• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anyone Going From Smartphone Back To NON-Smartphone ?

I've never owned a smartphone. It is way too expensive for me. In a way I count myself lucky that I can't afford one.

Do you want to know why?

I've never owned a smartphone. It is way too expensive for me. In a way I count myself lucky that I can't afford one.

Do you want to know why?

Because you seriously need to get richer? :D

Do you want to know why?

You can always buy a second hand, one generation behind, middle range smartphone. That should not be expensive.

Some idiot told me to download whatsapp onto my 3G Disabled nokia asha smartphone and now the battery only last 1.5 days from 4-5 days previously.i regret.

Bro its 50%reduce... Got virus liao :D

I have an iPhone which I use for evaluating and testing the mobile versions of websites that I maintain. However, I don't bother carrying it around with me. I use my good old Motorola for that. It has a battery life of 5 days. It used to be 7 days but the battery is going downhill.

When it conks out, I'll buy another one. They're available now for $49.

I have an iPhone which I use for evaluating and testing the mobile versions of websites that I maintain. However, I don't bother carrying it around with me. I use my good old Motorola for that. It has a battery life of 5 days. It used to be 7 days but the battery is going downhill.

I've seen websites that have emulators that can test for mobile responsiveness, no need iphone lah.

Like these few: http://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2012/11/6-free-mobile-device-emulators-for-testing-your-site/

I've seen websites that have emulators that can test for mobile responsiveness, no need iphone lah.

Like these few: http://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2012/11/6-free-mobile-device-emulators-for-testing-your-site/

It's not the same. I tried those before I bought an iPhone. I'd get complaints that certain features would not load but it worked fine on an emulator but not when running iOS or Android.

The emulators are fine for testing out look and feel but not for functionality especially when it comes to functionality from within an app eg loading sammyboyforum.com from within isafeplay.

I have seen this particular trend over the last years. My personal experience

1) voice calls starting to drop and now hardly any
2) SMS started to go up and now also dropping
3) My iMessages have steadily been going up.
4) FaceTime on weekends is increasing
5) My fixed line home phone is dead - nobody calls and I don't use it.
6) Occasionally I have do banking transaction on my banking app.
7) I drop at an airport, the data sim card has the best offer
8) GPS & Map have saved my butt a few times overseas including finding the Straits Restaurant in San Jose.
9) My emails probably take up the most time when I deal with my iPhone.
10) Occasionally I get important letters scanned or photo snapped and sent to my phone.

As I write this, I realised how I cannot rely on the old phones. I am sure nobody is going to call me.

I have seen this particular trend over the last years. My personal experience

1) voice calls starting to drop and now hardly any
2) SMS started to go up and now also dropping
3) My iMessages have steadily been going up.
4) FaceTime on weekends is increasing
5) My fixed line home phone is dead - nobody calls and I don't use it.
6) Occasionally I have do banking transaction on my banking app.
7) I drop at an airport, the data sim card has the best offer
8) GPS & Map have saved my butt a few times overseas including finding the Straits Restaurant in San Jose.
9) My emails probably take up the most time when I deal with my iPhone.
10) Occasionally I get important letters scanned or photo snapped and sent to my phone.

As I write this, I realised how I cannot rely on the old phones. I am sure nobody is going to call me.

I'm seldom contacted by anyone so it makes no difference to me.

It's only nice when I am lost and I can use GPS or 3G/4G to see where I am...other than that not much use.

The trend in Sillypore now is everyone has became a "zombie" of smartphone.
Everyone only talk to their smartphone be it on bus, mrt, walking, crossing the road etc.
Seems like using their smartphone is much more important than anything else in life.

Everyone only talk to their smartphone be it on bus, mrt, walking, crossing the road etc.
Seems like using their smartphone is much more important than anything else in life.

I can't count the number times I nearly knocked into pedestrians walking blindly while staring at their cellphone screens when I went for my runs. Or having conversations with rude sales buggers texting and watching YouTube whose eyes never leave the screen while giving perfunctory replies. Not to mention the number of kids these days who're so hooked on their tablets and smartphones they've forgotten how to go out and play and get some fresh air.

If the TV brought about a generation of couch potatoes, the smartphone revolution has produced junkies and zombies who muddle through their make-believe virtual universes without any physical social interactions whatsoever with their fellow humans.

Say, when was the last time you met up with friend for a chat over tea instead of WhatsApping or tweeting him?

if you don't mind a Pinoy smartphone,

Starmobile 1,890 pesos apprx S$55 only!!!

Starmobile doubles the fun on the all new FeatureSmart Mini with TV-on-the-Go plus over 100 free popular games!

Favorite old school classics like the Super Mario Brothers, Tetris and Contra make a comeback on the 2.8" FeatureSmart Mini available in powder blue, candy pink and silver gray.

Enjoy mobile to the max on this dual SIM and Wi-Fi-ready phone complete with a 2-megapixel camera for sharing photos on Facebook!

Let the Mini madness begin!

Now only: Php 1,890.00

As I've mentioned before, I've seen twits peering intently at their phone while climbing the steps of an overhead bridge. :rolleyes:

Some of my friends are also too reliant on smartphones and technology. For example, they would be always using a GPS unit when driving to an unfamiliar part of town. And they would constantly refresh the page of a carpark lot vacancy checking app.

Because you seriously need to get richer?

You can always buy a second hand, one generation behind, middle range smartphone. That should not be expensive.

Answer: Anyone, I mean any person, with access to satellite technology will be able to track your exact location at any point in time, even if you are using feature phones. That is why when out of my home, my feature phone, which I always carry with me, is switched off and the battery removed. Or most of the time I leave my mobile phone at home.

If you have a smartphone, be prepared for a substantial loss of privacy. Not only is Sinkie version of NSA able to track you through GPS, it knows all your off- and online social behavior characteristics. Even if I got one for free, I will sell it for cash.

Some idiot told me to download whatsapp onto my 3G Disabled nokia asha smartphone and now the battery only last 1.5 days from 4-5 days previously.i regret.

After all it's a smart phone but stupid battery. he..he..

As I've mentioned before, I've seen twits peering intently at their phone while climbing the steps of an overhead bridge. :rolleyes:

Some of my friends are also too reliant on smartphones and technology. For example, they would be always using a GPS unit when driving to an unfamiliar part of town. And they would constantly refresh the page of a carpark lot vacancy checking app.

I have encountered someone descending on a crowded escalator, suddenly stop at the bottom just to peer at his smartphone. :rolleyes:

Countless others playing games, watching videos or texting while walking. It wouldn't matter if they were standing to the side or walking in a non-crowded area, but these inconsiderate clowns are inevitably getting in the way of others.

Someone ought to teach these young and old brats that it doesn't matter what gadget you use. Just don't be inconsiderate or inconvenience others in public places.

Answer: Anyone, I mean any person, with access to satellite technology will be able to track your exact location at any point in time, even if you are using feature phones. That is why when out of my home, my feature phone, which I always carry with me, is switched off and the battery removed. Or most of the time I leave my mobile phone at home.

If you have a smartphone, be prepared for a substantial loss of privacy. Not only is Sinkie version of NSA able to track you through GPS, it knows all your off- and online social behavior characteristics. Even if I got one for free, I will sell it for cash.

You should also realise that unless you are some bigtime important person, or some wanted criminal, nobody really wants to track you. ;)