• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Army Food is getting Better & Better!!!

Extremist

cookhouse6.jpg

cookhouse1.jpg

cookhouse2.jpg

cookhouse3.jpg

cookhouse4.jpg

cookhouse5.jpg

A Reservist’s Food Review – Army Cookhouse Cuisine

We love and hate army cookhouse food, or what Cyberpioneer describes as “cookhouse cuisine”. Before somebody from the military arrests me for taking photos in camp, I must add the disclaimer: The pictures are taken from an open house in a span of 2 days, and truly reflect what the soldiers ate. If they appear to be ‘colourless’, pictures reflect reality.

Before 1997 when I was still a recruit, BMT food comprised of sand in the rice, bouncing fish balls, rubbery meat pieces, and the only good times were when deep-fried chicken patties were supplied. I prayed hard that curry would never never ever served, because lowest-rank recruits had to wash the gravy-filled containers. After 1997, it was a turn for the better with Singapore Food Industries (SFI) and Foodfare Catering (FFC) heading the commercialised cookhouses.

But did it spell the end of unidentified veggies, sandy rice, and mutated meat?

Yes, there were occasions during in-camp trainings when we had indulgences of Western food. That meant chicken chop with fries and mushroom soup with mushroom inside! Add a stick of potong ice cream. Though little was mentioned that the feedback survey was also coming, and what better way to score points that with ‘healthy’ deep-fried food.

The army makes sure that soldiers are well-fed with at least 2,500kcal a day. That translates to five meals including two night snacks. I once had rather delicious oily fried mee goreng for ‘night snack’, though it came rather early before 6 pm.

Here is a sample of the daily breakfast – Khong Guan bao with lo mai kai, or sausages with bread, soggy hashbrown and mash-potato lookalike fried egg. I would say breakfast is good 40% of the time. Still, there were often several complaints for breakfast. I suspect the complaints won’t be so much if not for rumours of army food costing $6.50 per meal, which is equivalent to a ‘Big Breakfast’ price, without that big breakfast.

The platoon would delight during Day One if chicken drumstick is served. But sometimes it could mean that the same type of drumstick is served Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, sometimes lunch and dinner in various combinations of dark, curry, soy, curry and curry sauce. We suspect that the caterers over mass-ordered.

The meats and dried items are usually better cooked than the greens, or should I say yellows. That is the result of over-frying in another unidentified sauce.

Perhaps a possible gauge of whether the food is delicious is to see how much is thrown away. I do get mildly upset when I see how much land up at the trashbags sometimes, with soldiers rather having Super cup noodles. You know what I mean, it’s Super. Some may see the younger generation as spoilt children wasting food when the poor do not even have enough to survive in 3rd world countries. That is not the point. Has anything concrete been done to improve quality and reduce wastage throughout these years of implementation?

Officers are usually served better food than the men, in a separate counter. Still, many are observed to still drive out or make their ways to canteen where they have to pay their food. So why?

True enough, in the army, it’s eat to live and not live to eat. And cookhouse food has been a huge improvement from before. I appreciate the creativity and effort put into meals with kway chap and bak kut teh. So fellow soldiers, do you love or hate cookhouse food?

Fishypie

Somehow i stiLL miss my beehoon which was made from rubberband..and not forgetting that 10% haLf boiLed eggs.
:eek::biggrin:

Equalisation

If I remember correctly, the food served at the cookhouse at Sentosa camp were delicious. Cpt Moshe and Lta Dayan also say good.:o

Brightkid

I still missed (as in missing and thank God I don't see it again!) my army cookhouse food consisiting of:

- spicy veg with pig trotter (skin and bones only) with 1cm hairs all sticking out. Cooked in tap water (and still taste as same)
- some greenish/brown paper-like stuff that I supposed was boiled vegetables seasoned with sand
- Black charcoal (I still sompah (swear) it was fish)
- Curry that is as clear as the soup above but with some chilli oil floating around
- and some other stuff not recognisable and better not identify or analyse too much into.

All the above mixed into a puddle in centre of tray!

- for fruits, is usually bananas or watermelon that very likely were rejected by zoo
- and a cup of supposely syrup which also taste like the soup

And you get to wash the tray and inspected by Duty-BOS before you can put into stacker!

Well.....those were the good-old army days!

Oh, word of caution..if they serve buns for breakfast, becareful not to fling it. It may kill your buddy by cracking his head if bun hits him!

ThugSin

Talking about army food......those who attached overseas before should have tasted good army food.

went to rockhampton for exercise wallaby.. the ang mo cookhouse at sam hill is fuck up.. mince meat curry everyday wtf!!! me & friends spent most of the time & money at the canteen. LOL

hawker

Talking about army food......those who attached overseas before should have tasted good army food.

I only remember ICT in one of taiwan hilly area where 15+ man (cause only commander group went to ROC, main body never go) need to wash 1 entire cookhouse.

went to rockhampton for exercise wallaby.. the ang mo cookhouse at sam hill is fuck up.. mince meat curry everyday wtf!!! me & friends spent most of the time & money at the canteen. LOL
i was there too.....the breakfast was good leh.....angmo style....many joked hotel standard. Maybe different time or different tastes...

I only remember ICT in one of taiwan hilly area where 15+ man (cause only commander group went to ROC, main body never go) need to wash 1 entire cookhouse.
i think ICT as training troops not counted.....i had very good fare in Crescendo as perm staff.....me buddy attached to US base in Thailand keep raving about the food.

Black Swan

2 PDF Clementi Camp cookhouse served Laksa for b'fast when I was serving my ICT there. Quality was not bad except got no hum.

Thoth2

I served NSF at the old 2PDF TC at Sembawang Camp. The Chinese cookhouse then was quite good. The problem came when there was an in-camp, and the cookhouse was handed over to the reservist cooks. For the most part standards plummeted during full ICTs. I remember the curry puffs fondly...

Fishypie

2 PDF Clementi Camp cookhouse served Laksa for b'fast when I was serving my ICT there. Quality was not bad except got no hum.

Army camps where to find humps ?..unLess Like my canteen's noodLe seLLer daughter, where the Q during breaks
were extremeLy Long ..:smile: