• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Burmah Road, Penang so dangerous??

fanta

3678456773_d84dd7dc01_o.jpg

Is Burmah Road in Penang so dangerous? Cannot even carry a handbag along the street because it will be snatched? Maybe LKY is right after all about Najibland being dangerous!

tomoko

Never been to Penang, don't know Burma Road. But just go over the causeway and see if you dare carry anything leather.... habis liao if you dare :smile:

jerry

Don't blame the person scared her bag kena snatched. Those bandits ride on motobikes, come up behind you and snatch the bag. If the person don't let go, she will be dragged along the street. Most of the time, the victim will let go of the bag.

SotongMee

Penang safer than Sinkapoor, smaller population less complication.

Nice quiet and clean, the crooks must have been FTs, foreign talents on Penang island to ton-jiak.

Wa lau, dont scare the forummers here lah, penang is a very peaceful place even at gurney drive.

fanta

Penang sees rise in crime rate

THE crime index in Penang has increased by 10.3 per cent over the last five months compared to the same period last year.

State police chief Deputy Comm Datuk Koh Hong Sun said it shot up from 2,231 cases last year to 2,460 cases this year.

He said topping the list was motorcycle theft with 886 cases reported.
There were 900 cases for the same period reported last year, he said.
He said there were 217 cases of wayside robberies reported last year compared to 220 cases during the same period this year, an increase of 1.4 %.

“A total of 206 house break-ins were reported for the same period last year compared to 245 cases this year, an increase of 39 cases.
He said Bukit Mertajam, Berapit and Padang Lalang were prone to the house break-in cases.

There were 121 violent crime cases reported in which 50 people were arrested and 57 cases solved over the first five months in the town area, he said.

He said that 50 police officers would be transferred to the Central Seberang Prai district from the North Seberang Prai district to combat the increasing crime rate.

DCP Koh said this during his speech at a get-together with Bukit Mertajam people held at the Country Club in Bukit Mertajam recently. A total of 250 representatives from 145 various organisations, including resident associations and Rukun Tetangga, participated.

<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

angie

<object height="344" width="425">

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/wE-D15HfC9M&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" height="344" width="425"></object>

Incident happen in Queensbay Mall

Embed for easy viewing

SotongMee

In Malaysia, if you want to rob snatch from people you just drive your Yamaha scooter to a few towns away.

Crooks are FTrash from outside the town where the crime rate increase.

Same happens in Sinkieland too.

Penang sees rise in crime rate

THE crime index in Penang has increased by 10.3 per cent over the last five months compared to the same period last year.

State police chief Deputy Comm Datuk Koh Hong Sun said it shot up from 2,231 cases last year to 2,460 cases this year.

He said topping the list was motorcycle theft with 886 cases reported.
There were 900 cases for the same period reported last year, he said.
He said there were 217 cases of wayside robberies reported last year compared to 220 cases during the same period this year, an increase of 1.4 %.

“A total of 206 house break-ins were reported for the same period last year compared to 245 cases this year, an increase of 39 cases.
He said Bukit Mertajam, Berapit and Padang Lalang were prone to the house break-in cases.

There were 121 violent crime cases reported in which 50 people were arrested and 57 cases solved over the first five months in the town area, he said.

He said that 50 police officers would be transferred to the Central Seberang Prai district from the North Seberang Prai district to combat the increasing crime rate.

DCP Koh said this during his speech at a get-together with Bukit Mertajam people held at the Country Club in Bukit Mertajam recently. A total of 250 representatives from 145 various organisations, including resident associations and Rukun Tetangga, participated.

<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

Jabba

penang is peaceful till the mat rempits chut chia...lots of them on friday nites...just like the KL mosquitoes...

In my opinion, Penang is one of the safest place and Penang people are one of the nicest in the world. And the food are some of the best and cheapest in the world.

1sickpuppy

In my opinion, Penang is one of the safest place and Penang people are one of the nicest in the world. And the food are some of the best and cheapest in the world.

They are I agree with you there have worked there for a year or 2 during my younger days around 20yrs back but I heard from some of my friends who are still working there that the condition there got from bad to worst. Hence I don't know how bad it has become:(