Are S'poreans getting lonelier as our city becomes overcrowded?

I have a habit of holding the door open to the person a few steps behind me. However, more often than not, the beneficiary of my good deed gives me a blank stare, not a word of thanks or refuses to even look at me.
They think : Why are u doing this ? 555

I have a habit of holding the door open to the person a few steps behind me. However, more often than not, the beneficiary of my good deed gives me a blank stare, not a word of thanks or refuses to even look at me.

If you do 'good deeds' expecting gratitude and/or reciprocity, then you really have to rethink your life's priorities. :rolleyes:

No. You did well as a human. Just don't expect people to reciprocate whenever you help. Your credit is installed somewhere in another dimension, not in the person you helped. On the other hand, the person you helped is not unaware of your contribution. He just thinks that you are trying to redeem your credit from him. His big ego and small mindedness will never allow that.

There is another type of person whom you should also beware if you help - a person who is jealous of you. A person who is jealous of you will hate you even more after he has received help from you.

If you have been of great help to someone and still want to keep the relationship with him, stay away from him. When the seed of gratitude finally blossoms in his conscience, he will come looking for you.
I am not expecting MONEY, POWER, CONNECTIONS with that guy. He text and I text, that's how we got acquainted. Fucking hell, that was like the last time I helped anyone regardless in SG or overseas. Btw, I am happily helping motherfucking stray cats now. Least, they don't come with an agenda. And mind you, someone could have died from that incident. Fuck this world and society. Now, I know why this world got Hitler, Stalin and Mao. fuckkkkkkkkkk this shit.

I am not expecting MONEY, POWER, CONNECTIONS with that guy. He text and I text, that's how we got acquainted. Fucking hell, that was like the last time I helped anyone regardless in SG or overseas. Btw, I am happily helping motherfucking stray cats now. Least, they don't come with an agenda.
I'm not saying you expect MONEY, POWER, CONNECTIONS. But what is stopping him from thinking that way ? It makes him feel better if he arbitrarily imposes a motive in your help. It makes him better because by that motive he imposes on you he no longer feels indebted to you. It's called 以小人之心度君子之腹.

But you are disappointed because you expect gratitude. Don't expect gratitude, not even an ounce. This is because pride and gratitude are two opposite polarities, and he chose pride.

The PAP's policy of overcrowding our Little Red Dot has resulted in 85% living in tall, anonymous HDB blocks that create a sense of disconnection from neighbours. Unlike a traditional landed neighbourhood or condo where people might see each other on their front yards or common areas like the swimming pool, gym or clubhouse, a high-rise HDB resident may not even know the people living across the common corridor.
IMG_7717.jpeg

I'm not saying you expect MONEY, POWER, CONNECTIONS.

But you are disappointed because you expect gratitude. Don't expect gratitude, not even an ounce. This is because pride and gratitude are two opposite polarities, and he chose pride.
Yeah, you're right. He's the last person I ever helped, including those before him when I was in Singapore. Fuck this shit. Took me over 3 decades to realise that. Never AGAIN.

I'm not saying you expect MONEY, POWER, CONNECTIONS. But what is stopping him from thinking that way ? It makes him feel better if he arbitrarily imposes a motive in your help. It makes him better. It's called 以小人之心度君子之腹.

Think now I should do things on only for money, power and connections. No prior mentioned, No help / favor.

If you do 'good deeds' expecting gratitude and/or reciprocity, then you really have to rethink your life's priorities. :rolleyes:
As usual, you keep assuming things about others whom you do not know. It costs nothing to say "Thank you" or to wave as an acknowledgement of a kind deed. I do it all the time, but there are many S'poreans who think it is far too much effort. I even wave to thank motorists who stop at zebra crossings for me which is a simple act, but probably means a lot to those who showed me kindness and consideration.

They think : Why are u doing this ? 555
On a few occasions when I held the door open for a senior walking behind me, a teenager purposely ran to overtake the older person and sneak in. I was far too kind and did not suddenly close the door to let those youngsters smash their faces. They would have deserved it!

As usual, you keep assuming things about others whom you do not know. It costs nothing to say "Thank you" or to wave as an acknowledgement of a kind deed. I do it all the time, but there are many S'poreans who think it is far too much effort. I even wave to thank motorists who stop at zebra crossings for me which is a simple act, but probably means a lot to those who showed me kindness and consideration.
Sometimes it's because they lack the confidence to interact with strangers.

But they can be garang in their own turf. Like @sbfuncle sibei garang at the hospital where he is a regular patient. But when go dating, tio beaten into a puppy by women.

Sometimes it's because they lack the confidence to interact with strangers. But they can be garang in their own turf. Like @sbfuncle sibei garang at the hospital where he is a regular patient. But when go dating, tio beaten into a puppy by women.
I used to go on guided tours overseas when my children were younger. I notice that S'poreans tend to ride roughshod over local service staff in 3rd world countries, but are as meek as mice when in developed western countries.

it takes efforts to make friends with random people and there is the uncertainty of your ROI. better to do some activity that allows to spend time to know people, like golfing or hiking

I used to go on guided tours overseas when my children were younger. I notice that S'poreans tend to ride roughshod over local service staff in 3rd world countries, but are as meek as mice when in developed western countries.
Unlike @sbfuncle who 專門修理 doctors, sinkies in general lack the self deluded clear mindedness of @sbfuncle to punch above their weight.

According to my expat colleague, Caucasians who are meek by nature tend to be the ones who ride roughshod over locals when they work in S'pore. Most of them who have no luck with women back home also tend to go for SPGs here, who are more attainable.

As we age, it's natural to notice a decline in social connections. As people grow older, they tend to socialize less and tend to prioritize maintaining close relationships with a smaller circle of friends, while gradually letting go of less significant connections. This can lead to feelings of loneliness as we navigate this inevitable life transition.

That is the model answer from Chatgpt. LOL!