• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Association of Small and Medium Enterprises hits out at Workers' Party population pap

Re: Association of Small and Medium Enterprises hits out at Workers' Party population

Maybe if the govt. stop being so greedy in taxing and renting of workspace to these SMEs and the SME bosses stop being so greedy in making more profit SG would be a better place to work and we don't need so many FW n FT. But what do I know I am just a semi retired old man living in Matlasia living off from the influx of FT n FW living in SG so...... Huat Ah! Open the floodgates and lets party on. :D

Re: Association of Small and Medium Enterprises hits out at Workers' Party population

I'm all for a work life balance for my staff. In fact I tell all the other directors not to schedule any major projects that disrupt the Xmas and New Year festive season. This is so staff can take their holidays without having to worry about work.

However, when a client calls up on a Friday morning with an important deadline that has to be completed by early the following week, I do need staff who are willing to sacrifice their weekends in order to meet the deadline.

If I'm perceived to be unresponsive to customer requests, the customer can easily find some other company that will bend over backwards and the scariest part is that the competition can be based anywhere in the world. I've lost work to Latin America of all places.

And you are telling me that sinkees won't do that? You need to hire a better HR person then. So, you expect your employees to rise up to the occasion which is totally fair. Do you give them fexi time or do you make them clock in and clock out, watching them with an eagle eye? It has to go both ways.

I own part of an SME in Singapore. Singaporeans don't seem to realise that as a businessman, you are driven by $$$. That's why we run businesses instead of working for others. We do whatever it takes to maximise turnover.

If hiring becomes too difficult, I'll simply move somewhere else. It's that simple. If I do, 5 Singaporeans will lose their jobs.

Same perspective from an employee.
If your pay is too low to sustain a decent standard of living; you will quit.

Perhaps you should move your business to Bangladesh.
U can hire 100 workers for the same price!

If WP take over Singapore, there will surely be riots

Riots?

The Sinkie employers rioting with the Sinkie employees?

Did not call you a FUCKTARD for no reason.

there are a couple of threads in sbf on the maid issue. everytime sam and i challenge the anti-cheap foreign labor crowd over here about the maid issue, the debate dies a silent death. :rolleyes:

not everyone hire a maid lah. i personally feel the maid system is just a modern day slave trade and the maid agencies are slave traders who leech on the maid sweat and toil.

I'm all for a work life balance for my staff. In fact I tell all the other directors not to schedule any major projects that disrupt the Xmas and New Year festive season. This is so staff can take their holidays without having to worry about work.

However, when a client calls up on a Friday morning with an important deadline that has to be completed by early the following week, I do need staff who are willing to sacrifice their weekends in order to meet the deadline.

If I'm perceived to be unresponsive to customer requests, the customer can easily find some other company that will bend over backwards and the scariest part is that the competition can be based anywhere in the world. I've lost work to Latin America of all places.

i think it unfair to say that sporeans wont work on weekends in order to meet the deadline. i currently working in a less than 10 person sme. almost all are singaporeans, only 1 msian pr who have a sporean husband. we currently on 5 days week, 9 to 6 per day. but sometime, due to shipping companies or suppliers cork up, we would need to work over the weekend to meet the deadline, most if not all will come back to work over the weekend. work on weekend is no OT hor, only meals provided. as for ppl who wonder why no OT, it because boss normally very generous, allow ppl go home at 5pm on slow day. ppl give and take so not calculative with OT. even those who didnt come really have geninue reasons for it.

if u unable to get sporeans employees to work on weekend, that goes to say your man management skill not up to class yet.

ASME: just another proxy organization of the PAP.

If they really wanted to help small businesses, they could have done something about the skyrocketing rent. They didn't. Tells you much about where their loyalty lies. They want to maintain the status quo. They want to maintain their own vested interests in having a large pool of cheap labour. Scumbags.

rent will come down if businesses cant survive and have to close shop. the pap mustnt prop up business which have to pay high rentals by allowing such businesses acess to arificially cheap foreign labour which causes social problems.

let demand and supply dictate rentals

not everyone hire a maid lah. i personally feel the maid system is just a modern day slave trade and the maid agencies are slave traders who leech on the maid sweat and toil.

don't forget the biggest boss of the cuntry gets a hefty cut of the blood money.

exactly...the biggest developer of real estate and malls is the govt.

you see how manipulative the pap is.

The real losers are the poor foreign workers and SG workers who are denied a decent pay for their labour

yalor... how much the levy? $350?

there now how much FW in singapore? 1.5m?

1.5m x $350 = $525m per month and $6.3b a year. all really langjiaolangs.

rent will come down if businesses cant survive and have to close shop. the pap mustnt prop up business which have to pay high rentals by allowing such businesses acess to arificially cheap foreign labour which causes social problems.

let demand and supply dictate rentals

if the rent goes down, the incomes of the landlords will reduce.
Not only that, Singapore will in turn end up being an economy based on low skilled and technology.

wrong, if rents go down, more businesses will survive and more Singaporeans will be employed.

Rental goes up, foreign companies shift out how?:oIo:

... i personally feel the maid system is just a modern day slave trade and the maid agencies are slave traders who leech on the maid sweat and toil.
not oni maid system ... all dose who supply u workers by bringing in chip labors from anywhere oso ...

wrong, if rents go down, more businesses will survive and more Singaporeans will be employed.

Wrong, then low skilled businesses will survive and there is no need for businesses to upgrade at all. All while landlord are underpaid.

tung luk stnd has gone down the sewers. bye bye...

Ever noticed how food quality plummets whenever more branch restaurants/franchising/outsourcing occurs? The expendable employees who're paid an hourly pittance certainly can't be bothered that you're getting quality food/service. And can you blame them? It's not a family business.

And the price of the food has remained high despite the supposedly low labour costs... obvious profiteering from the restaurant owners and those who collect the shop space rent.

Wrong, then low skilled businesses will survive and there is no need for businesses to upgrade at all. All while landlord are underpaid.

low skilled businesses cant afford the high cost of SG's skilled labour

Not when you subsidise them by artificially lowering rent.

Your Masters care more for Landlords or Employees? :oIo:

Not when you subsidise them by artificially lowering rent.

no to subsidised rent..they must pay true rents