Dun zap me ah... i think this kind of free browsing does not work in SG because consumers are generally cheapo and will not buy if they can browse for free.
Yes Kino at Taka is by far the best bookstore in singapore. Their range of books is the best. But expensive as hell.
Actually the japanese expats do not go to Taka. You will find them at the Kino at Liang Court. The volume of jap books there is quite amazing. More jap books than other languages combined.
Dun zap me ah... i think this kind of free browsing does not work in SG because consumers are generally cheapo and will not buy if they can browse for free.
Yes Kino at Taka is by far the best bookstore in singapore. Their range of books is the best. But expensive as hell.
Actually the japanese expats do not go to Taka. You will find them at the Kino at Liang Court. The volume of jap books there is quite amazing. More jap books than other languages combined.
Only thing lacking is chio jap meis meis LOL
about 50% of the shopspace dedicated to Jap books.
Actually Liang Court is like a mini Japan. From Meidiya to the ramen shops.
Only thing lacking is chio jap meis meis LOL
There is always the milfs to go for
You should get drifter and Ramseth to teach you some Japanese.
I noticed the MILFs tend to hang out in pairs and with kids in tow. Probably not easy to strike.![]()
yah man...its easier to tackle their pinay maids than the MILFs LOL
In terms of size when you put together the size of the different stores like MPH at Mid Valley, Border at Times Berjaya, Kinokuniya at the KLCC, Times at the Pavillion, they all add to a more diverse experience
Don't forget that many of these stores have to cater to Bahasa Melayu, Chinese & English readers in terms of language & interests. So their stores selection may appear to have a smaller selection to someone from Spore, but actually they are physically larger with more books than Kinokuniya(Spore).
true, this kind of concept doesn't work in asian countries. especially,where there are kiasu sinkies abundant. to think that a little start-up like facebook can accumulate hundreds of millions over few years compare to a book-store started over few decades is dis-heartening for those in brick-n-mortar type of business.
This kind of concept originated from US suburban town bookstores. Land is cheap and a single bookstore may be as big as a supermarket. Borders or other US bookshops in prime land cities don't offer seats too. And you're right about the cultural difference. It's supposed to work this way. Customers walk around the shelves, collect five or six titles that they're interested in, then sit down to browse through to decide which two or three to buy.
Another one biting the dust soon. Sian.
Nothing beats holding a real book with both hands. Reading e-books makes me feel dizzy.
Maybe recent years this is true. But I recall, a few years back, I used to send books to my friend in US because they are cheaper here. Also, I heard, for US publishers, they treat Singapore as 3rd world country and so, text books are priced cheaper here (compared to US). Another country having this status is India. The English books are much much cheaper in India.
And Chinese books are much much cheaper in China (of course)...even with the higher RMB vs SGD rates. Of course, you cannot find those "interesting" books in China LOL
Times in the Pavilion is not bad, but I rather be spending time browsing other shops around the Pavilion mall than Times :P
Whatever Times has, Kinokuniya at KLCC also has it. The organization of Times bookstore looks "messy" to me.
The Pavilion is a very good place to shop.
The only MPH I went to was around Lot10 area. What was it called? BB Plaza? or is it the one besides it?
Similar to Times, nothing fantastic.
I was in Kinokuniya South store in Shinjuku, the one besides Takashimaya Times Square. It was big with many storeys to sneak / roam about, but surprisingly the store organization is so unlike the ones in KLCC or Singapore, it is so crampy and cluttered.
Getting books from those stores are way cheaper than in Singapore, but they are very heavy to lug through the rest of the shopping hours, unless they are dumped in some locker or back to hotel and return to the area for more shopping.
Now the Japanese books in Singapore's Kinokuniya is getting way more expensive, probably double its original price, especially since this year, probably of the better exchange rates.
~sighs~:(
The books I'm referring to are not text books but more specialised e.g. candlestick patterns, technical analysis, health books, etc
I do know that there were some cheaper versions of some books out there. I remember seeing a bookstore at the basement of Sim Lim Tower that would sell cheaper indian versions of computer related books. In JB I've seen cheaper paperback versions of some american books.
Unfortunately I've never found cheaper versions of books I'm interested in getting:( I use Amazon because many of the books are not even available in Spore. By buying many books each time, I reduce the cost of shipping per book.