• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking News : Singaporeans jumping for joy as they embrace NEW retirement age of 65

Watchman

Singaporeans welcome new retirement age of 65
By Shivali Nayak, Multimedia Journalist, RazorTV
Jan 15, 2011

retire-st.jpg

Many Singaporeans rejoiced at the government's recent announcement of lifting the retirement age to 65. -- ST PHOTO

EVERYONE looks forward to retirement, but many Singaporeans still feel capable of working beyond the age of 62, so many rejoiced at the government's recent announcement of lifting the retirement age to 65.

Ramesh Prakash Sharma, 66, is so good at his job that when he turned 62, he was given a promotion instead of being asked to retire. His company Qioptiq, an optics manufacturing company, made him a Technical Mentor to show younger employees the ropes. He says: 'I love my job. Optic is in my blood.'

Under the new Retirement and Re-employment Act passed in Parliament on Tuesday, employees who turn 62 will now be given the option to work for another three years. The new re-employment law will be in place from January 2012 and will affect some 20,000 workers.

Another gainfully employed sexagenarian is Elizabeth Hendriks, a 63-year-old steward with Fairmont Singapore who has never missed a day of work in her 13 years with the organisation.

She says she is happy with her job as it keeps her active, and she has only taken 2 days of medical leave in the last 5 years.

Leon Bock, General Manager at The Family Movers, says that older workers bring a lot of value to the company. He says older workers are more experienced and loyal to the organisation, and also take fewer MCs.

Re: Breaking News : Singaporeans jumping for joy as they embrace NEW retirement age o

In four years time retirement going to push till 70 .

Re: Breaking News : Singaporeans jumping for joy as they embrace NEW retirement age o

LKY's motto

WORK TILL U DROP DEAD!

[COLOR="_______"]It is a significant milestone in Singaporean history indeed!!! Wait a minute......if we rejoice the extension of retirement age instead of retiring gracefully at 65 - something is just not right. Singaporeans at large has no money to retire!!!!!

What a Singapore success story and we need to thank PAP?
[/COLOR]

This deliberate delaying tactic for citizens getting their own hard earned money is freakingly frustrating for all indeed !!!

National Service of 2 to 2.5 years we citizens do.

Jobs given to FTs.

School places given to children of Fts.

MRT/Bus seats crowded like sardine because of FTs.

Rise in property prices because of FTs.

More crime due to FTs.

This is fucking unreal to say the least for us true blue citizens to be treated like a pariah at our own backyard !!!:oIo:

As long as you live, you have to work, or else how to afford the medical cost? The moment one is hospitalize for serious illness, all the life saving can be gone into thin air.

Nowaday, even C class can make one lose his pants if he is staying in ICU for long period.

As long as you live, you have to work, or else how to afford the medical cost? The moment one is hospitalize for serious illness, all the life saving can be gone into thin air.

Nowaday, even C class can make one lose his pants if he is staying in ICU for long period.

Agree.

This whole country is going up in smoke with the current un-compassionate nature of things. Everything is money.

Looks like the motto is : You die your problem !!!!:(

... Jobs given to FTs ...
wat? ... u blahdy lesser mortals choosy n dunwan 2 do wat! ... :mad:

... School places given to children of Fts ...
wat? ... u blahdy lesser mortals r of low crass stock wat! ... :mad:

... MRT/Bus seats crowded like sardine because of FTs ...
wat? ... where got crowded? haven even reach max capacity! ... dun anypow say, hor! ... :mad:

... Rise in property prices because of FTs ...
wat? ... u lesser mortal shud b happy dat u r damn blahdy rich bcos of ur hdb palace! ... :mad:

... More crime due to FTs. ...
where got? ... 369 all u blahdy lesser mortals wat! ... :mad:

Previously CPF retirement draw down age is 62 years based on the retirement age. Which means you start withdrawing monthly from the age of 62.

Now they increase the retirement age to 65, you start withdrawing from age of 65. :mad:

:oIo::oIo:

Vote them out!!!

Previously CPF retirement draw down age is 62 years based on the retirement age. Which means you start withdrawing monthly from the age of 62.

Now they increase the retirement age to 65, you start withdrawing from age of 65. :mad:

CCB ...... they want us to work until we die at the workplace !!!:oIo:

[COLOR="_______"]
It is a significant milestone in Singaporean
history indeed!!! Wait a minute......if we
rejoice the extension of retirement age
instead of retiring gracefully at 65 -
something is just not right. Singaporeans
at large has no money to retire!!!!!

What a Singapore success story and
we need to thank PAP?
[/COLOR]

This is the simple reason why lower paid
Singaporeans have got no money to retire .
And Singaporeans are doing nothing about
the minimum wage . Because most think
I am not in low wage job so I am not affected .

Yes. this is the main message, but it is not mentioned. How can people rejoice when they are delay to get their money.

Who say after retirement cannot work?

CCB ...... they want us to work until we die at the workplace !!!:oIo:

no no no, they donch want you to die.

They just want you to continue working, even if you are immortal, AND DO NOT WITHDRAW YOUR CPF, FOREVER AND EVER.

CPF is they gambling chips for mdm ho.

One should be allowed to work for as long as one is able to work.

Medical fees should be borne by the state.

How? Just cut a few percent off defense.

Singaporeans welcome new retirement age of 65
By Shivali Nayak, Multimedia Journalist, RazorTV
Jan 15, 2011

Another PR stunt to spin their policy...well done!

consulting.jpg

Yes. this is the main message, but it is not mentioned. How can people rejoice when they are delay to get their money.

Who say after retirement cannot work?

This is what they did for prev age increase in retirement age. They will 1st announce the increase in retirement age, then announce the draw out age for CPF.