• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bukit ho swee lor mee & prawn noodle - must try

Heading whampo market for dinner now. There is a famous CKT and hokkien mee stall right?

Whampoa is always famous for its traditional steamboat. Not Korean BBQ steamboat, Japanese shabu shabu or those Tiong-managed mala steamboat joints in Chinatown or Bugis. Real authentic Sinkie luan lor.

Very sad to hear they are closing the stall for good :(

Wanbao has an article on this.

How does the prawn mee compare with the East Coast one? The one next to the Shell station.

They are very old-school kind of prawn mee. All I can say is that the soup is simply heavenly.

How does the prawn mee compare with the East Coast one? The one next to the Shell station.

East Coast is the big prawn version different from the bukit ho swee one which is 古早味.
Btw east coast original from Jln Sultan which also the geylang lor 1 prawn mee is from same lineage....back then they used to put clams for a more flavourable soup.

Wah!!! The way u say it, my mouth water alr!!

The taste didn't change much over the decades though the portion got smaller and smaller. I lived behind the stall during the early 70s and eat it almost daily. Their dead son was my kindergarten classmate :(

Brudders...this one in Bukit Ho Swee must try...damn shiok...very home cook unlike the ones are old airport food centre...

CHOW CHEEBYE.........eat......eat.......eat........:oIo:

S'pore overrun by foreigners............locals losing their rice bowls..........:mad:

and you still..............eat.................eat..............eat............:oIo:

Very sad to hear they are closing the stall for good :(

Wanbao has an article on this.

Any news on when is last day? Just saw another comment from a food review site that they close from 25 Jan. Hope its just for CNY and not permanent closure....

Today was their last day and it's closure is permanent. The auntie has really aged a lot in recent years. I still remembered her as a stout meaty woman during my childhood days.

lormee.jpg

Today was their last day and it's closure is permanent. The auntie has really aged a lot in recent years. I still remembered her as a stout meaty woman during my childhood days.

Another one bites the dust. Same with the South Buona Vista duck rice, Kay Lee roast meat etc.

Also, I predict the Hong Lim curry chicken noodle stall won't last too long. The son is too fat, health issues will occur. And the old mother won't last forever.

Not cursing them, just stating facts.

Aiyoh. What bad timing. Was planning to go this week :(. The younger son not taking over?

Wah lau her older son already died of exhaustion, you want the younger son to end up the same meh ?

Brudders...this one in Bukit Ho Swee must try...damn shiok...very home cook unlike the ones are old airport food centre...

what crime did you do to be in moderation after 700+ posts? :*:

To me the lor mee had been the best that I tried. Sad that they closed for good. Good food like these should not be discontinued. A great lost to all the Foodies.

Will the coffee shop close too? The Kopi and egg set is just as wonderful.

Agree with you on the eggs. The uncle who always in track shoes now runs a coffee shop at Ayer Rajah JTC canteen.