• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Blogger apologises for post on Woffles Wu case

Extremist

Sociopolitical blogger Alex Au has apologised for a post he wrote in late June about the Woffles Wu case.

The Attorney-General's Chambers (AGC) had written to Mr Au on Friday, saying that his post was contemptuous of the courts.

In the letter, a copy of which was obtained by The Straits Times, the AGC said that the post 'alleges that our courts are biased towards those whom you describe as well-connected'.

In his original post, Mr Au had raised questions about the charges and investigation processes in the case.

woffles-wu.jpg

Woffles Wu is definitely related to some powerful individual(s). Either that, or he is a litigious asshole, and a lawyer's letter took care of Alex Au.

This is another example why anonymity is such a great thing. When you post stuff on your blog or on Facebook, everyone knows who you are. Including your enemies.

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
Scared already than balls shrink lor... life's like that, unless the blogger operates out of thailand etc and has little intention of returning

This bugger is stupid. He should hide behind a nick and KPKB in a forum like this mah!!,

Be an Internet Warrior!!

pegasus

This bugger is stupid. He should hide behind a nick and KPKB in a forum like this mah!!,

Be an Internet Warrior!!

Lets give credit where its due. Alex has done great over the years with his opinion pieces and he is open about his views and puts us to shame. His pieces push the boundaries, and so what if he goes beyond sometimes. If fact its probably deliberate. His apology has received a lot of publicity and that's even better. Am sure traffic to his blog would have shot up and has now many new fans! He only had to say sorry what. If Pink can make his big arse saving "sorry" on the eve of elections which he never meant in the first place, so what us lesser mortals doing the same. U think they dare to persecute Alex? In fact his so called defamatory article is all over the place now. And if you did not read it let me know and I'll email it to you and you can forward to your your kaypoh friends too who may never have heard of Alex Au until now..:wink:

Cruxx

Woffles Wu is definitely related to some powerful individual(s). Either that, or he is a litigious asshole, and a lawyer's letter took care of Alex Au.

This is another example why anonymity is such a great thing. When you post stuff on your blog or on Facebook, everyone knows who you are. Including your enemies.

Bo bian mah. That yawning bread wants everyone to know that he's Singapore's lumpar 1 public intellectual. :rolleyes:

ray_of_hope

Frankly, I would not have known about the apology if not for the report in ST online, which will surely be replicated in tomorrow's print edition, probably on either page 2 or 3..

If you visit the yawningbread website, no one would have noticed the apology as it is not at the top of the page but in the original slot where the article in question first appeared. That slot is on a second page. In other words, the apology as published is not readily obvious unless someone actively searches for it.

It seems that ST was alerted by someone to report on the apology. So far, it would appear that from online commentary -- or, more aptly, the lack thereof -- the report on the apology has had a certain effect.

We all know what will happen if dun apologise.
Anyway all know the truth la, they just nit picking.
NKF and CHC whistle blowers also had to apologise....there is always hope Alex Au will be vindicated in future.

kingrant

Whatever it is, Alex Au already scored a goal. He has made its point, and the world over, people will read his blog and come to their own conclusions notwithstanding his forced apology. Like it or not, the PAP has been stung by the blog and by its own act, further drew attention to Alex's blog.

People also know that in Singapore, apologies are often not sincere but offered anyway to avoid costly lawsuits and to be politically correct. This cuts both ways - from MIW as well. As they say, better to do or say it first and ask for forgiveness than not say it but seek permission first.

cunnilaubu

This is the case that forces AGC to issue a statement on a Sunday morning. So someone has to get it and Alex Au is just the unlucky guy. Or maybe he has the highest profile amongst all the bloggers who commented on the case.

Anyway, AGC is fucked. The case is not over yet. there is still some issue the police is investigating. Any decision that is perceived as favorable to WW will come back to haunt them.

kingrant

well said!

Lets give credit where its due. Alex has done great over the years with his opinion pieces and he is open about his views and puts us to shame. His pieces push the boundaries, and so what if he goes beyond sometimes. If fact its probably deliberate. His apology has received a lot of publicity and that's even better. Am sure traffic to his blog would have shot up and has now many new fans! He only had to say sorry what. If Pink can make his big arse saving "sorry" on the eve of elections which he never meant in the first place, so what us lesser mortals doing the same. U think they dare to persecute Alex? In fact his so called defamatory article is all over the place now. And if you did not read it let me know and I'll email it to you and you can forward to your your kaypoh friends too who may never have heard of Alex Au until now..:wink:

ray_of_hope

Some people thought that after last year's GE they could do and say whatever they liked in the so-called "new normal". It seems that they have been given a rude awakening, even if they wish to characterize this differently.

Conqueror

Woofing Around

Whatever it is, Alex Au already scored a goal. He has made its point, and the world over, people will read his blog and come to their own conclusions

Not true. Not all will read his blog. Not all will agree with him (daft ones are really daft). Old folks don't read, see or hear anything. They will just sabo you by crossing on the PAP's box.

Waffle or woffle ? What an embarrassing name to give to a kid or for himself !

1. woffle 30 up, 20 down
-To talk endlessly
-A title
-geez he woffles alot
-I am Lord Woffle
buy woffle mugs & shirts
by Lord Woffle II Nov 9, 2004 share this add a video

2. woffle 8 up, 10 down
1. A word used to vaguely describe the noise made by a couple perfoming any form of sexual acts on each other under covers/duvets.
Often used to describe it by someone that can hear them 'woffling'.

2. Can also be used to describe such sexual acts without going into too much detail..

1. Girl-Shut up, you two. All I can hear is you two woffling around...!
Couple-...sorry!

2.Girl-What did you two get up to last night?!
Other Girl-Just woffled around...