• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking News! 200 SMRT bus drivers went on strike!

To me this was pretty much expected. The Malaysians had their pay raised to $275 while the PRC drivers got $75. After a period of unhappiness, the exit of a future MP and cabinet minister on this issue, an open dissent by the workers and offers of bribe to the leaders which failed etc, they worked out a formula that looked poor image wise.

They should have known that the PRC drivers would take it as a slight and loss of face.

They should prep the PRC chaps and get them to agree before going to the rest.

1. scroo, take it from me.
2. even if everything is written in black & white.
3. with all legality covered.
4. ah tiongs can still strike hoh!
5. honest, i know this very well.
6. i work with them day in day out.
7. chins are just some piles of shit making trouble wherever they go:mad:

1. guys, the definition of strike read as

Strike action, also called labor strike, on strike, greve (of French: grève), or simply strike, is a work stoppage caused by the mass refusal of employees to work. A strike usually takes place in response to employee grievances.

2. looks like shittytimes is playing it down or simply does not know what's what:mad:

森林之大,么鸟都有。好的来,坏的去。發啊!

There is more than 500k PRC in SG. If not solve then will escalate into bigger group.
Then worst SG company in China will be hit.
Trust me nothing will happen to those strike/refuse to work.
Support PRC hope they get extra $200 increment.
Then that will made then expensive to employ. In the end who win!??

Equalisation

Complete No Brainer: the strike be PRC bus drivers.....

..... Of course they should be paid less than the malaysian drivers because they can't speak English and Malay !!!! Effective communicating is an important skill set. Period !:oIo:

Re: Complete No Brainer: the strike be PRC bus drivers.....

..... Of course they should be paid less than the malaysian drivers because they can't speak English and Malay !!!! Effective communicating is an important skill set. Period !:oIo:

Yeah .luckily the PRC prostitutes didn't protest for commanding lesser charges than malaysian and sinkie prostitutes :biggrin:

cheekenpie

Hell yea! Plus they fot nice free dorm to stay in. Cheesepie!

Spock

Another world first for tiny SG. Foreigners dare to strike while SGreans cower in fear. SGreans will fight for Hello Kitty, iPhones, discounts, bargains, MRT seats, parking spaces but they have forgotten how to fight for themselves.

watchman8

Another world first for tiny SG. Foreigners dare to strike while SGreans cower in fear. SGreans will fight for Hello Kitty, iPhones, discounts, bargains, MRT seats, parking spaces but they have forgotten how to fight for themselves.
sinkies will strike when there is nothing much to lose. Nowadays most still have a flat. Although times are getting harder, it has not reach a breaking point as yet.

For the PRC drivers, totally different. They stay in dorms, have little assets here. Salary is not fantastic, an dcan't save much anyway. Every day have to work for long hours, and after work, back to crammed dorm with no family life to speak of. If not happy, can always return to China. No lack of jobs for bus or truck drivers.

PROFILER

Very true. But we must not forget that a company strike is still just that - a company strike.
When SGreans strike for better living spaces, raw earth pollution, democratic reasons, judiciary impartiality, etc on a national level, then they have matured to a force which knows how to fight for themselves. Until then...nanu, nanu.

Thick Face Black Heart

Definition of "Strike"

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/strike

a. A cessation of work by employees in support of demands made on their employer, as for higher pay or improved conditions.
b. A temporary stoppage of normal activity undertaken as a protest.

With this in mind, please provide a single word that describes "refusal to go to work over the issue of working conditions and renumeration"?

Good post. I have added your points.

60 of them still did not turn up. This is not a strike?

Just fucking sack them lah. If SMRT show weakness, more FT will do the same.

60 bus drivers did not turn up for work today

SINGAPORE - 60 bus drivers did not turn up for work today and some bus services may be affected as a result.

Statement from SMRT:

This morning (27 Nov), some 60 Service Leaders (SL) did not turn up for work in the morning, some of whom have valid medical reasons.

Some bus services may have been affected this morning as a result, and we have activated other SLs to assist.

We continue to keep our communications open with the Service Leaders, and are also working with the relevant authorities to find an amicable resolution.

Thick Face Black Heart

You should ask the question of why the PRC drivers did it in spite of the fact that they knew they would most likely be deported. For 25 years, the PAP treated the FT policy like it was a bottomless gold pit. Policy was made on the assumption that this goldmine would last forever. Those doing intel will id tthe strike leaders but fail to pinpoint the root problem for what has been driving alll these incidents with foreign workers.

This is PAP greed turning in on itself.

moolightaffairs

latest from Ch8 news, 60 still refuse to work. smrt sent doctor to dormitory to check if they are really sick. from interview with one of them, he mentioned 3 yrs ago also got China smrt drivers strike. but only 10 and all got sacked. the workers demand to see the ceo of smrt. so where are you mr ceo??? no balls to come out and defuse the situation??? :biggrin:

tualingong

You never seen the signs on the buses?

Please do not talk to the driver.

Dunno what bus to take? How abour using an app?

Appreciate the insight bro. Spoke to a chap who like you has been over there for quite a while - exact same comment. Now that you are saying I am convinced.

Years ago, SIA had to abandon their pioneer batch of trained PRC Stewardess for the problems they caused. Was told that some senior staff even feared murder. And then it happened a restaurant supervisor, a young Singapore chap stabbed to death in the kitchen by PRC cook. Also happened in printing company in Bt Merah over of all things , no OT.

1. scroo, take it from me.
2. even if everything is written in black & white.
3. with all legality covered.
4. ah tiongs can still strike hoh!
5. honest, i know this very well.
6. i work with them day in day out.
7. chins are just some piles of shit making trouble wherever they go:mad:

Excellent point. - it has been the old man's formula - making sure that we do not reach the tipping point. Unlike Singaporeans, they got nothing to lose.

sinkies will strike when there is nothing much to lose. Nowadays most still have a flat. Although times are getting harder, it has not reach a breaking point as yet.

For the PRC drivers, totally different. They stay in dorms, have little assets here. Salary is not fantastic, an dcan't save much anyway. Every day have to work for long hours, and after work, back to crammed dorm with no family life to speak of. If not happy, can always return to China. No lack of jobs for bus or truck drivers.