• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Buy a Rimowa luggage for USD2250. Still can get damage until like that. LOL...

They bought 8 years ago at usd1000. After depreciation, usd 600 is s reasonable offer. Get a tiong bag next time.

I had a similar incident - SGP to BKK, perfect. BKK to KL to SGP ... exactly the same as the video. KL airport ground handling agent is the culprit.

This is my "Rimowa"

Screenshot_1.jpg

You fly Qatar Airways fly Dreamliner, I fly Scoot also fly Dreamliner. Why pay 3x the price leh ?

You fly Qatar Airways your Rimowa also tio hacked at KLIA, I fly MH my "Rimowa" also tio hoot at KLIA.

I'm always a few rungs below other people when it comes to purchasing power, but we're basically using the same stuff leh. :rolleyes:

Cannot afford dun buy lor or they trying to soft flex? Or online shame hopefully get new one for free? First thot came to mind is fake one

Buying expensive luggage is the stupidest thing one can do, unless you got private jet la. Every idiot knows that baggage handlers are crazy motherfuckers who anyhow throw luggages around to vent their frustrations at their dead end jobs.

KLIA management cant be bothered. Now its under blackrock. Same guys who runs gatwick in london.

M'sian couple called 'greedy' after suggesting US$600 compensation for damaged Rimowa luggage wasn't fair​

The luggage was damaged during an Air Qatar flight from Kuala Lumpur to London.

1/5
The luggage was damaged during an Air Qatar flight from Kuala Lumpur to London. PHOTOS: JOSEPHGERMANI/TIKTOK

Cherry Tan
PublishedFeb 7, 2026, 03:25pm
UpdatedFeb 7, 2026, 03:39pm

A Malaysian couple has drawn criticism after criticising a US$600 (S$763) compensation offer from an airline for their damaged suitcase.

In a video uploaded on Feb 3, Malaysia-based TikToker Joseph Germani recounted how he and his partner, Alicia Tan, navigated Qatar Airways' handling of their eight-year-old silver Rimowa luggage, which was purportedly damaged during a flight.

Rimowa is a luxury luggage brand best known for its aluminium suitcases.

The couple's suitcase, which appeared heavily dented and punctured along its side, was allegedly damaged while the pair were flying from Kuala Lumpur to London on a Qatar Airways flight.

Mr Germani said that they had filed a report with Qatar Airways staff at London's Heathrow Airport, and were told to "deal with Malaysia" after their two-week trip.

The couple subsequently submitted a report to Qatar Airways via email, including photos that documented the extent of the luggage's damage. They then spent their entire trip travelling with the "wrecked" luggage.

Screenshot2026-02-05101247.png

Fair compensation?​

Mr Germani and Ms Tan took issue with the amount of compensation offered by Qatar Airways' office in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia — US$600 for the damage.

Mr Germani pointed out that the luggage, a Rimowa Classic Trunk, currently retails for US$2,250, nearly four times the compensation offered by the airline.

He clarified that the suitcase was purchased eight years ago for US$1,000 and therefore did not qualify for Rimowa's lifetime warranty, which applies only to purchases made from 2022. Mr Germani added he could only claim up to US$120 from his travel insurance provider for the damage.

The couple also brought the luggage to a Rimowa retail store, where staff deemed it "beyond repair".

"US$600 offer doesn't even replace half my luggage," said Ms Tan, who asked viewers jokingly if anyone wanted to purchase the "work of art".

The couple took the opportunity to ask viewers what they should do next.

The video has since garnered over 1,200,000 views, 41,700 likes and over 1,600 comments.

Netizen urged couple not to be 'greedy'​

Many found the compensation reasonable as the Rimowa Classic Trunk would have depreciated over eight years of use.

One netizen wrote: "eight years of use and you still got US$600 back. That's more than fair. If an iPhone dies after eight years, you get nothing. You already got your money's worth. Don't be greedy."

Meanwhile, others advised the couple to opt for less expensive luggage if they were concerned about damage. "It is a check in luggage, it is sure to get scuffed," said one user.

Some expressed their sympathies, recommending repair shops where the couple could fix the luggage.

In a follow-up comment, Mr Germani said the US$600 compensation "doesn't fairly reflect the loss or the inconvenience caused."

"If my bag still worked perfectly before the flight, and the airline made it unusable, then the airline caused the full loss of its remaining life," said the content creator.

Stomp has reached out to Qatar Airways and Mr Germani for comment.

If the claimant’s profession is being a content creator whose job is to stir up TikTok views, then it’s hardly surprising that he’s turned a molehill into a mountain. And, naturally, Qatar Airways appears determined to sue him—not because the chicken matters, but to make sure all the monkeys are watching.

There was once I came back from Bkk to Sg, my Samsonite luggage also ended up like this. I was so happy that it was damaged because I can justify buying a new one. Didn't even bother to complain or lodge a claim with travel insurance.

US$600 (airline compensation) + US$120 (insurance payout) - US$1,000 (original purchase price 8 years ago) = -US$280 (nett loss). What else do they want after 8 years of use? Enough lah.