• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can our young generation speaks hokkien in such fluency?

Manchurians have always seen themselves as seperate..like mongols etc,,however manchurian is a dead language,,and manchurian got assimilated into the Han Chinese culture, for example taking up Buddhism as a religion,,,but their legacy still lives on...which is a shame to Han Chinese as its a reminder that they have been conquered by a barbarian race from the north...

Yes this proves that manchurians are considered chinese anyway. Btw didn't the manchus lose all their culture to the chinese?

I thought Cantonese played apart in Viet language,,but also,,similarities between vietnamese and cantonese is few and far between.,,

One point to note,,,Cantonese have a close resemblance to the ancient Tang language,,,which mandarin is miles away from.,.that is why I see mandarin no up,,it claims to be the Chinese language whereby it is nothing but a bastardised manchurian language,,what is soo chinese about that?

Actually cantonese ppl are the yue ppl and vietnam in mandarin is called yue nan. I am sure vietnamese did play some influence on cantonese.

The Manchurians already practised a version of Buddhism at the time they invaded and took over China. They 'lost' their language as they integrated it into northern Han languages. But much of their culture was distinct from the Han people. They were organized along clan (aka banner旗) lines rather than surnames. Indeed the qipao (旗袍) was a banner uniform. And Manchu women never had their feet bound.

On Cantonese, I find the following to be a good example of modern Cantonese speech:

[video=youtube;lAlmuiaiiGM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAlmuiaiiGM[/video]

Manchurians have always seen themselves as seperate..like mongols etc,,however manchurian is a dead language,,and manchurian got assimilated into the Han Chinese culture, for example taking up Buddhism as a religion,,,but their legacy still lives on...which is a shame to Han Chinese as its a reminder that they have been conquered by a barbarian race from the north...

Actually cantonese ppl are the yue ppl and vietnam in mandarin is called yue nan. I am sure vietnamese did play some influence on cantonese.

the feel of Vietnamese sound similar like Cantonese to many peoples. there are similarities in the two languages, but they belong to different language families. a Vietnamese told me that he often understands something in Hongkong dramas or movies because the two languages are quite similar.

the Beijing Mandarin and Manchurian languages also belong to different language families. the Manchurian language might be extinct today but people knew how it sounds like exactly unlike the Cantonese's close resemblance to the Tang language which is simply a conjecture. the Beijing and Manchurian languages sound completely different from each other. i don't know why some people can insist that Beijing Mandarin is a bastardized Manchurian language.

si mi or sia mi ? which one is the correct usage in Minan or hokkien?

I not PAP IB..and i only flame 2 dialects,,,hokkein cause i dont like it,,and Mandarin,,,cos its not a chinese dialect. It a legacy of being conquered by the manchurians...and its a good example that the manchurians have still conquered china as its the main language used by the northerners...also mandarin speakers always see cantonese speakers no up,,call cantonese dogs etc,,,and worse is mandarin speakers see themselves as soo chinese whey the fact is they are speaking a bastardised manchurian language,,how can speakers of a bastardised manchurian dialect claim that its a chinese dialect?

Well, mandarin was the language chosen by the chinese government to standardise it throughout the whole of China. It is already deeply rooted in China and it is unlikely that will change. Cantonese is widely used amongst the Hongkies and overseas Chinese communities. Your bias is evident, just because you don't like hokkien, so you flame it, while you complain mandarin speakers look down on cantonese. Anyway, a substantial part of our lingua franca, Singlish is derived from Hokkien.

Oh everybody, please, lets listen to this song and hold hands

[video=youtube;OoDY8ce_3zk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OoDY8ce_3zk[/video]

Hard to make peace lah. I kpkb about the hokkeins n mandarin speaking assholes. Get slam by them. So i kpkb more lor. 1 point i want to bring up is at this stage since mandarin is the dominant language in china no choice have to learn. What shits me is the mandarin speaking dogs claims that mandarin is the true language. N cantonese are dogs where mandarin is a true chinese language where in fact its a bastardised manchurian dialect.

N now the forumners here are discrediting cantonese as its not a true chinese language but the language of the Yue ppl. If that is the case. Cantonese are not chinese. Than why the fucking northerners still say we all chinese? Why dont give canton independence? The worse thing is many cantonese traitors also follow the same line. No wonder things getting bad to worse as the northern scums are dominating everything.

Oh everybody, please, lets listen to this song and hold hands

[video=youtube;OoDY8ce_3zk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OoDY8ce_3zk[/video]

The_Hypocrite can be biased toward Beijing Mandarin or Hokkien whatever. but Mandarin is not a bastardized Manchurian dialect. the Manchurians considered themselves as Chinese during the latter part of Qing dynasty. Mainland Han Chinese did not view the Qing dynasty as a national shame today.

he is entitled to his own opinions, but not entitled to his own facts.

fuck the china(taiwan)man dialect!!! all their speakers are fucking FTs or heartland 2-face shitheads who love puppy cock!!

Must say that the Cantonese have a way of mocking their politicians and high government officials and those “Powers That Be” are expected to take it on the chin. Cry foul at the slightest opportunity and sue like those Hakka or Baba or whatever thin-skinned buggers in Sinkieland and your reputation will go down even faster. Maybe that’s why Sir Runrun Shaw decided to run road from Sinkieland to Hong Kong in the 60s after PAP came into power and started to control the media. What a waste! Sinkieland could have been an entertainment hub to rival Hong Kong.

Here is a nice video made in Malaysia based on Sam Hui’s song. Can we have a Sinkie version please?

Here’s some nominations:

Retards – Pinky should win hands down for the role of Chief Retard, other Ministars can take turns
Motherfucking spenders – Vivian for the Youth Olympics, there must be others
Sex Maniac - Michael Palmer and his mangoes of course
Genius – Actually there is no one of similar stature to Anwar in Sinkie scene, but these guys can take turns for this role: Low Thia Khiang; Chee Soon Juan; Vijay Wijaysingha; Tan Jee Say

Please feel free to add. I would really, really love it if there is a Sinkie version, it is sure to be a hit.

[video=youtube;o0EFsbgERmU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o0EFsbgERmU[/video]

Yeah,,whatever...

The_Hypocrite can be biased toward Beijing Mandarin or Hokkien whatever. but Mandarin is not a bastardized Manchurian dialect. the Manchurians considered themselves as Chinese during the latter part of Qing dynasty. Mainland Han Chinese did not view the Qing dynasty as a national shame today.

he is entitled to his own opinions, but not entitled to his own facts.

... Here is a nice video made in Malaysia based on Sam Hui’s song ...
like dat part ... 乱咁出刀仔 ...

cant tink of any politician did dat in sinkielan ...