• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Broken Promises of Casino?

first of all, casinos shouldn't be exist at singapore, a major social pollutant to this country....

i dont gamble and i hate to gamble , but i dont mind singapore to have casino . theres nothing wrong with casino . if casino shouldnt exist then all 4d and toto booths should shut down .
by the way , if theres no casino there will be no universal studio in singapore. who will invest in sentosa to become a recreational area for tourist and singaporean ? no private company will do that .

its good to have choices sometimes . you just cant let the goverment to treat you like a baby ...with everything ban .

loloba

Actually you are talking about the free bus services at heartlands, or talking about credit terms offered by casinos, or talking about the operation of casino which should not have been started?

Mr Goh, you ever buy 4D or Toto before? It's in the heartlands too.

The most comical thing is we want the govt to let us run our own lives and yet here we have people wanting the govt to step in.

OK, so the casinos are already open, no point talking about why the decision to build the casinos is wrong. Instead what is the next step people are looking at?

Ban all Singaporeans from going into the casinos?:o

Everyone should be responsible for their own actions. Harry Quek lose 26million is his own problem. Why should we be freaking bothered as to how much he lost in the casinos?

Agree is like our CPF just because one old man wasted his CPF money on some China woman all future Singaporeans are not allowed to withdraw their CPF at 55 and the government continue to use this as a way to change goal post.

Our government (bus operators - asking government to step in where other operators can provide free transport) cannot compete locally, our bus operators are private entity, if you approved of casinoes don't interfere, let them run the way they deem fit. Beside casinoes, there are restaurants and shopping mall. Parking is so expensive, the operators can forgo earning from parking and provide free transport for their customers, I don't see why the government need to interfere. And incidentally there was a man who blew 384 million not in the original budget and can claim is a success.

rodent2005

It does not matter whether the casinoes are a right thing or not, more importantly will it affect voters in the next general election.

rodent2005

See, you don't get the point also. The PAP is able to appease the anti-casino voters by saying the casinoes will be mainly for foreigners. Why are the casinoes targeting Singaporeans now?

Anyway, you can argue until the cow comes home whether casinoes are good or bad. The easiest way around it is to round up a few ordinary sinkee families who are ruined due to gambling and you will move people.

boring

i dont gamble and i hate to gamble , but i dont mind singapore to have casino . theres nothing wrong with casino . if casino shouldnt exist then all 4d and toto booths should shut down .
by the way , if theres no casino there will be no universal studio in singapore. who will invest in sentosa to become a recreational area for tourist and singaporean ? no private company will do that .

its good to have choices sometimes . you just cant let the goverment to treat you like a baby ...with everything ban .

bro u r right, i'm agreed with u. but casino is different issue, it shouldn't exist here in the first place, they r here beacuse of the greed of pap, or maybe their lacking of idea to groom the economic. social and eco must always have a balance. anyway the so call job opportunities still an unknown answer. casino "banning" rule simply full of shit, they r not controlling the peasant, they r finding excuse to defend their evil deed.

This reminds me of the US president Roosevelt who went ahead with building the Panama Canal and then let the people argue over the next one hundred years whether the Panama Canal should be built or not to build.

Let's move on and debate on more important things such as immigration, over-population or increasing cost of living, and high personal income taxes and GST.
ya, man! ...

juz blast ahead! ... let 4eigners overspill ze dot! ... let all prices, cost of living, taxes, gst ... shoot sky high! ...

n let dose burgers argue over it over ze nex 100 1001 nites ...

bro u r right, i'm agreed with u. but casino is different issue, it shouldn't exist here in the first place, they r here beacuse of the greed of pap, or maybe their lacking of idea to groom the economic. social and eco must always have a balance. anyway the so call job opportunities still an unknown answer. casino "banning" rule simply full of shit, they r not controlling the peasant, they r finding excuse to defend their evil deed.

bro , if singapore do not have casino , some singaporean will still go to those gambling boat on weekends . i have a friend who go to those gambling boat every weekend . i heard from my friend those gambling boat even give you free buffet dinner or lunch .

yes , gambling is bad , but the goverment cannot stop people from going to those " boat " thats why maybe rather to let those " boat " make money from singaporean ...the goverment decided to step in and make money themself . remember the coffin business NTUC have ? remember last time dont have soccer bet ?

LKY just want money ...he will try every means to make money out of singaporean ...thats very sad indeed .

Yet, an entire nation and entire generation was addicted to it. A vice is a vice. Its human nature to participate in vices. Hence u have drinking, smoking, womanising, drug taking, gambling, etc. Some people are more susceptible to being addicted to a particular vice than others. However, when you put the enticement in front of them, and deliberately tempt them to participate, than u dramatically increase the odds of them being addicted. This is what GMS is saying.

The weak willed and the stupid succumb to vices. The strong and the morally upright do not.

If idiots want to blow their life savings at a casino or short circuit their brains with mind altering substances then that's their problem. They have to live with the choices they make.

Adults do not need the state to look after them. They should be capable of looking after themselves.

I've been to Las Vegas many times but not once have I waged a single cent in any Casino. I was there for Christmas last year in fact and enjoyed myself tremendously. The grand canyon was as majestic as ever. The Las Vegas shows never disappoint. Jersey Boys was top notch and I highly recommend it to everyone. Las Vegas also hosts the world's best restaurants. I spent quite a lot of money but it was worth every penny.

Tan Kim Kim

The weak willed and the stupid succumb to vices. The strong and the morally upright do not.

If idiots want to blow their life savings at a casino or short circuit their brains with mind altering substances then that's their problem. They have to live with the choices they make.

Adults do not need the state to look after them. They should be capable of looking after themselves.

I've been to Las Vegas many times but not once have I waged a single cent in any Casino. I was there for Christmas last year in fact and enjoyed myself tremendously. The grand canyon was as majestic as ever. The Las Vegas shows never disappoint. Jersey Boys was top notch and I highly recommend it to everyone. Las Vegas also hosts the world's best restaurants. I spent quite a lot of money but it was worth every penny.

You are a very typical boring traveler, the best place to spent ur every penny worth is Mongolia

Maximilian Chua-Heng

I agreed with Leongsam.

To me, casino gaming is just another form of entertainment.

The last time I visited a casino I actually played to lose, just for the heck of it.

I chose the worst seat possible on the table of pontoon (blackjack), ie the last player, braving the barrage of insults from my fellow punters.

It's just for fun but weak-minded people be forewarned.

One of my close friend, lets call him Eugene, used to be a hardworking chap, look after the family, played with his two kids, enjoyed 天伦之乐.

No so much anymore a month after the casino opened in Singapore. His new addiction is to 'rush' to the casino at Marina when he has the free time. Sometime he created "free time" just to cure his itch. Quarrels with family members has increased in frequency over his self-justified 'small harmless gaming' habit.

This Eugene guy obviously has a character flaw. The casinos can't be blamed for the choices he makes just as the MRT trains can't be blamed if people choose to throw themselves in front of the trains.

In life, all of us make choices on a daily basis. From the very moment we get out of bed, modern living presents us with thousands of options within the first few hours of each new day. Where shall I go for breakfast? Should I change jobs? Shall I start my own business? Do I surf sammyboy.com now or later or not at all? Shall I visit MBS this weekend or help out at the SPCA instead? Shall I date that hot secretary at the office who has been giving me seductive smiles or should I remain faithful to my wife?

How our lives evolve and the paths we take all depend on the choices we, as thinking human beings, make on a minute to minute basis. Those who make the wrong choices have to face the consequences of their actions. Nobody else can be blamed.

Temptation beckons at every corner. That sexy girl in a short skirt and a great ass walking just a metre in front of you is just asking to be fucked but we all know that squeezing that butt will land you in jail so a choice is made not to go down that route.

The casinos are no different. They're just an MRT ride away but anyone with half a brain knows that the house always wins in the end so a conscious decision has to be made. STAY AWAY! It doesn't take a high IQ to figure that out. An ounce of common sense will tell you that casinos are bad news.

You are a very typical boring traveler, the best place to spent ur every penny worth is Mongolia

I've done that "off the beaten track" stuff too. That's in my warm weather schedule. At Christmas, I prefer to spend time with friends and family and stuff myself with calories that I know I'll burn off when once the weather gets warmer.

bro , if singapore do not have casino , some singaporean will still go to those gambling boat on weekends . i have a friend who go to those gambling boat every weekend . i heard from my friend those gambling boat even offer you free buffet dinner or lunch .

yes , gambling is bad , but the goverment cannot stop people from going to those " boat " thats why maybe rather to let those " boat " make money from singaporean ...the goverment decided to step in and make money themself . remember the coffin business NTUC have ? remember last time dont have soccer bet ?

LKY just want money ...he will try every means to make money out of singaporean ...thats very sad indeed .

let those gambling fool to empty their saving ...no use to babysit them .

fengshuisifu

With the quality of argument put forth by GMS..claiming to act as check & balance for opposition, I am concerned by the quality.

Even now Philippines are looking into Sg IR model..agree that banning all vices is virtually impossible....Individuals are treated as adult. When Sg letting citizens let loose to make individual choices, we are also complainning...

Agree, there are more important issues to address...FT issues, education, CPF, Low income group etc...add creditbility to opposition team...I want QUALITY from the opposition team...Sammy boy forummers..may talk nonsense here, but they can judge from your argument...hehehe

theblackhole

I agree with BOSS SAM and others who believe that everyone is responsible for his actions and acccountable.Don't blame the Gahment for the casinos.Don't blame anyone if you gamble away all your life savings and ruin your own life and your family.

It's your choice: be a saint or a demon, be a good father or a hopelss gambling addict.

It's your own doing...

silverfox@

I agree with BOSS SAM and others who believe that everyone is responsible for his actions and acccountable.Don't blame the Gahment for the casinos.Don't blame anyone if you gamble away all your life savings and ruin your own life and your family.

It's your choice: be a saint or a demon, be a good father or a hopelss gambling addict.

It's your own doing...

These very people who put the blame on govt, are no saints either. I don't believe they have never queue up to buy 4D or Toto before:o

The issue of whether to build a casino was debated by one and all for more than a year. Now that the reality is right in front of us, we are still debating over it.

Debate? Or a sock puppet show in parliament?

Look. Don't repeat what the Strait Times published for the sake of it. If you don't understand what a real debate is, go back to school.

Even MM Lee who was staunchly anti-casino have visited the two entities and was convinced that his gahment did the right thing - just put in the safeguards. The benefits outweight the potential problems that the casinos may create.

Your point being? Your overlord Lky also said a black Democrat will never become the US president. He also said no engineering solution can prevent flood. And before that he heralded the Golden Age just before sub prime crisis came to light. I'm sure you get my point... his track record is less than impressive. He is a politician. He will say whatever is required to stay in power.

When TV was first introduced in Singapore in the 1960s, a segment of the population also KPKB and thought that all the kids in Singapore will abandon their studies and glue themselves to the TV. Well, TV is now available in every home and kids are still studying and excelling. Those who failed did not blame it on the TV.

When the computer was availabe in Singapore...ditto ditto .... that people will surf pornography (and spend whole day in front of the PC debating with Goh Meng Seng in this Kopitiam whether free transport should be available to the IRs). Well the computer is now in almost every home and offices can't do without it.

Are you comparing gambling to TV and computers? Typical snake you are. Sneaking irrelevant examples into the debate.

What next? Are you going to throw in giant infrastructure projects like the Three Gorges Dam into this casino discussion too?

This reminds me of the US president Roosevelt who went ahead with building the Panama Canal and then let the people argue over the next one hundred years whether the Panama Canal should be built or not to build.

oh here we go :rolleyes:

Let's move on and debate on more important things such as immigration, over-population or increasing cost of living, and high personal income taxes and GST.

No thanks. I recall your excitement over an underaged Pinoy cover singer. Your definition of "talent" is obviously as liberal as your masters'.

gohsanho

What was the real reason for stopping the bus service. Hear orchard rd business down, hdb centers quiet, taxi business affected after the casino open. Any true?