• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking News! 200 SMRT bus drivers went on strike!

Re: Which is longer??

lianbeng heard coffeeshop uncles said: wait lah! their contract will end soon then MOM will boot them all OUT!:biggrin:

Now they say, it is an illegal strike!!

SMRT bus drivers' action was "illegal strike" The SMRT bus drivers' action on Monday was an illegal strike and will be dealt with, says Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin.

How will the deal with this, we are watching the drama, if these were SINgaporeans doing this..it would be STRIKE from the word go!

Leckmichamarsch

Re: Complete No Brainer: the strike be PRC bus drivers.....

This is incredulous to say the least.

Demanding more pay but cannot speak a word of English !! Commuters ask for directions faced with a bunch of theses idiots !

Same with their female specie. Only know one phrase : woh yow lai ler, woh yow lai ler !!:oIo::p:biggrin:

Phoned Prima Tower Revolving Restaurant....... gal answered but when I asked for certain details in English, she can't respond at all n spoke back in Mandarin! WTF .. this is hospitality industry: do you expect me to speak to her in Mandarin? Want to earn good money but dun want to learn our lingo...

Very easy, just ask her, "ni yo mei you mai, xia mien"...that will solve the communication problem, will get a good table nearest to the toilets or kitchen door...

Bigfuck

Very easy, just ask her, "ni yo mei you mai, xia mien"...that will solve the communication problem, will get a good table nearest to the toilets or kitchen door...

No lah.你想吃我的大鸡把?有你的好处有能爽

Re: Which is longer??

... Under Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act, it is a strike only when the worker gives his employer at least 14 days' advance notice of his intention to do so.

This notice has to be signed by at least seven fellow workers involved in the strike or by at least seven union representatives of the workers.

The notice then needs to be acknowledged and signed by the employer, after which, that notice needs to be put up in at least three conspicuous places where the workers are employed.

That's a legal strike, if rules are followed ...
warao eh! ... wanna fite oso haf 2 go thru so many tings ...

b4 u throw a punch, ur opponent muz agree 1st ...

Char_Azn

[video=youtube;PENJW4H2Saw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PENJW4H2Saw&feature=g-high-u[/video]

Devil Within

Malaysian drivers can understand and speak Malay, Cantonese, Hokkien, some English and Mandarin. PRC only Mandarin. That is why the pay difference!

Extremist

Remarks by Acting Minister for Manpower Mr Tan Chuan-Jin on the Illegal Strike by SMRT Bus Drivers

We are gathered here today to update you on the illegal strike that has taken place in this last 2 days.
Public transport services, like those provided by SMRT, are listed under “essential services” under the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act or CLTPA1. Strikes are illegal for workers in essential services, unless they give the employer 14 days’ notice of the intent to go on strike and comply with requirements of the notice .
By taking matters into their own hands the drivers have clearly crossed the line. These workers have disrupted public transport services and Singapore’s industrial harmony. The Government views these disruptions very seriously. We have zero tolerance for such unlawful action because disrupted essential services not only affect the workers in the industry, but also affect the daily life of all in the community.
The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) was informed this morning that over 60 SMRT bus drivers did not turn up for work today.

Action to be taken
Police are currently investigating this illegal strike. There are rules and laws to follow, and we will let the investigations run their course.

Grievances are no excuse for holding illegal strike
All workers, local or foreign, need to be treated fairly in accordance to Singapore’s laws. All workers also need to be treated fairly because that is what is expected of good leadership and management i.e. responsibilities of any good employer.
MOM understands the bus drivers’ grievances. We expect SMRT to address the grievances raised. SMRT should also work with the union to resolve these issues.
However, regardless of their grievances, what the workers have done is illegal. There are right ways and wrong ways to handle these concerns. There are due processes to be followed. Just as we expect employers to follow the law, employees should similarly do so.
Taking the law into your own hands is wrong. This illegal strike is not acceptable and would be dealt with in accordance to the law.

1 Under the First Schedule of the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act, Part III, on Illegal Strikes and Lock-Outs in Essential Services, the penalty for illegal strikes is a fine not exceeding $2,000, or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, or both. Persons who incite or give financial aid also face the same maximum penalty. Besides public transport services, civil defence services, fire services, port, dock and harbour services, health services and refuse and waste services are also considered essential services. Under s 6(1) of the Criminal Law (Temporary Provisions) Act, no workman employed in water services, gas services or electricity services may go on strike, whether with or without notice.

Now that the root cause of the strike is public knowledge, I wonder what's the present working relationship between the Malaysian and PRC bus drivers. Maybe some fights took place betweem them? And as expected, not reported?

Kanggie

Now that the root cause of the strike is public knowledge, I wonder what's the present working relationship between the Malaysian and PRC bus drivers. Maybe some fights took place betweem them? And as expected, not reported?

Is it to do with the disparity of wages? If so, then it's unfair, as they're doing the same job.

watchman8

Dumb as prc drivers are, why would they be angry with the Malaysians? They probably spoken to smrt management, but given the blank stare treatment. Then they heard similar jobs back home pays fairly well nowadays, so many of them decided no harm anyway.

TCJ can bring the hammer down, but the effect will be high rate of resignation amongst foreign bus drivers. Lui Tuck Yew must be cursing now. Just when he thought he has cracked the transport issues by buying a lot more buses, now no drivers!

MBSSLOTS

Who is the Chief HR officer of SMRT?
This person must be sacked!
Cant even sniff the problem and nip it before it exploded!
Not doing his job!
Jiat Liao Bi....

batman1

PAP very scared.This episode shows that unity is strength.Break 1 chopstick very easy.U try to break 100 chopsticks at one time,cannot break too strong.Singapore workers united ? Lanjiao !!!KNNCCB to the PAP !!!