• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best laksa in Singapore

the original pioneer of katong laksa i.e. Marine Parade laksa had avoided putting cockles (si hum) for a long time until competition and copycats who used cockles came into play.

http://www.makansutra.com/Makanzine/may01/taste_report_laksa.html

Back then many did not know janggut was the originator....due to whatever reason their business was the worst amongst the katong laksa stalls.

Agree yishun one is good....IMHO original sungei road is best....been eating when it was only 50 cents per bowl.

I don't know what is happening.The Sungei Road laksa has fallen in standard lately....The gravy is more dilute and it has lost its sambal aroma....Old man is still there with the charcoal fire...but taste different leh:(

The soup/gravy tastes better towards end of the day in the late afternoon.
I always go around 5pm.....old man always tell me to go easy as its more oily then...sinful man.

There are only 2 'Marine Parade' laksa left in Sing.One is located at the basement of Roxy Square & the other opposite in a HDB block opposite Bedok stadium..dont know if they are related; but their stock base is similiar.

Bro, word of advice; never believe in whatever you read in Makansutra site..:cool:

nah never believed in that. i ate that marine parade laksa in the '80s and '90s before makansutra and "laksa with cockle craze" were born.

Laksa should go with thin beehoon instead..that's my humble opinion.

thin beehoon?

outside, it's either the thick ( white or yellow ) noodles.

thin beehoon good with curry chicken.
That you can try at the Bedok Bus interchange.There are 2 stalls there.Go for the one that's facing the interchange.
Ask for your curry chicken with thin beehoon @$2.50 per serving bro..;)

That you can try at the Bedok Bus interchange.There are 2 stalls there.Go for the one that's facing the interchange.
Ask for your curry chicken with thin beehoon @$2.50 per serving bro..;)

You mean the fook hai hainanese curry chicken noodles?

Yup, their serving bowls are black in colour.We used to carry a tingkat and buy $10 of their gravy+ingredients for
our neighbours' potluck party..

Laksa has full of Coconut milk which causes High Chloresterol,
high blood Pressure, Laksa is Killing Sickapoorean slowly...slowly...

coconut milk does not contribute to high blood chloresterol. only animal meat and fat or derivatives contribute to high chloresterol. your liver also contributes to your chloresterol level. coconut milk is actually very nutritional and beneficial to the body. the notion that many vegetarians who use coconut milk in their diet have high correlation with high chloresterol and heart disease is wrong. they get high chloresterol and heart disease because of the use of "ghee" or saturated animal fat in their so called vegetarian diet. ironic. but true.

There is 1 Turkish cafe at the shopping centre next to simei mrt serving Turkish laksa. Not bad worth a try.

Same style lah, eat before, so so.... but their chicken pitas are good.