

• Certain medical procedures are not covered by insurance

3. Cheap housing

Not quite. Depends on how you define cheap. Housing in major cities like Vancouver, Toronto are very expensive by North American standards. Of course it's cheap in a place like Yellowknife or Medicine Hat.

4. Quite good social welfare ( out of job and schooling )

False. You get EI (employment insurance payments) only if you have worked for a certain period of time and have the employment insurance premiums paid. Being out of job is no guarantee to EI, you need to proof that you are not at fault for being out of job. When you are finally on EI, the EI payments is only for a certain period of time. After that, sorry lor, no more EI payments and you are on your own.

Students all over Canada are in debt when they graduate because they have to take student loans for their education. Again, no, education is not free.

There is no such thing as welfare. If there is welfare, Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson won't be dealing with all the homeless people all over Vancouver.

Canada is cheap, big, full of opportunity

Not quite. So many Hong Kong immigrant quit Canada in the early 2000s as they are so bored sitting around in Canada doing nothing as there is no jobs or opportunities.

Even today, Canada has limited opportunities. And with a population of only 30 million, there is no market in Canada, compared to 300 million people in the United States.

Vancouver is like Orchard Rd

This is a good joke. Which part of Vancouver is like Orchard Rd? Robson St? Nope, only 2-3 blocks of two storey shop houses. Pacific Mall? Nope, just 2-3 level of shops. Metrotown mall? Maybe, but that's only one mall in Metro Vancouver, only one big mall and that is compared to Orchard Rd?

If you are afraid of the cold weather consider the Povince of B.C. Vancouver, Surrey, Chilliwack are cities in B.C,

No matter what, it is still cold in Vancouver or anywhere else in BC. Were you here in Vancouver this winter?

If you are really afraid of the cold weather, consider a place like San Francisco, Santa Barbara, Reno or Las Vegas

Theres a demand for nannies or maids because locals don't want to do that job.

Not true lah. Open up the classifieds, you don't really see a maid job posting. The average Canadians don't have maids. Not like Singapore, almost every Tan Ah Seng has a maid.

Nanny jobs? Sure just like you watch the movies, the teenage school girl would make some pocket money baby sitting or some Mexican will be the nanny.

True, if you have insurance coverage. You need to pay $$$ to get coverage from the province.

If you have no insurance coverage, sorry lor, you need to pay $$$. A simple consultation at a clinic can costs up to $200 without insurance.

You must be confused with the american or Spore system lah. Medical insurance is provided by each Province of Canada is afforadable. Medical insurance covers ALL illnesses, unlike in Spore where there is no such thing as comprehensive healthcare. Only Class A civil servants like LKY enjoy such coverage

Do you understand that Canada has universal healthcare :confused:
Seniors don't have to pay premiums. Those who can afford the premiums think nothing of supporting the system. The Alberta gov't has even promised to eliminate all premiums in 2009.

When I consulted a doctor in Tornto, it was FREE. Covered by OHIP(Ontario Health Insurace Plan), same thing with Alberta because I choose doctors who didn't extra bill.

Even if you have insurance, your troubles are not over yet.

• Wait times in hospitals are very long, many Canadians have to go to US for their medical needs.

• There is a shortage of doctors. Some Canadians have no family doctors at all.

• Certain medical procedures are not covered by insurance

Have you visited the emergency wards in Spore? There are long queues even though Spore has a smaller population than Canada.

Isn't there a also also a doctor shortage in Spore? Its even worse in Spore as many doctors are from the 3rd world.

What are the "certain medical procedures" not covered by insurance :confused:

I only know that cosmetic surgery is not covered by insurance if its done for asthetic reasons. However in non-frivolous cases e.g. where the procedure is required for therapeutic reasons, it is coverd e.g. a skin graft which requires a plastic surgeon.

Not quite. So many Hong Kong immigrant quit Canada in the early 2000s as they are so bored sitting around in Canada doing nothing as there is no jobs or opportunities.

Even today, Canada has limited opportunities. ...

How many Hongkies have you talked to :confused:
I know many who have stayed on in boring Canada. Even those who left to work in Hong Kong didn't give up their Canadian citizenship. They are working FT in Hong Kong :smile:

If you are an ex- Singaporean who gets a Canadian citizenship, you can do the same & work in Spore as a FT. Secure in the knowledge that you CAN TAKE out you CPF.

The situation in Spore is getting so bad, that the half baked scare tactics used to convince Sporeans to stay don't work lah :rolleyes:

wendypoh

You must be confused with the american or Spore system lah. Medical insurance is provided by each Province of Canada is afforadable. Medical insurance covers ALL illnesses, unlike in Spore where there is no such thing as comprehensive healthcare. Only Class A civil servants like LKY enjoy such coverage

Do you understand that Canada has universal healthcare :confused:
Seniors don't have to pay premiums. Those who can afford the premiums think nothing of supporting the system. The Alberta gov't has even promised to eliminate all premiums in 2009.

When I consulted a doctor in Tornto, it was FREE. Covered by OHIP(Ontario Health Insurace Plan), same thing with Alberta because I choose doctors who didn't extra bill.

I'm not about and don't want to get into a long debate with you.

The point is medical is NOT free. Canadians paid for it through OHI, MSP or whatever provincial health plan.

Those are the facts about Canada and I leave the audience with that :smile:

Charlie9

Health Care in Canada

To set the record straight, there is universal medicare in the Province of Ontario. It may appear to be free, but there is a relatively small Ontario Health Premium, calculated when an individual files his or her personal income tax return. An individual with a taxable income of $20,000 or less, pay no Ontario Health Premium, whereas an individual with taxable inocme of between $25,000 to $36,000, pays $300 per year, and an individual with taxable income of more than $200,000 pays $900 per year. I am a resident of Toronto, and may know a little about the situation in Ontario.

If an individual has a pentium 4, hard working, resourceful, willing to learn and work, has a positive attitude, he or she can do well to ensure his or her descendants has a better opportunity.

It all depends on the individual. Please ignore the comments which are specific to various individuals, especially those who have not resided continuously in Canada for an extended period of time.

I'm not about and don't want to get into a long debate with you.

The point is medical is NOT free. Canadians paid for it through OHI, MSP or whatever provincial health plan.

Those are the facts about Canada and I leave the audience with that :smile:

I have been hospitalised in both Canada & Spore and I know both systems well enough to praise the Candian sytem & critise the Spores system.

I have no complaints with my treatment in Canada, it far surpasses the care I received in Spore. Doctors & nurses were 1st rate. Yes I had to pay a monthly premium for the health care insurance, but it was paltry compared to what I have in my CPF medisave account. Even though I have more than enough in my medisave to pay for all of the hospitalisation bill, I wasn't allowed to do so & was forced to pay out of pocket.:eek:

In the Canadian system, I had no worries whatsoever. I had the services of 2 different specialists. Since my case was an emergency & life threatening, I received treatment promptly without any delays.

Nothing in Spore is free, unless you are LKY of course :rolleyes:
In Canada, I received the samel treatment as any Canadian citizen. It is head & shoulders above Spore's health care system. I'm not surprised that many Sporeans are opting for cheaper treatment in Malaysia & Thailand over expensive Spore,.

As for the Canadian system they have made it affordable that even senior citizens can afford it, they don't have to pay any premiums whatsoever i.e. its free

In the case of Alberta, the provincial gov't is working on phasing out premiums for everyone. It makes sense as no one wants to willingly be in hospital & the role of gov't is to look after its citizens. Not to exploit its citizens like in Spore.

The Canadian gov't is of course paying for the health care system. They are using tax dollars. So what is the Spore gov't doing with all the tax dollars they have collectd? We know about their extravagant pay, bonuses & perks & of course the billions of long term losses.

Trout

I have been hospitalised in both Canada & Spore and I know both systems well enough to praise the Candian sytem & critise the Spores system.

I have no complaints with my treatment in Canada, it far surpasses the care I received in Spore. Doctors & nurses were 1st rate. Yes I had to pay a monthly premium for the health care insurance, but it was paltry compared to what I have in my CPF medisave account. Even though I have more than enough in my medisave to pay for all of the hospitalisation bill, I wasn't allowed to do so & was forced to pay out of pocket.:eek:

In the Canadian system, I had no worries whatsoever. I had the services of 2 different specialists. Since my case was an emergency & life threatening, I received treatment promptly without any delays.

Nothing in Spore is free, unless you are LKY of course :rolleyes:
In Canada, I received the samel treatment as any Canadian citizen. It is head & shoulders above Spore's health care system. I'm not surprised that many Sporeans are opting for cheaper treatment in Malaysia & Thailand over expensive Spore,.

As for the Canadian system they have made it affordable that even senior citizens can afford it, they don't have to pay any premiums whatsoever i.e. its free

In the case of Alberta, the provincial gov't is working on phasing out premiums for everyone. It makes sense as no one wants to willingly be in hospital & the role of gov't is to look after its citizens. Not to exploit its citizens like in Spore.

The Canadian gov't is of course paying for the health care system. They are using tax dollars. So what is the Spore gov't doing with all the tax dollars they have collectd? We know about their extravagant pay, bonuses & perks & of course the billions of long term losses.

Don't encourage more immigrants pls...they will overload the medical system and make the quality of healthcare poorer, hahaha. Be glad you made it and keep quiet about it.

Cheers,
Trout

jake

Damn, am I missing something? Every month I write a cheque to MSP for $108 for my family in BC and this Johnny keep saying medical is free in Canada. Bro, got lobang :confused:

And also, those bloody pharmacist are blood suckers. Every medication they dispense charge $8 for pharmacist fee on top of drug fee :mad: And the pharmacist fee is not per visit, it is per drug :mad:

Damn, am I missing something? Every month I write a cheque to MSP for $108 for my family in BC and this Johnny keep saying medical is free in Canada. Bro, got lobang :confused:

And also, those bloody pharmacist are blood suckers. Every medication they dispense charge $8 for pharmacist fee on top of drug fee :mad: And the pharmacist fee is not per visit, it is per drug :mad:

Wow $108 for a family, your income tax must put you in the upper tax bracket :biggrin:

You might want to consider moving to Alberta where they are talking of doing away with premiums.

As for medication you can look into getting Blue Cross but its only worth it if you are taking plenty of medication, in Alberta at least.

Whatever the cost I can assure you that Canada is cheaper than Spore where only world class prices exists :rolleyes: I was recently quoted $20k to $30K for open heart sugery in Spore. Even with enough $$$ in medisave, you can bet that the gov't will not allow me to use my medisave to cover all the costs of the operation. Definitely will have to pay majority of the costs out of pocket. If I decide to proceed with the procedure I'll have it done in Thailand or Malaysia.

Don't encourage more immigrants pls...they will overload the medical system and make the quality of healthcare poorer, hahaha. Be glad you made it and keep quiet about it.

Don't worry lah :smile:

Canada is careful with the numbers they let in & picking who they let in. Not like Spore's open door policy. With only 34 million people in a land mass bigger than the USA, theres alot of room to expand.

Unfortunately I'm stuck in Spore & not in Canada, made the wrong choices :rolleyes: Have paid more taxes(hidden & otherwise) in Spore than I ever did in Canada. For those thinking of emigrating to Canada, GO FOR IT.

There is no such thing as paradise lah, but you can definitely do better than Spore.

If your not happy with Canadan, can use Canada as a doorstep to other 1st world nations. As a citizen of a 1st world nation it's easier to move to Australia, USA, Europe,.... & still keep your Canadian citizenship. Why limit yourself to Spore :confused:

Jai Ho

You must be self employed.
You want a "lobang". Get a job with an employer that has Medical, Dental, Extended Health and Long Term/Short Term Disability as part of the employment package. The benefits will cover you, your wife and children under 25 years of age.

Re: Health Care in Canada

An individual with a taxable income of $20,000 or less, pay no Ontario Health Premium, whereas an individual with taxable inocme of between $25,000 to $36,000, pays $300 per year, and an individual with taxable income of more than $200,000 pays $900 per year. I am a resident of Toronto, and may know a little about the situation in Ontario.

Been awhile since I stayed in Toronto, its amazing how affordable they've kept the health premiums. When you compare with Singapore where price hikes is a yearly affair :mad:

If anyone's been to our hospitals, they would have noticed that many of the health workers are from the 3rd world like China, Sri Lanka, Phillipines,...These people are not well paid but the hospital bills are high, compatible to 1st world rates. Makes one wonder where all the $$$ are going :confused:

Please ignore the comments which are specific to various individuals, especially those who have not resided continuously in Canada for an extended period of time.

Must be extra careful of the "PAP Truth Brigade". Their truth is only for "lesser mortal" :biggrin:

Screwball

Work as a maid or housekeeper.
Lot of Pinoys are employ as maid and after 1 year, they can apply for PR, you must have at least 3 years PR before you can apply for citizenship.

Is it true?
My doctor is telling me I can working as gardener for 1 year and after that applying for PR.
He will discharging me from IMH if I really want to go canada :smile:
He saying my chances of full recovery is much better if I migrating there.

satrai

Re: Health Care in Canada

Many Canadians are complaining that their cuntry is taken over by "chinks and curry munchers".

chuckyworld

Go to Canada govt site, you will get all the infor you need, even though you are screwball going to be discharge by IMH couresty of familee aka PAP.

angry_one

hesitation screwed you man, hahaha. :p

No. I didn't qualify 1 year ago. I juuuust qualified but found out they changed the rules. I'm aware that there are other ways to get in:

- apply for manual jobs that no local wants to do
- grad school
- direct company transfer
- relatives sponsor you
- if you got money, invest or start a biz there

I'm looking at other ways now..... :mad:

Trout

No. I didn't qualify 1 year ago. I juuuust qualified but found out they changed the rules. I'm aware that there are other ways to get in:

- grad school
- relatives sponsor you

PM me pls. Might have an offer for you.

Cheers,
Trout

angry_one

did they? maybe it's a detail i forgot. There were a lot of changes last year due to the crisis. I read on the news that canada was 'giving more priority to those who have skills in demand'.....what i didn't know was, they will close the doors of other skilled people!

But i'm actually in favour of the stricter rules. That last thing i want to see is hordes of PRCs and 3rd world thrash. As for myself, i should be able to get there, it's a matter of time.

Regarding the comment: "The smart people bypass the points system"... even as an investor, grad school student or someone already working there applying for PR, you still fill a similar form and take their points system, no? I think Papsmearer meant bypassing the 'skills in demand' criteria.

- grad school
- relatives sponsor you

U can pm me, there is a way now that has a high chance of success.