• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can Someone Tell Me Why Hawkers Like to Display PeekturesTaken With PAP MPs?

Why huh? So big FUG Meh? Or can get more business?

I have an ex classmate who likes to take photos with MPs & Ministers & post them in our class WhatsApp group chat.

When I questioned him, he said that he was proud of doing so.

What a porlumpar!

I have an ex classmate who likes to take photos with MPs & Ministers & post them in our class WhatsApp group chat.

When I questioned him, he said that he was proud of doing so.

What a porlumpar!

Your ex classmate must be like this Tiong new citizen :D

vHgJus6.jpg

Trend mah.... porlumpa the best... use them as Chiam See Tong loh...

It's can produce more business and sales when you associate yourself with these people who always clad in white.

It's a form of marketing which appeals to the 70% gong kias: "if my product is bought/endorsed by the pappies, it must be damn good".

However, it becomes a bit silly when you're selling tau hway and tau hway chwee. :rolleyes:

8081033_p3u36raKrCAcGnpetgaohGNda933DrWp-2QTae0cdRs.jpg

My grandparents were hawkers. They explained this phenomenon to me:

1. Generally speaking, food stalls believe that NEA will go easy on them because they know grassroots people. You will get B if you are C-graded.

2. These hawkers are generally bullies; sometimes their belongings and preparation food stuff infringe borders of other hawkers. They might even disturb customers of competing stalls out of jealousy. Displaying these photos give them that sense of arrogance when they engage in disputes with timid neighbour-stalls.

3. In extreme situations, many drink stalls are involved in payment collection for illegal horse betting, 4D or even 12-ki during the earlier days openly in front of their stalls. Some of them operate like an illegal singapore-pools outlets. Coincidentally, hawkers who are granted drink stalls license are related to grassroots, so displaying these photos will make law-enforcers think twice when they act.

But sometimes you take peekture with ministars....people also dun know who they are.

1565852272114.jpeg

These hawkers want to show off that even VVIPs patronise their stalls.

3. In extreme situations, many drink stalls are involved in payment collection for illegal horse betting, 4D or even 12-ki during the earlier days openly in front of their stalls. Some of them operate like an illegal singapore-pools outlets. Coincidentally, hawkers who are granted drink stalls license are related to grassroots, so displaying these photos will make law-enforcers think twice when they act.

The drink stalls usually make the most profits, especially in a kopitiam where they have a de facto monopoly.

Cooked food... sometimes all you can do is swat flies during lunch hour while your neighbouring stall has a long queue stretching to the opposite row of stalls. :biggrin:

The feeling for those hawkers must be unbearable, like catching your best friend pumping your girlfriend at a chalet. :roflmao: