• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can the "Army" be sent in in the even of a "freak election"?

steffychun

Lee Kuan Yew's infamous statement a few years back said that in the event of a "freak" election, the army would have to be sent in. But really can it?

Singapore's army in not the only armed forces we have. Perhaps the old Lee forgot (or was just a slip of a tongue) that Singapore has an Air Force and a Navy, a Police Coast Guard, a Police Force, a SCDF, a don't know what don't know what..ok let's just centre on the the army...it's after all the biggest armed force (bigger in terms of firepower).

Singaore's Army ORBAT is no secret though the actually readiness and finer details are probably are. (MINDEF read to kill me if I say too much?) Global Security.org has a roughly correct ORBAT (http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/singapore/army-orbat.htm). Wikipedia too (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Army) so let's use both. In a rough summary, there are 3 divisions proper, 2 paper divisions (based on Mindef Reserve; those finished ICT), one armoured battalion outside the armoured orbat, special forces, a Guards unit of supposed divisional strength, and other units outside the divisions based on ISTAR and etc etc.

Who can be sent in in the event of a "freak" result from a GE? (Lee implied that that meant the opposition winning by a large margin). At any one time, a couple of units are placed on several hours/days of standby. This includes at least one active unit and one NS unit (that's why you have ICT!) The active unit is an undestatement. The bulk of the three main divisions consist of our NSF boys. Only say OCs, COs, battalion/brigade/division HQs staff are regulars. In the event of a unit called into action, yes the top boys are the one to obey. But the actual warning comes from MINDEF staff who aren't exactly scholars. In most unit excercises, MINDEF sends the activation. The Ops (S-3/G-3) branch in the unit gains the message, then the unit responds. But S-3/G-3 branch people who receive the messages are not your scholars. They are mostly NSFs or at worst, junior regulars who just signed on. Should they get an order to engage the civil population, would they pass it on to activate the whole unit?

The army to be sent in. There's a cltuch, our special armoured unit: 48 SAR. This tank battalion was never included within the armoured units of 3/6/9 divisions. Tim Huxley himself noted this in his classic book, Defending the Lion City. Would this be the only capable unit of being sent in during a freak GE result? It after all is the one with a high proportion of regulars and has the biggest firepower. 10-15 years ago, it was only shitty 75mm tanks. Now its 120mm Leopard 2A4 tanks. Can this be the unit that will respond should there be a freak result?

Leopard 2A4s are not exactly combat tested (no Gulf War engagements). Beyond that however, they still are tanks that can be taken out. But even if old man says to use this unit, would the whole unit be able to respond and will every man respond? There still are NSFs in 48 SAR every year.

There's more to the Singapore Army than this but I'll leave it here first.

Signalers are a must to every paper excerise. my uncle went to one like they simulate a riot type and how to contain the riot and curfew. Bloody fuck not quite like what they think and do shit to the citizens.

the Singapore Army has probably at most two Signal battalions in total. Another weak point in Lee's send in the army. Would Signallers relay messages?

USA will show you shock and awe and Leegime will find itself with nothing but rocks. Try it. EU will also come in too. Israel will be whistling away pretending not to see.

EU is cutting its budget in defence. US wont invade no stomach.

You still no understand. It probably takes less than 1 billion USD to take out all key installations in SGP. That is 0.008333 percent of US GDP. That was how cheap it took to fuck Libya.

You dont understand. The UK for example has a smaller conventional force than Singapore

America is not 'the defender of the free world' or 'the champion of human rights'.

It will only enforce 'regime change' if the target country has oil and is not using US dollars for its oil trade.

Singapore has no oil. Good luck getting Uncle Sam to intervene if the Leegime turns rogue.

Gurkha is loyal to the dear leader,,but if the oppos win,,LKY has to ensure the Gurkha control every major installation to retain power,,hard to do it the populace is against u,,,,Gurkha is more like the bodyguard,,will see him and gang evacuate to some where else,,,just my rants

LKY's army = Gurkha mercenary army.

pls guys! stop posting nonsense here. u think the army will do what lky want them to do? will u if u kena recall? regular? sg so small. if ask u to contain riots, u will see you friends, school mates, sex partners, ex gfs, in laws. etc. i will not do, they can charge me for insubordination or i will even join in the riot with equipments drawn. the only way is what laksa boy said, get the Gurkha contingent involved.

America is not 'the defender of the free world' or 'the champion of human rights'.

It will only enforce 'regime change' if the target country has oil and is not using US dollars for its oil trade.

Singapore has no oil. Good luck getting Uncle Sam to intervene if the Leegime turns rogue.

Ah huh my topic was whether the Singapore Army is capable of carrying out Lee's order of sending it in.

WaLau Steffy; which year exactLy did LKY said that ?..seems no recoLLection on my part.:cool:;)

Singapore has virtual oil and water and virtual goods. No one is that dumb to believe EU and USA loves anyone. Uncle Sam intervenes not for Sinkies but to consolidate their own power in the region, period. Can you imagine what would happen when the PRC train comes in SIngapore and finds that immigrations are run by GIs and even SDF troops? You think that is not possible and worth their selfish interests? Just push the button lor. I can calculate the gains of changing geopolitics here. It is not about emotion here. It is about power and money. Why do you think UK let the old man live and rule? To serve interests of the US and EU. Depending on who serves better, regime change is a non-issue.

Yes well the US already has a Naval Base and Air Force here.

Makes it easier to do it. Do not forget the embassy too. It was built like a fortress with full surveillance against outsiders. You do not want to know what kind of armament is inside the US embassy either. Remember how chummy the world was to Libya b4 the flip.

Interesting question .... I have no doubt, PAP, MOH and Mindef have contingency plans in place to handle such situations.

There are vary scenarios in the event of a freak election. Depending on the mood of the populaces at the point in time,
the ruling party has several options.

The easiest is for the incumbent PM "to advise" (instruct is probably what he would do) the President to declare the election
null and void, instate a cooling period and then call for fresh election. In the meanwhile, ISD will be roped in to do a "Operation
Cold Storage".

In the worst scenario, the army would be called out to restore "democracy". The unit(s) likely to be mobilized would be the
Commando Battalion, 48 SAR and some supporting units.

The Gurkha would definitely be mobilized to secure key government installations and protect "key personnel".

The Home Ministry and Civil Service will be placed under Mindef's command.

The three big questions in such a scenarios will be:-

1. Do Singaporeans have the leadership (most important), courage and conviction to oppose a coup?
2. Will the operational leadership of our military, police and civil servants facilitate the coup?
3. Will our NSFs fire on civilian to enforce order?